We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet? no way!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Vera, 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quiet? no way!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was in Cortina in July last and wanted an accommodation in the green and not downtown. I found the name of this hotel on the internet and the picture does not show the main road that runs right in front of the hotel. We were on third floor and our room was not on the main road, but looking on the roof on a pretty shabby private house and a partial view on the mountains. It was very hot but could not sleep with window opened because of noise of the state highway. The room was very small but clean.there is a nice walk that connects the hotel to Cortina where though, you have to watch for bikers that use it as a running track.
The dining room has large panoramic windows with a stunning view on the mountains and the food is good. In the evenings there was a rich salad buffet. The owners run the place on a very familiar yet professional manner and I liked that.
I would recommend it only if you do not mind the noise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First off, this hotel is in a great location in the Alps if you are not interested in staying right downtown. Its on the main road leading to some neat motorcycling, bicycling routes in the Alps. Parking is just across the street, there is a restaurant downstairs, which is very convenient when you're tired and just not interested in going far. The views from the rooms facing the street are just breathtaking. Unfortunately that means a little noise from trucks, buses, and motorcycles trying to make their way uphill. There was no AC but we didn't need it. The rooms were huge by european standards. I was pleasantly surprised and happy to be able to spread out a little. The rooms seemed to be recently remodeled and well kept and VERY clean. THe beds were european firm, the water pressure good, the pillows okay. There was a small flat screen TV attached to a wall so we could swing it out to watch while we were in bed or on the small sofa. There's an elevator in this hotel (yay) which is nice after a long ride! One thing I also liked was that there is a nice path behind the hotel for walking or bicycling that will take you to town, so you don't have to go along the bustling road if you don't want to. The path has some awesome views as well as park benches to enjoy them. Breakfast was okay with a small selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurts, fruits, juices, breads, hard boiled eggs, and coffee (automachine made). We tried dinner here one night but it was a little expensive and the food was just okay. I was a little disappointed in the dinner, especially since the restaurant in the hotel across the street was much cheaper, tasted better, and had a much more welcoming staff..even tho we weren't staying at that hotel! In fact, the gentleman at the front desk offered us a farewell shot of limoncello/grappa before we left! The folks at Hotel des Alpes were nice, polite, helpful, but just not as welcoming as we are used to in Italian locations. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights as part of a group of 10 people and were very happy with this hotel, The hotel is very well set up for cyclists and the owner (Mr Claudio Brollo) does all he can to make your stay enjoyable. Meals are good quality and ideal for those who are burning lots of calories each day. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Greetings Bikers!!

I highly recommend a cycling vacation to Cortina with Hotel des Alpes!! Claudio and his staff have great knowledge of the area for road, mountain, and downhill cycling. Claudio also has a great passion for the spot and is eager to share great tips on routes, shops, and local knowledge. He was helpful as soon as I contacted him by email!! Food is very good too. I would recommend booking full board. Very nice and cheery staff. Everyone is happy to be there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinRoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had a very relaxing stay with two kids. Ideal base for the mountains. Very helpful staff, good wellness centre and good local food including an amazing gala dinner

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We paid quite an expensive price for this accommodation as it was the peak snowing season. The staff was very nice and helpful; they did excellent service. The breakfast was continental with many selection of bread, tea and coffee. Well we were quite satisfied with it. The dinner was really great, we had the traditional New Year Eve dinner in the hotel. It was an unforgetable dinner with so many dishes, excellent! We really enjoyed it. But one thing bad was the room wasn't sound-proof, we were really annoyed with the noise of other guests talking and walking passed the corridor, we even disturbed by the water sound when the next door guests having shower. That was the only downside of our stays. Overall, we had a wonderful holiday with des Alpes!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Premonition526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

We had our wedding in Cortina and chose Hotel Des Alpes as our wedding hotel and recommended the hotel for all our guests. The whole experiance was excellent - thanks greatly to the wonderful hotel and the fabulous staff - let by Claudio and his family. They assisted us and our guests greatly from small to large details, like when there was a mix-up with the flowers, to driving my mother-in-law down to the train station to assist with tickets. The evening meals in the hotel were simply exquisite - all of the service was prompt and polite.
The hotel rooms are clean and spacious - very good value for Cortina!
The hotel is located a little away from the central part of town, it is maybe 15-20 minutes walk from the centre. The advantage is that there is ample parking.
We loved Hotel Des alpes and greatly appreciate Claudio and his team's wonderful hospitality.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful management and staff
  • Disliked — It was overall excellent, but be aware that it is 15-20 minutes walk from the centre of town
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CandCMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
1.7 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pontechiesa
Hotel Pontechiesa
#22 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al Larin
Hotel Al Larin
#18 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mirage Hotel Cortina
Mirage Hotel Cortina
#9 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#8 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Via La Vera, 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#10 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Des Alpes" is a traditional family-run mountain hotel set in a panoramic location a short way from the centre of Cortina d'Ampezzo. It is the ideal hotel for winter and summer sports lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing