We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Vera, 2, Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very welcoming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

It's taken me a while to write this but we had a very enjoyable stay at the Alpes at the end of September 2013. We were a large group of cyclists and the owner, Claudio, was very welcoming and helpful. Of interest to cyclists, there is a secure and well equipped basement lock up for bikes, complete with workstand and basic tools. Claudio also fed us well, changing teh menu to give us high carb food.

The rooms are big and clean, with good beds although they do vary a lot. If you are worried about the possibility of road noise, ask for a room at the back or sides.

A few downsides: When we were there the sauna area was closed, but the Hotel had stayed open beyond its normal closing date to cater for us, so we can't be too disappointed. We also drank the bar dry and i think the staff were heading for the supermarket each morning as the beer changed every night !

All in all though a good hotel for this sort of trip run by very welcoming and helpful people.

Room Tip: There is a main road to the front of the hotel although there isnt much on it at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I like to give a balanced review whenever possible so on the positive side: The hotel is clean, our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The younger members of staff were very friendly. However on the down side: when we came to check out, we had used the hotel's Wellness Centre on each of the 3 nights of our stay (sauna, steam room & jacuzzi) and we were charged 15 euros per person, per day. It added an unexpected 90 euros to our bill and left a very sour taste in our mouths. I questioned it with the manager and he just pointed to a sign which was written completely in Italian!! I chose this hotel over others because of the additional facilities and was furious to have another 90 euros to pay for the privilege. The breakfast buffet was limited and the evening meal was not to our liking. I would not return and would say that we left feeling we had been tricked and completely ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto_P92, Owner at Hotel des Alpes, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Good morning Lulabelle,
I'm sorry that you had this problem with the wellness centre, but the sign tells "entry 15 euros" and it's the first time ever that someone doesn't see that. However, we are going to make a clear english sign, so thank you for noticing this problem.
We hope to see you again,
Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

4 Middle Aged 'lads' stayed here for a weekend skiing in mid Jan. Great hosts who invested time in us to make our stay outstanding. Great local food, not a burger in sight and reasonable price for wine with the meal. Very clean and good facilities. The ski bus stops outside and you can get on the slopes within 15 minutes so no big problem.

Room Tip: Atthefront has the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

One of the best choices ever tested! Big and comfortable rooms, a welcoming restaurant with a very good menu and wine list and a great position in front of the mountains. Staff is very friendly and prices are well affordable even in high season.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The room was very spacious, nice and clean, the service friendly and the breakfast good.we stayed only one night, but we will definitely return there. Location convenient, not far from the center of Cortina.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful,large & very clean rooms.I would recommend the half board as the dinner was good & convenient after a long day of hiking ,cycling or skiing.Nice inexpensive wines.The owner Claudio was friendly & very helpful.The only minor complaint is that rooms needed brighteer reading lights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was in Cortina in July last and wanted an accommodation in the green and not downtown. I found the name of this hotel on the internet and the picture does not show the main road that runs right in front of the hotel. We were on third floor and our room was not on the main road, but looking on the roof on a pretty shabby private house and a partial view on the mountains. It was very hot but could not sleep with window opened because of noise of the state highway. The room was very small but clean.there is a nice walk that connects the hotel to Cortina where though, you have to watch for bikers that use it as a running track.
The dining room has large panoramic windows with a stunning view on the mountains and the food is good. In the evenings there was a rich salad buffet. The owners run the place on a very familiar yet professional manner and I liked that.
I would recommend it only if you do not mind the noise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Via La Vera, 2, Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Des Alpes" is a traditional family-run mountain hotel set in a panoramic location a short way from the centre of Cortina d'Ampezzo. It is the ideal hotel for winter and summer sports lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.