We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for a cycling holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Vera, 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a cycling holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights as part of a group of 10 people and were very happy with this hotel, The hotel is very well set up for cyclists and the owner (Mr Claudio Brollo) does all he can to make your stay enjoyable. Meals are good quality and ideal for those who are burning lots of calories each day. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edwards, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Greetings Bikers!!

I highly recommend a cycling vacation to Cortina with Hotel des Alpes!! Claudio and his staff have great knowledge of the area for road, mountain, and downhill cycling. Claudio also has a great passion for the spot and is eager to share great tips on routes, shops, and local knowledge. He was helpful as soon as I contacted him by email!! Food is very good too. I would recommend booking full board. Very nice and cheery staff. Everyone is happy to be there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a very relaxing stay with two kids. Ideal base for the mountains. Very helpful staff, good wellness centre and good local food including an amazing gala dinner

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We paid quite an expensive price for this accommodation as it was the peak snowing season. The staff was very nice and helpful; they did excellent service. The breakfast was continental with many selection of bread, tea and coffee. Well we were quite satisfied with it. The dinner was really great, we had the traditional New Year Eve dinner in the hotel. It was an unforgetable dinner with so many dishes, excellent! We really enjoyed it. But one thing bad was the room wasn't sound-proof, we were really annoyed with the noise of other guests talking and walking passed the corridor, we even disturbed by the water sound when the next door guests having shower. That was the only downside of our stays. Overall, we had a wonderful holiday with des Alpes!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

We had our wedding in Cortina and chose Hotel Des Alpes as our wedding hotel and recommended the hotel for all our guests. The whole experiance was excellent - thanks greatly to the wonderful hotel and the fabulous staff - let by Claudio and his family. They assisted us and our guests greatly from small to large details, like when there was a mix-up with the flowers, to driving my mother-in-law down to the train station to assist with tickets. The evening meals in the hotel were simply exquisite - all of the service was prompt and polite.
The hotel rooms are clean and spacious - very good value for Cortina!
The hotel is located a little away from the central part of town, it is maybe 15-20 minutes walk from the centre. The advantage is that there is ample parking.
We loved Hotel Des alpes and greatly appreciate Claudio and his team's wonderful hospitality.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful management and staff
  • Disliked — It was overall excellent, but be aware that it is 15-20 minutes walk from the centre of town
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

Our ski club, 33 people, stayed at this hotel during February trip to Cortina. Rooms are good and many provide you with the amazing view of Dolomites. But with the view comes the noise as the hotel is facing busy road. It takes about 20 – 25 minutes to walk to the evening entertainment (bars, clubs) and its okay when you are not carrying your gear. To get to the ski lifts you have to take a bus that stops across the street and then switch to another bus in the town. The problem is that the bus runs only at the top of the hour and if you missed it you have to take a taxi (15 EURO). I would not recommend the hotel to the skiers.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
285 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

I took a group of 7 to this hotel for a week's skiing and we all felt that it was the best place we'd stayed in 15 years of group ski trips (equalled only by a 4 star in Kitzbuhel which was much more expensive).
The hotel was refurbished a few years ago and is in excellent condition, with its own 'wellness centre' (sauna/steam room/ jacuzzi/massages) and ski/boot room (properly heated boot racks). It also seems well insulated for sound. The views from rooms at the front are stunning. Single beds are, perhaps, a little narrow.
It is 2km uphill from town: walkable but not in ski boots! Buses to/from Cortina are about every 30 minutes (from by the hotel or 100m down the road), free for skiers but otherwise under 1 Euro each way, and connect to frequent skibus services. We were lazy and took taxis - at most 15 Euros for 4.
The food (half board) was very good, with a choice of 4 or more dishes for the 2 main courses and usually a choice of desserts. On 2 nights there was a special 4 course meal - excellent if rather large. Soups were especially good, although vegetarian choice somewhat limited (they will always provide fish if wanted). All the staff were friendly and helpful, usually speaking English to some degree. Claudio, the manager, was especially helpful and has good English.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al Larin
Hotel Al Larin
#22 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Park Hotel Faloria
Park Hotel Faloria
#30 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#7 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pontechiesa
Hotel Pontechiesa
#12 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Via La Vera, 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#10 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Des Alpes" is a traditional family-run mountain hotel set in a panoramic location a short way from the centre of Cortina d'Ampezzo. It is the ideal hotel for winter and summer sports lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.