We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor in almost all respects. Deserves its' bad rating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Domina Home Alaska

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Domina Home Alaska to your Saves list
Domina Home Alaska
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo delle Poste 39, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Poor in almost all respects. Deserves its' bad rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Deluxe room was of sufficient size, but furnishing were worn. Bathrooms were old and shower stalls were tiny (the smallest I have ever seen. Only liquid soap and no soap bars. Staff were truly incompetant. Niether of the two people on duty at reception were able to locate the hotel on the town map nor could they locate the restaurant we wished to go to. Breakfast was mediocre

The only positive about this hotel was its very central and convenient location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
58
30
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I don't know what a 4 stars hotel means in Italy, but as we are used to in American Continent, Hotel Alaska should be a 2 Stars Hotels. Room are very ugly with very cheap furniture, Internet is free, but you have to go down every two hours to get a new password, and people at frontdesk sometimes can be very rude. About the A/C, I report it was not working and late in the night after I saw it was still not working the girl in the reception told me " what happens is that we do not ave A/C", i know most of the year you're not gong to need it, but believe me you would want to have it in July.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We chose this on the sight of a Ferrari outside, as there are plenty of hotels in Cortina, but evidently the Ferrari owner was not staying there..
Alaska Hotel is in the middle of town, and has parking under the hotel.
Apparently a 4 star but without coffee or a kettle in the room, which was a little tired.
A tour (bus/ski/whatever) hotel. The dance floor was pumping at 10.30pm.
No irons in Italian hotels by law, but bidets in all our Italian hotels.
We had nice red wines in the lobby served with plates of olives and nuts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Michela, all time running bellboy, unloaded my car and helped me into covered car park with his continious smile. Andrea : "Maestro of the front desk" Just step in the front door and be sure you'll be welcomed with great smile and hands open for you like santa claus. We had a problem with car rental company and I asked Andrea to help me. He organised maintanence and my car was fixed. While I enjoyed welcome party. The italian singer was welcoming. Wait staff was very well organised. I dont know their names but their short superviser was very attentive. Breakfast is self service but they would bring anything for you without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

We had booked the Hotel Majoni through Expedia but were contacted two days before leaving to be told that that hotel was closed (it was) and we had been rebooked here. The hotel is certainly central though as Cortina is small this is no great advantage and can make parking either difficult or expensive (the hotel carpark is 16 euros a day).

We were given a "junior suite" which turned out to be a large but gloomy room on the back of the hotel with no views at all. It was clean and reasonably well equipped but certainly not somewhere you'd want to spend much time. I suspect that the normal rooms on the front are much pleasanter. The dining room is relatively small and crowded. The breakfast is ordinary. We were booked on half board and while the meals were decent enough they were nothing special.

If you're booked in here there is nothing to worry about but I doubt if we'd go back. (Cortina, on the other hand is wonderful!)
The hotel is wheelchair accessible

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Domina Home Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domina Home Alaska

Address: Largo delle Poste 39, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domina Home Alaska 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Domina Home Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Alaska Hotel Cortina d`Ampezzo
Domina Home Alaska Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domina Home Alaska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.