We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ambra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ambra hotel in February when we went ski-ing. The hotel is located in the middle of cortina, a short walk to the bus station and all shops and restaurants. It is small with a huge amount of character but has everything you need for your stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the breakfast is good. There is car parking and a ski room with heated boot warmers (very welcome). Whether you are going to cortina to ski or visiting during the summer months, this hotel would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location for easy access to Faloria lifts and in the middle of the pedestrian zone for shopping. Service in the hotel is amazing, everyone in the hotel tries to make you comfortable including the charming owner. Service standard in this well decorated cozy hotel can not be beaten. Luxury rooms are very tastefully decorated, though not too big.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the Tofano room on top floor.

The Good - helpful/friendly staff; very good location close to centre and skiing starts; breakfast was good, nice bathroom; quiet.

The Bad - room a bit too small; small (narrow) bed with uncomfy pillows, very poor wifi signal in room (though there was good connection in lower floors of hotel...).

If I go back to Cortina I will definately consider staying here again....

Room Tip: If wifi connection is important avoid the Tofana room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a group of friends who stayed at Ambra for a week over new years. The hotel is charming, with a lovely lounging area and a bar that serves great aperos. The staff was super helpful, from their spot-on recommendations to their help with travel arrangements and restaurant reservations. The breakfast is varied, everything from yummy pandoro and eggs to gluten free and low cal options. While the rooms are a tad small, there is ample storage space, a must when travelling with a lot of ski gear. The ski room is conveniently located adjacent to the car park. In addition, the faloria ski lifts are a hop away from the hotel... the bar next door has a rocking apero crowd for the apres ski bit. The only slight negative are the bathrooms, which are a bit on the dated side. We'll be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over NYE and had a wonderful time. Staff could not be nicer and location is perfect - right by main shopping drag and very close to Faloria lift. Bar across the street is always great for aperitivos as well. Rooms are indeed a bit on the small side but very comfortable and with nice amenities (Etro stuff in bathroom is divine). Fabulous breakfast. We will back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Ambra is very well located in the center of Cortina and it's enough for short stay, because it's "basic". It's an old hotel and every room can hear you (your noises and movements) because is too small the room. It should be renovated. The reception is nice and the people very friendly.

Room Tip: Room 19 was the room which we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the time we were greeted at the front desk we knew that this establishment cared a lot about their guests. The greeting was warm and friendly, efficient and full of suggestions for our stay.
We stayed 2 nights in a lovely double room overlooking the street. It was very comfortable and clean with all that we needed for our time there.
The included breakfast spread is very good and substantial and once again, the service was exemplary.
When we had some difficulty getting out of town (caused by road blockages for a bike ride) to rejoin our walk along the AV1, the front deak staff made many enquiries on our behalf to find a solution. Nothing was too much trouble for them and t was always done with a smile.
This is genuinely a lvely and nice place to enjoy.

Room Tip: There is a good front room on the firt floor that has a huge terrace that looks over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, WINTRADE S.R.L., HotelsClick, Orbitz, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.