We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Service, family feel and beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ambra Hotel to your Saves list
Ambra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Great Service, family feel and beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

stayed for 3 nights whilst skiing in January and couldnt have been happier. I cant remember the name of the girl on the front desk but im sure she must have been the owner, she was so lovely and accommodating and gave us some great tips and info (being 2 simple aussies in our first italian ski resort/town it helped). We stayed in room 2 which was downstairs but it was so comfy and homely, was almost more like a B&B than a hotel and the breakfast was great too. Cortina isnt a cheap town skiing wise in Italy but it was the prettiest i saw and would have no issues reccomending Hotel Ambra to anyone! Thanks for an awesome stay (tip, the slices of takeaway pizza directly over the road are to die for after a hard day on the slopes, have a beer and a slice and the little table outside, YUM)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
aylesbury, bucks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in January. Firstly well done on keeping car park in use after a good dump of snow. Relatively easy to find. This was a big plus as we arrived in the dark with it snowing heavily. This is an old fashioned hotel where the rooms are full of charm. Plenty of storage. Excellent help from all reception staff. Good breakfast served in cosy breakfast room, shame extra charge for eggs cooked to order.
Very handy for an evening stroll in the town amongst the fur coats. Ski hire shop directly across road. Ski bus stop and Faloria lift very walkable. Recommend the Cinque Torre area with the 'hidden valley' run to Armentorola for some of the most stunning scenery I have seen anywhere in the world. The horse drawn tow for the final flat part rounds off a terrific run, take your time and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that combines alpine charm with Italian glamour, then this is the place for you. From our arrival to when we pulled out of the driveway, (thanks to the help of Barbara with our more than substansial luggage), we were made to feel like the only guests. A bottle of complementary champagne and fruit, in each of my families rooms was just the fresh jam on the "cornetto". The rooms are posh and unique, of course. As for the location, you are centrally located so you can stay up past midnight with plenty to do and still be in walking distance of the cable cars. Truly, the Dolce Vita.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The location of Ambra is perfect; 100 meters from the town centre and 150 meters from the cable car to Faloria and the bus stop to other ski lifts. Compared to other 4 star ski hotels the rooms are small but there are enough wardrobes and hooks. Some rooms are newly furnished, so ask the management to reserve one of these rooms for you. Don't expect much from this small hotel; you'll get a decent room, good breakfast and proper service; but not a luxurious atmosphere, no big common areas or a big lobby, not a spa etc… The front office staff is really helpful, always ready to reply questions, call a taxi or to reserve the best table in a restaurant. In brief Hotel Ambra might be the right place to stay in Cortina.

Room Tip: Ask for newly furnished rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was such a pleasure to stay here after 3 hard hiking days in the Dolomite AV 1. We were here 2 nights. The breakfast hostess and meal was wonderful. Not just a roll and coffee but a full buffet. The location was only a block away from the main train/bus station. Cortina is a fun town and we would like to go back to stay and do day hikes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamRTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mende
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I ll have never seen an hotel so expensive in all italia !
4 stars and a so little room ! the smallest bathroom, only a light over the lavatory and the shower in the darkness !
Decorated cozy hotel but low standard, made of first price wood...

And for the price, the staff forgot to tell you that it is by person and not by night ! because they speak only italian language (for a 4 stars hotel !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageurculinaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ambra hotel in February when we went ski-ing. The hotel is located in the middle of cortina, a short walk to the bus station and all shops and restaurants. It is small with a huge amount of character but has everything you need for your stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the breakfast is good. There is car parking and a ski room with heated boot warmers (very welcome). Whether you are going to cortina to ski or visiting during the summer months, this hotel would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#3 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#15 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#22 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Hotel Faloria
Park Hotel Faloria
#30 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing