We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Faloria

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Faloria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel Faloria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zuel di Sopra, 46, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good, solid hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in July 2012. Booked 2 rooms via the hotel web page (cheaper than Expedia). The standard rooms are OK, perhaps a little too small for 2 people. Fortunately, we got an upgrade to a Junior Suite on one of the rooms.

Both rooms were clean, but there was too little closet space - a lot of hangers, but no shelves at all. Both rooms were on the ground floor, with the balcony door opening up to the garden, which we loved. We could visit each other through the open balcony doors.

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel pool. It is large and has a jet current - really quite usable for a good long swim. Pity it closes at 8 pm. I really cannot see why it couldn't be open at least until 10 pm, or even around the clock (unattended).

We didn't try the restaurant, but it looked nice and inviting. The bar was very pleasant and not too overpriced - we used it to plan our mountain hikes over a beer in the evenings. They serve tasty little snacks with the beer - nice touch.

The breakfast, unfortunately, was rather poor. Very limited selection for the category. The breakfast area, however, was wonderful. A little conservatory in front of the hotel, really very pleasant.

The location is OK, a few kilometers out of town, which I consider an advantage. Easy to park. Beautiful views all around.

There is currently a construction site adjacent to the hotel, but it is separated by a high wall, so the noise is barely noticeable. The work stops quite early anyway - no problem.

The staff were severe-looking, but nice when dealing with the guests. They spoke good English.

Cortina as a destination is beautiful, if terribly overpriced. Some say Dolomiti are the most beautiful mountains anywhere. I am inclined to agree. If you love mountains like we do, you will think you are in a paradise. Breathtaking.
Plus, there is a million gazillion things to do: Hiking, cycling, funiculars, Via Ferratas, climbing, golf, WWI memorial sites ... you name it. You can spend a month just in Cortina, easy, without running out of things to do.

I can definitely recommend Cortina as a destination, and Park Hotel Faloria is not a bad choice. It is comfortable, fairly-priced, and has an excellent swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano p, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Park Hotel Faloria, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your time in writing your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here in Park Hotel Faloria and that you appreciated both the hotel itself and its setting, sorrounded by the marvellous Dolomites.

We would also like to thank you for your suggestions, as we value very highly our guests' opinions and always try to improve our standards in order to meet our clients' needs. We will for sure endeavour to provide shelves in the rooms and improve the breakfast selection.

Unfortunately though, we are unable to keep the swimming pool open for longer hours, especially at night time, as we are obliged to provide a life guard in order to guarantee maximum safety for our guests.

We hope you will come again and visit us in Park Hotel Faloria and maybe next time it will be an opportunity for you to try our restaurant, which we are sure will not disappoint you!

Thank you again and good bye from Cortina and all the hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    51
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
33
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent 6 nights around the New year's eve and I must say, it was probably the worst 4star hotel I ever stayed in.
The initial junior suite was cramped, dark and the shower was extremely small.

After numerous complaints we have been moved to a larger and better suit the next day.

But: the electricity kept tripping, the shower drain was blocked, we had to ask for more soaps after several days,we didn't have any warm water on the 31/12 so we all took a cold shower, the shuttle wasn't coming in time, they lost my daughter swimming costume and stopped short of accusing my daughter that she lost it.

All for an overall fee which I could easily use for a 5 star hotel in another resort.
I thought the whole resort was overrated and extremely crowded( although that was to be expected at that time of the year).

A poor experience overall in my favourite destination country.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Park Hotel Faloria. We had a lovely suite with a balcony. The hotel is a pleasant 1/2 hour walk or 5 minute ride from the center of Cortina. It was nice to be a little away from the center. There is a very nice walking path that takes you directly into town.
The staff was very accommodating. Paula at the front desk was especially helpful--she suggested wonderful hikes for each day of our stay. The restaurant was very good. Breakfast was excellent-- it had the usual good continental fare but also eggs and breakfast meat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We booked a suit for 4, (2 adults and our 2 kids( 6 and 10)), and we got a seperated bed room for the parents, and a big room with 2 seperate sofa beds for the kids.
The rooms are a bit dark, but the environment is very quiete, so we slept very well.

The hotel is 99% Italian, which we believe is great when coming to Italy on vacation... :)
So be prepared to do some trial and error English in order to get to your result, ... which has its charm!

The hotel evening dinners are very, very good! Good choice, personnel attention (Italian style) and you really feel a good guest.
The personnel wants you to feel well in their Hotel!
We came by car, but made use of the "hotel shuttle " to Cortina several times, which is very convenient.
There is a bicycle road at 20 m from the hotel, on which we did a 34 KM bike drive ( always downhill.. great for the 6y old!), and on which the sportives can do their jogging.
Paola of the reception is very helpfull, and will bend herself in 2 to make yourself comfortable during your stay.
The swimmingpool is great, looked completely redone recently.
The Wellness area would need some refurbs, but was still acceptable.

You will miss the "exit" to the hotel the 1st time... but not afterwards anymore!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Me an my boyfriend had this summer a roadtrip in Europe.
We had not made any reservations, and just took things as it camed.
When we came to Cortina, we had seen this hotel on the internett, and decided to stay there for 2 nights.

When we came, the staff was very helpful, and we got a last minute deal.
A suite, for the price of a dubbel room.
AND WHAT A SUITE IT WAS!
From the suite we had a view of the Faloria mountain, what was really nice to wake up to:)
The staff gave us a round trip of the hotel, and gave us tips, what to do in Cortina.
We did`nt have the time to try out their spa, just the pool...this was nice,but, you had to have a bathing cap. You could buy one there, but it cost arounde 3,5 euro..
Breakfast was ok, but i have had better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigswinter, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed 1 night in a "suite". The suite consisting of a very small double bedroom (+bath), a living room with 2 sofas (convertable into 2 extra bed, extra bathroom (showers only) and a small entry area with closets.

Overall, the Faloria was not our style: dark wood paneling everywhere, heavy curtains, little in terms of lights, "old towards gaudy", posh look.

Restaurant area except was very dark during breakfast, except for nice winter garden with view of olympic ski jumping arena. We needed to insist to be sitted there.

After checking in we learned that the advertised pool was closed for maintenance (and calla for extra fees if in operation).

A broken lightbulb in our suite was never fixed. I asked for converter - never received feedback. Closets were without hangers. Staff spoke no German and only broken English. Breakfast buffet ok - but limited compared to other experiences: only 1 type of cheese and meat, cereal and yoghurt prepackaged,... All minor stuff - but at a 4-star rating and pricing we expected more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We decided for this hotel because it is one of the few places in Cortina which allows check in until midnight and while driving from Prague in late afternoon we really needed some time buffer. It is difficult to find the hotel in the night, we were driving around several times and finally had to stop and ask for directions. A little sign on the road would really help. The hotel has two clear highlights – the pool with sauna and a great relaxation area and the gourmet restaurant, probably one of the best in the area. Both well worth visiting even if you stay in a different hotel. The staff were also extremely friendly. The suite rooms were perfectly adequate and rather spacious, the only downside was that our rooms were rather dark throughout the day (probably facing North).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel Faloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Faloria

Address: Zuel di Sopra, 46, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Faloria 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Park Hotel Faloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Faloria Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Faloria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.