We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well run friendly hotel with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Alpes

Hotel des Alpes
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Alpes to your Saves list
Hotel des Alpes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Vera, 2, Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very well run friendly hotel with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

We had a very relaxing stay with two kids. Ideal base for the mountains. Very helpful staff, good wellness centre and good local food including an amazing gala dinner

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We paid quite an expensive price for this accommodation as it was the peak snowing season. The staff was very nice and helpful; they did excellent service. The breakfast was continental with many selection of bread, tea and coffee. Well we were quite satisfied with it. The dinner was really great, we had the traditional New Year Eve dinner in the hotel. It was an unforgetable dinner with so many dishes, excellent! We really enjoyed it. But one thing bad was the room wasn't sound-proof, we were really annoyed with the noise of other guests talking and walking passed the corridor, we even disturbed by the water sound when the next door guests having shower. That was the only downside of our stays. Overall, we had a wonderful holiday with des Alpes!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

We had our wedding in Cortina and chose Hotel Des Alpes as our wedding hotel and recommended the hotel for all our guests. The whole experiance was excellent - thanks greatly to the wonderful hotel and the fabulous staff - let by Claudio and his family. They assisted us and our guests greatly from small to large details, like when there was a mix-up with the flowers, to driving my mother-in-law down to the train station to assist with tickets. The evening meals in the hotel were simply exquisite - all of the service was prompt and polite.
The hotel rooms are clean and spacious - very good value for Cortina!
The hotel is located a little away from the central part of town, it is maybe 15-20 minutes walk from the centre. The advantage is that there is ample parking.
We loved Hotel Des alpes and greatly appreciate Claudio and his team's wonderful hospitality.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful management and staff
  • Disliked — It was overall excellent, but be aware that it is 15-20 minutes walk from the centre of town
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

Our ski club, 33 people, stayed at this hotel during February trip to Cortina. Rooms are good and many provide you with the amazing view of Dolomites. But with the view comes the noise as the hotel is facing busy road. It takes about 20 – 25 minutes to walk to the evening entertainment (bars, clubs) and its okay when you are not carrying your gear. To get to the ski lifts you have to take a bus that stops across the street and then switch to another bus in the town. The problem is that the bus runs only at the top of the hour and if you missed it you have to take a taxi (15 EURO). I would not recommend the hotel to the skiers.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

I took a group of 7 to this hotel for a week's skiing and we all felt that it was the best place we'd stayed in 15 years of group ski trips (equalled only by a 4 star in Kitzbuhel which was much more expensive).
The hotel was refurbished a few years ago and is in excellent condition, with its own 'wellness centre' (sauna/steam room/ jacuzzi/massages) and ski/boot room (properly heated boot racks). It also seems well insulated for sound. The views from rooms at the front are stunning. Single beds are, perhaps, a little narrow.
It is 2km uphill from town: walkable but not in ski boots! Buses to/from Cortina are about every 30 minutes (from by the hotel or 100m down the road), free for skiers but otherwise under 1 Euro each way, and connect to frequent skibus services. We were lazy and took taxis - at most 15 Euros for 4.
The food (half board) was very good, with a choice of 4 or more dishes for the 2 main courses and usually a choice of desserts. On 2 nights there was a special 4 course meal - excellent if rather large. Soups were especially good, although vegetarian choice somewhat limited (they will always provide fish if wanted). All the staff were friendly and helpful, usually speaking English to some degree. Claudio, the manager, was especially helpful and has good English.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

We have just returned from an enjoyable ski-ing trip to Cortina. Hotel Des Alpes has been recently refurbished and provided very clean and comfortable accommodation. The views from the hotel were spectacular and the level of service was excellent. Claudio and his staff, particularly Max, were extremely helpful and attentive.
The hotel has a large car park and is well served by the ski bus A pleasant footpath behind the hotel provides a safe walking route to and from the town.
We would definitely use this hotel again,

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

We stayed three nights at this great hotel. The manager (owner) gave us a a pick of three rooms when we arrived! We chose a wing! (ie. two rooms with big bathroom and shower room then he blocked the other room in the wing for us.) The view as so pretty of the Cortina mountains from our balcony.
The food was great. We paid for breakfast and lunch with our room. Claudio even gave my son and I bikes to use for the day!(no charge)
It was a short lovely walk on a path to town of Cortina. It was great to be a bit away from all the activities in town, as it was very crowded there in August. We rested and relaxed before our trip thru Italy at this lovely place.
Thanks Claudio, at Hotel des Alpes..we will try to see you this winter!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Alpes

Address: Via La Vera, 2, Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Des Alpes" is a traditional family-run mountain hotel set in a panoramic location a short way from the centre of Cortina d'Ampezzo. It is the ideal hotel for winter and summer sports lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Alpes Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.