We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like visiting a friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Parc Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Parc Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Parc Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just like visiting a friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We've recently had a week with family in the Parc Victoria Chalet Hotel in Cortina through Inghams. At a lengthy wait for our cases at Innsbruck we were greeted by our cheerful rep, Craig. Even though he'd been to the airport many times that day, his welcoming and organised personality was uplifting.
It's a traditional & good looking hotel. On arrival, we were welcomed by Louise, the impressive hotel manageress. She invited us all to the bar for an aperitif and canapes before our evening meal. I was so surprised to see that evening, Louise also visited each of our tables to personally welcome us and to confirm that she and her staff were there to ensure our stay with them was as enjoyable as possible. If ever we requested anything of any of the young staff, there was an immediate smile before the 'yes, certainly'. The attitude of the staff was like a breath of fresh air, they were on the ball and charming.
The resort itself has several ski areas, so every day we were taken to our chosen area by smiley Peter, the hotel's bus driver who was always keen to help with info about the pistes. It felt as though we were going to a different ski resort every day. It was only a quick phone call & Peter would be only a few minutes away before helping us with our skis back to the hotel before afternoon tea. This was a lovely treat at the end of the day's skiing; a complimentary selection of home made cake or soup, coffee and teas.
Every evening, we were served canapes and aperitifs before our delicious meal. It was like being a judge at 'Master Chef'. The choice on each day's menu was always hard to choose from. It catered for all tastes. Each meal was delicately presented as any great restaurant and the flavours were exquisite. Each evening tasted as though it had been the best I'd ever tasted, until the next night, wow, lush food everyday. Well done chef.
Our spacious bedroom was traditionally decorated with wood panelling. The huge double bed was so comfortable. Adding a lamp to stand on the dresser would enhance the room as the wood absorbs the lighting. the storage is plentiful including a safe which is free to use. We requested that the room be feather free as we're allergic, and this was not a problem for the staff. The bathroom had a shower over it and there was always plenty hot water. We have experienced differently in other hotels near tea time. The view from the balcony was beautiful. There are shutters on the balcony windows to darken the room and as the heating is so powerful it allowed us to keep the windows open and cool the room.
We were so lucky with the amount of snow and fantastic blue skies, sunshine and good temperatures. Even though you can't ski to the door at this resort, I would definitely go back to it. The views are spectacular and there's variation for everyone. Surprisingly, since I had heard that Cortina is full of fur coats and expensive, the mountain restaurants were no more that anywhere else and they served lovely food. Everyday was different and so much fun.One night in the week, the hotel staff take a night off, so we selected to go on the Inghams traditional Italian meal on the mountain. The extra spin to the evening was that you were taken to the restaurant by skiddoo. It's good value for money and the drive is great fun.
The hotel is on the main street of Cortina and is close to many classic shops. Definitely worth a browse and the building themselves are very pretty.
Unfortunately, we had to leave the hotel at 2.30am for our flight home. What a thought, but Louise, the manageress served us a continental breakfast with warm croissants at 2am. She told us the plan of our departure and Craig their Rep made sure we were all sorted for the journey. As the bus drove from the hotel Louise was outside waving us off. How personal is that! How on earth they keep that up for the whole day and evening whilst their new guests arrive as we did the week before. Brilliant! On reflection, I felt as though we were invited to their home and looked after so well it was so comfortable. For me, it's been the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff are the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    47
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
33
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

For a last minute deal with a UK tour operator this was an exceptional experience. We couldn't fault any part of the hotel, food or service from start to finish. Louise and her young team were very hard working, pleasant and really made the difference from other holidays we have been on.

The variation across the menu from afternoon cakes, canapes and 4 course evening dinner was very good. The afternoon cake session is a great time for people to mingle and discuss their ski stories. The chalet part of all this means that the tables for breakfast and dinner are grouped together- for those looking for a social atmosphere this arrangement is perfect.

Breakfast begins at 7.30 which is a little too late for people who need to get across town to the bus station to catch an 8 o clock bus for Corvara- the location of the Sella Ronda ski tour- our only criticism.

This hotel is very well situated for the fur coat and afternoon coffee brigade and of course the local ski areas surrounding Cortina. For those hoping to make use of a Dolomiti Superski card with the larger resorts i.e. Sella Ronda, Alta Badia, Marmolada etc. this is quite a distance which became costly in addition to the main lift pass. Local bus services run very close and conveniently from the hotel and you are assisted very well with times and transport by the hotel staff and their driver Peter. Do your research first on distances, buses and prices before booking to avoid being caught out miles from home without the last bus- the reps are great and can assist you with information at any time.

Rooms serviced daily, very clean hotel with exceptional views from most rooms I expect. We were in room 301 which had a fridge, free safe and a hairdryer. There were two tv's, one in the main room and one in a lounge/ additional bedroom area. Very spacious with plenty of room to walk around the beds and unpack ski bags, suitcases etc.

Thank you.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham north wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time skiing with inghams and if all hotels are like this one there will be no need to go with anyone else. Louise and all her team are doing a marvellous job, nothing is too much trouble. Our room was on the first floor with a fabulous balcony . There is very much a home from home feeling with lots of 'comfy' seating in the bar area for relaxing pre and post dinner (or anytime of the day!) . If you are seeking Italian cuisine and romantic dining each evening then this probably isn't the place for you, but if you are after a real chalet type experience with the opportunity to meet new people and lots of socialising this is it. The food is really good with lots of choices including vegetarian. We'll done inghams this is a real gem and please don't change a thing

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have just returned from a ski trip staying at the chalet Hotel Victoria run by Inghams.The hotel is centrally located plus close to the bus stop for public transport to the slopes.The hotel is a little dated but warm,clean and homely which is what you need after a hard days skiing.The staff- manager Louise,Jenny,Teddy, Craig, James , Rosie and minibus supremo Peter made the holiday a fantastic experience.Nothing was too much trouble, they were helpful,kind and chatty, always smiling and willing to help.The food was plentiful,well cooked,tasty and varied, the wines were also flowing freely and certainly quaffable.The bar and lounge area felt like a house party, the drinks were sensibly priced and the pool table led to some friendly competitions also the quiz night which was great fun for everyone. The skiing is varied, the scenery is without doubt amazing (especially the `Hidden Valley`) and the mountain restaurants serve really tasty food some in ridiculous quantities.Cortina is chic and full of expensive shops however the bars are affordable and civilised,each bottle of wine came with nibbles and big bowls of crisps-again a reward for getting down the slopes.A wonderful holiday so big thanks to the Hotel Victoria and all the staff.

Room Tip: ask for room 208-had balcony, double bed and small sitting room looking out onto shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have been skiing for 38 years and can honestly say that I have rarely experienced a manager like Louise. I was in the skiing business for 10 years with Ski Peak (Vaujany) where customer service was of the highest standard and Louise and her staff (especially the lovely Tedi) were exceptional. I agree with one of the previous comments implying that Louise never slept and that there must have been three of her! She was always in her office with a huge smile and nothing was too much trouble. Well done! I had organised my third group holiday with Inghams (19 of us) and she knew every single one of them by name. Also, she is the best manager I have experienced with them.

The food was very good, although I would agree with the comment about the porridge! I didn't have it after the first morning and I normally have it for breakfast every day. Far too runny, too much milk and not cooked enough! I suspect that someone other than the chef cooked it!

The comfortable hotel oozes old world charm and we all absolutely loved it. Fantastic location right on the edge of the pedestrianised high street, although the ski hire shop was quite a hike for carrying skis and walking in boots (we changed ours after the first day).

I didn't realise when I booked the group that 22nd Feb to 1st Mar was 'Snow and Carnival week' and although it was not an official school holiday, it was very busy with lots of kids around. The one-way system around the town meant quite often that there were traffic jams when trying to get to and from the hotel to the different ski areas. So, when booking I think others should check this.

Also, we did the day's excursion around the Sella Ronda, which I am glad we did but it was so busy that it was more 'avoidance skiing' than actual enjoyment.

The only real gripe I had was that the mattress was incredibly hard. We had Room 108, which was the hotel owner's own private apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, dining and sitting area with fireplace and was absolutely lovely - wood panelling everywhere and very cosy indeed. But the mattress was hard! No-one else complained and my friends who occupied the second bedroom in the apartment did not have the same problem. I hope that Inghams will be able to address this.

Room Tip: The private apartment of Room 108 was beautiful, but beware that the mattress in the corner bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Inghams have taken over this hotel and are running it chalet style in Cortina d'Ampezzo. So I'll go over the whole experience from end to end.

lets start with the booking - Inghams staff in the London offices are not the best people to deal with. They have no idea how to make booking an easy and enjoyable experience and the Inghams discount structure means that a group receives LESS discount when MORE people are booked!! the booking staff also made a few omissions on the paperwork meaning more headaches once at the hotel.

The Journey: Our rep on the bus did get some key local information wrong. eg: we were told the ski hire shop was closed on saturday afternoon and open later - this knocked out saturdays skiing which we were up for as change over days are always quiet on the slopes. On arrival at said ski shop, it turns out they had been open all day and we could have been up the slopes all along!!
He also had some local bus times wrong - now either the local bus company didn't follow his information OR his info was wrong - being stranded a few valleys away can get pretty serious. Cortina is NOT a ski-in ski-out town and everyone relies on the bus service. Luckily some english speaking locals explained that there were only 3 busses available after 3pm as opposed to one every 20mins after 4pm like the rep said.

now to the good bit.......

The Hotel:
Lousie and the staff behind and in front of the scenes have the place very well sorted. The shared areas of the hotel are neat, comfortable, well thought out and have a warm friendly atmosphere.
the rooms are clean have a balcony, good size bathroom and are everything one needs for a wind-down space after a day up the mountain. there is even a wee lift which is great for getting heavy bags up and down stairs.
The hotel has wifi but it is terribly slow, if you need to do a wee bit of work during your trip the best thing is to find a local cafe with good wifi, of which there are many and avail yourself of superior coffee and broadband. also -duh! its a holiday!

the food in the hotel is very good indeed - the ONLY recommendation I would suggest is that guests are allowed to eat their breakfast before 0730. the red rope preventing people from helping themselves to cold breakfast already laid out is childish and prevents self sufficient types from getting the 1st lifts. it is a skiing holiday after all - not a 'wait for permission to eat health camp'

In summary Inghams are doing a great job and would have an excellent review bar one or two glitches.

to qualify my response above, am a veteran of more than 5 skiing holidays in groups of between 10 and 35 - everyone gets feedback.

Room Tip: Try to speak to the hotel staff who have seen the rooms rather than the Inghams staff in the booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic week in Cortina at the Victoria Parc Hotel, skiing was great, the hotel was very comfortable and all the staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble... From the manager right down to the waiting staff. Seems like Inghams have got it right again....!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Victoria Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Parc Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#8 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#13 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Parc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Parc
Victoria Parc Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Parc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.