We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel. Amazing breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambra Hotel to your Saves list
Ambra Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Brazil
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel. Amazing breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in high season for skiing wiyh my 16 and 14 year lod kids in January. The hotel staff is fantastic: our shuttle to airport exit at 6 a.m. and they provided a wonderful breakfast in unconventional hours. Perfect location and excelent room (very clean). Our bags were lost by Alitalia and we had every assistance from hotel staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Quaint hotel near the center of Cortina. Nothing spectacular, but the rooms were clean and the staff friendly. Great location and views from the windows. We used the hotel as a transfer stopover from more rural Dolomite accommodations on our way to Venice.

It was the shoulder season, so I think it was a good value, not sure how much more expensive (and in turn less of a value) it would be during the height of ski or hiking season.

Overall we were satisfied and would recommend it to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This revue is basically about the value contra money payed at the Ambra Cortina hotel. We stayed 3 persons, of which one is a 4 1/2 year old, at a so called luxury room called the "Hockey". The price was 420 Euro per night. When I tell you it was totally claustrophobic with no windows, only a roof window with no view at all, a flooded shower, no mirror that you could actually use in the bathroom, no wine in the mini bar and hardly no floor space at all I guess it's clear that it's overpriced. Also very poor internet connection. I do not recommend a stay in this particular room for 420 a night. Do try to get the price down in case you want to go.

The up sides of the hotel is the wonderful woman at breakfast, which was a good breakfast by the way, and a couple of the other staff members. The good ones were really friendly and service minded.

I don't mind paying good money for a nice stay but the Ambra Cortina needs to get a reality check. When comparing with my last stay at the Crosby in NYC, around the same money, it's just ridiculous. But as long as people pay.....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrahotel, Proprietario at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Google Translation
Cara Signora,
La ringraziamo per il Suo commento e il Suo soggiorno all’ Hotel Ambra.
Siamo spiacenti che la nostra Luxury Hockey non Le sia piaciuta e che abbia trovato il rapporto qualità prezzo non in linea con i prezzi nel mondo.
La Hockey è una luxury roof room in mansarda ed il suo fascino è proprio quello di avere  abbaini e lucernai o finestre di sottotetto, tipici della montagna, ne possiede 3 di cui uno in bagno.
Dall'abbaino si vede il Monte Faloria, dove sorge il sole a Cortina.
All'arrivo  diamo il  benvenuto ai nostri ospiti con una bottiglia  di prosecco locale. In Italia il vino in frigo bar non sempre è servito, in quanto la mezza bottiglia non la consideriamo d'immagine... Nelle nostre luxury  il frigo bar è completamente free come il wifi in tutto l'albergo.
Offriamo ai nostri clienti il transfer da Venezia gratuito che, valorizzato ai prezzi di taxi, vale €300 andata e ritorno, nel suo caso anche per  un soggiorno inferiore alla settimana.
E’ difficile fare confronti tra un albergo nelle Dolomiti in altissima stagione ed un albergo a New York non si sa in quale periodo, che tipo di camera eccetera…sono due cose completamente diverse. Cortina d 'Ampezzo non è una località qualunque, è la Regina delle Dolomiti, Hotel Ambra è un albergo gioiello, in centrissimo, con 2 parcheggi, arredato con pezzi  di antiquariato veneziani ed ampezzani, come la Hockey che avete avuto.
In bagno uno specchio  d'epoca e nell’ armadio un altro  specchio.
Grazie infine per i complimenti al nostro staff, quotidianamente impegnato nell'eccellenza del servizio.
Elisabetta Dotto Proprietaria di Hotel Ambra dal 2007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

The Ambra Hotel is in the center of Cortina. Nice staff who speak English. Small hotel with small rooms (I’m American). My wife and our five year old daughter stayed in the “off season” of mid-January 2011. We were told that we had one of their largest room. It was approximately 14x17 feet. The bathroom was also quite small, although the fixtures were up to date. Taking a shower was difficult, however, because the shower was in a small bathtub with a shower curtain. The tub was so small that the curtain keep creeping up against your body as you showered. The room had a large balcony, but no view to speak of.

There is a nice breakfast room in the basement with the usual European choices: bread, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee…served from 7:30. Or breakfast can be sent to your room. No charge.

Wifi is available all over the hotel for free.

There is free parking for a dozen cars, or so. There is a ski storage room with boot warmers available for free. The ski bus stops nearby. There is a nice, friendly ski rental shop across the street, and plenty of restaurants of all price range within a five minute walk.

The mountains are very good. Well groomed, and a variety of levels. However the maps and the signs on the slopes are both much less informative than I'm used to in America. The trails on the slopes are not named, so it is difficult to know where you are. And there is no indication of the level of difficulty on the signs, so you can get into a slope you wish you had avoided. The maps they give out try to show several mountains, and as a result there is too little detail. If you only ski Cortina the price is at one level. If you want to ski the other mountains around the area, you must purchase a different level of pass. No upgrading. You have to make the decision when you buy your 6 day pass.

The ski school coach was great. And the hotel recommended a baby sitter who was also just wonderful for our daughter.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed there 2 nights to explore the magnificent dolomites.

Overall a good experience but a bit on the expensive side.

The rate is per person not per room (in our case anyway) so that was a bit of a surprise. But that can be helpful for solo travelers.

The room was a bit outdated & the bed was small and a bit too firm for my liking but it was sufficient.

We had a wonderful view and a nice little balcony. That was the best feature of the room.

Breakfast was good and the service was excellent. The staff really made us feel welcome.

If it was less expensive I'd rate it much higher.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm. Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Stayed here 4 nights in for very late season walking in Dolomites. Great value for money and very familiar athmospere. Location, rooms, breakfast etc were all very good but what stands out is the service and helpfulness, definitely is among the best I have ever experienced at any hotel. Quiet rooms, even though centrally located, good parking just outside. If I go back, I will stay here again, only possible inhibitor would be considerably higher prices in high season.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Great central location which allows you to walk to every place in town. Decent sized rooms with more than adequate number of closets and drawers. Lots of wood in the rooms adds character and many rooms have a great view of the mountains. Barbara at the front desk was extemely helpful and so pleasant. She provided great advice on where to hike, the best restaurants and local stores. During our stay, the hotel parking lot was under repair and the temporary parking lot was a little challenging.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Via XXIX Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, WINTRADE S.R.L., TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.