We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, like staying with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Hotel des Alpes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Vera, 2, Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant, like staying with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

4 Middle Aged 'lads' stayed here for a weekend skiing in mid Jan. Great hosts who invested time in us to make our stay outstanding. Great local food, not a burger in sight and reasonable price for wine with the meal. Very clean and good facilities. The ski bus stops outside and you can get on the slopes within 15 minutes so no big problem.

Room Tip: Atthefront has the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

One of the best choices ever tested! Big and comfortable rooms, a welcoming restaurant with a very good menu and wine list and a great position in front of the mountains. Staff is very friendly and prices are well affordable even in high season.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The room was very spacious, nice and clean, the service friendly and the breakfast good.we stayed only one night, but we will definitely return there. Location convenient, not far from the center of Cortina.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful,large & very clean rooms.I would recommend the half board as the dinner was good & convenient after a long day of hiking ,cycling or skiing.Nice inexpensive wines.The owner Claudio was friendly & very helpful.The only minor complaint is that rooms needed brighteer reading lights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was in Cortina in July last and wanted an accommodation in the green and not downtown. I found the name of this hotel on the internet and the picture does not show the main road that runs right in front of the hotel. We were on third floor and our room was not on the main road, but looking on the roof on a pretty shabby private house and a partial view on the mountains. It was very hot but could not sleep with window opened because of noise of the state highway. The room was very small but clean.there is a nice walk that connects the hotel to Cortina where though, you have to watch for bikers that use it as a running track.
The dining room has large panoramic windows with a stunning view on the mountains and the food is good. In the evenings there was a rich salad buffet. The owners run the place on a very familiar yet professional manner and I liked that.
I would recommend it only if you do not mind the noise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First off, this hotel is in a great location in the Alps if you are not interested in staying right downtown. Its on the main road leading to some neat motorcycling, bicycling routes in the Alps. Parking is just across the street, there is a restaurant downstairs, which is very convenient when you're tired and just not interested in going far. The views from the rooms facing the street are just breathtaking. Unfortunately that means a little noise from trucks, buses, and motorcycles trying to make their way uphill. There was no AC but we didn't need it. The rooms were huge by european standards. I was pleasantly surprised and happy to be able to spread out a little. The rooms seemed to be recently remodeled and well kept and VERY clean. THe beds were european firm, the water pressure good, the pillows okay. There was a small flat screen TV attached to a wall so we could swing it out to watch while we were in bed or on the small sofa. There's an elevator in this hotel (yay) which is nice after a long ride! One thing I also liked was that there is a nice path behind the hotel for walking or bicycling that will take you to town, so you don't have to go along the bustling road if you don't want to. The path has some awesome views as well as park benches to enjoy them. Breakfast was okay with a small selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fruits, juices, breads, hard boiled eggs, and coffee (automachine made). We tried dinner here one night but it was a little expensive and the food was just okay. I was a little disappointed in the dinner, especially since the restaurant in the hotel across the street was much cheaper, tasted better, and had a much more welcoming staff..even tho we weren't staying at that hotel! In fact, the gentleman at the front desk offered us a farewell shot of limoncello/grappa before we left! The folks at Hotel des Alpes were nice, polite, helpful, but just not as welcoming as we are used to in Italian locations. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights as part of a group of 10 people and were very happy with this hotel, The hotel is very well set up for cyclists and the owner (Mr Claudio Brollo) does all he can to make your stay enjoyable. Meals are good quality and ideal for those who are burning lots of calories each day. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Via La Vera, 2, Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Des Alpes" is a traditional family-run mountain hotel set in a panoramic location a short way from the centre of Cortina d'Ampezzo. It is the ideal hotel for winter and summer sports lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.