We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dated museum with bad food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pezie 103, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A dated museum with bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just returned from a week in Cortina. The Miramonti is about 2km out of town and looks spectacular from the outside, especially in the snow. Our corner room was very large and comfortable but the bathroom too cramped with toilet almost touching the bath. It is a hassle getting to the slopes to ski. Take the shuttle bus to Pizza Roma, then walk to buy ski pass from bus station, then take a public bus to the slopes. I asked the driver of the shuttle if he could take us to the lift station - he said sure and when I was about to tip him 10 Euro (which I thought was generous as he also offered to collect me later) he asked for 15 - that is 30 Euros for a round trip to the slopes which is only another minute or so from the Pizza Roma. Even the local taxis charge 15-20 Euros from centre of town to the hotel. One day we were charged 70 Euros to take us to a ski area about 15mins away! I think that by staying in the hotel they can see you coming! But I think the hotel shuttle driver has a tidy business which isn't really what a "free shuttle" in a ski town should be - and I have stayed in some of the best hotels in ski resorts around Europe. Only ate one night in hotel - the dining room is so dated and food tired and our meat tough and over-cooked. There are some great restaurants in the town. Also breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. The barman one evening told me he felt he was working in a museum and it certainly feels that way. We're in our 50's and enjoy living life to the full - if you enjoy skiing and wish to experience everything else that Cortina has to offer I would strongly advise against this expensive and over-rated hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
39
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just back from a week in Cortina and stayed at the Miramonti. Fantastic service, hospitality and overall ambience. Although a bit dated it has been brought up to date and still retains the atmosphere of past years. Waiters truly helpful and attentive as were all the staff. Large selection on the buffet for both breakfast and dinner, plus alternatives. We stayed half board and after 5/6 courses in the evening were fit to bust. Ok some things on the menu not to our taste but that applies anywhere but at least you had plenty of quality options and mix and match which courses you wanted.
Very large suite with table, SKY TV various seating plus separate dressing and bathroom. Clean linen and towels every day. Welcome cakes (biscuits) and fruit. Nice touch was the weather report, horoscope and chocs at night.Superb view up the valley to the snow covered mountains. We always came back to afternoon tea and biscuits, and relaxed, but did not try the pool.
Although a little out of town certainly more than 1500m, in our opinion, or shall we say we would not have liked to walk it, there is a free taxi service every 15min with friendly drivers who drop you off where you want. Certainly a gem and evidently we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, older but very charming. The entire hotel has twinkle lights from each window, which is also a balcony. The windows each have shutters which can be opened for fresh air and two inner doors to keep the warmth in or out. Very, very charming. A short ride from the city center of Cortina and the slopes but well worth it. The restaurant is something out history, you don't find many restaurants like this in the World. The food was excellent and the service supberb.
Highly recommend this hotel and the restaurant if you are in the Cortina area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for Christmas at Miramonte hotel Cortina d Ampezzo,maybe the most aristocratic hotel I 've ever been apart from Claridges Hotel in London.We really enjoyed the hospitality,kindness,taste and environment of a great and historical hotel that deserves to be among the top hotels of the world.Minor restorations maybe needed and probably offer to the general idea of the hotel,nevertheless we would like to say many many thanks to the personnel for their politeness and dirscretion.Really perfect Christmas,a place we will definitely revisit soon.
Leonidas and Pepi

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road but there was no noice at all ,still excellent view of dolomites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I have never been charged for ice! At this hotel it comes with a charge of Euro 12. To use the swimming pool is Euro 3. It goes on and on. A suite for 2 people cost Euro 1300 including half board. Dinner was awful.....breakfast OK. View spectacular. Had no hot water until calling down, DVD did not work, bath tub/spa leaks and floods the floor, internet need to go to reception to get ticket...need I go on....shocking standard for 5 star majestic lady.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

We had a wonderful and very restful week at the Miramonti. The waiting staff were marvellous, the food of excellent quality and it actually snowed while we were there which turned the entire place into a wonderland.

I do however have a couple of things which I think need to be pointed out to future guests. The evening meal was sumptuous, and of course we had to pay for our wine, but I did not realise this would extend to water for the table. We elected to have one botttle of mineral water every night and couldn't believe the check-out bill for water alone was 112 EUD, which for just seven nights works out at 16EUD a bottle (just 3 EUD less than our wine bill). I didn't have the opportunity to question this at the time of check-out as I didn't have my reading glasses at hand and our transport was waiting.

The second gripe was that there does not seem to be designated non-
smoking floors and unfortunately we had two chain smokers in the room next to us and with the conjoined door arrangement meant that we suffered their endless smoking day and night. Eventually we packed the shared door around with clothing, but this was not even sufficient and the smoke still drifted in. Perhaps more people asking for non-smoking floors would arouse some positive action. It is great that most areas within the hotel are now non-smoking, but our problem was such a nuisance that we slept with the windows open - even when it was below zero outside.

  • Liked — The evening dinner meals
  • Disliked — The smokers next door with their barking dog. No dogs and definately non-smoking floors pls.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

The Miramonti is a beautiful, old fashioned hotel and of huge proportions, reminiscent in the winter landscape of the fictional ‘Overlook Hotel’, (Timberline Lodge) as featured in the film, ‘The Shining’, but don’t let that put you off! The public areas and corridors are large and lavish. On turning a corner in a corridor, you could almost expect to see Jack Nicholson with a maniacal grin, typing away on his typewriter. But this really is a grand and wonderful hotel in which to stay. Difficulties were encountered in trying to book over the internet but eventually after several e-mails we were successful.

Our room along with others we glimpsed at were large, around 5 metres square with two large wardrobes but very creaky parquet flooring, giving the impression that the entire building was really in need of a major refurbishment. This said, the bathrooms were modern and of generous size with 2 basins and all rooms appeared to have balconies with great views over the Italian Alps. With 2 separate doors from the corridor to the room and double glazing, the rooms were very quiet, though the beds were incredibly firm and pillows up to the usual standard in Italy, like sleeping on hard lumps of dough. On request though, you could have softer pillows delivered and every evening there was a bed turn-down service with chocolates placed on the sheets.

Situated in its own grounds 5 minutes drive from Cortina, The Miramonti was connected to the centre of town by its own minibus service, always very regular and reliable at 15 minute intervals so there was never a problem with this. The drop off in Cortina was at the town bus station so convenient for connecting with the bus services for getting to the slopes. If you are a beginner at skiing and wish to get to the slopes at Socrepes, the best bus service for this is the No, 3 service, taking around 10 minutes to get you up to the slopes.

Breakfasts were the usual continental affair and high quality but rather mean in the fact that you had to pay 12 Euros extra if you wanted a cooked egg or omelette. Evening dinners on the other hand were worthy of Mitchelin stars. These began with a vast and extravagant self-service buffet, a meal in itself and usually containing a speciality such as whole salmon. The quality of the food in the following courses was on a par with top London restaurants, an indication of this was the charge for an evening meal if you weren’t actually staying at The Miramonti - 75 Euros.

The hotel also has all the usual wellness facilities but rather surprisingly for a hotel of its calibre and room rates, you had to pay 15 Euros for the use of the sauna and steam room. Plead ignorance to this charge as some guests clearly managed to use these facilities without paying.

On the whole this must be the top hotel in Cortina with chandeliers and antiques adorning the public areas and dinning rooms. Pictures of VIPs and famous guests from a bygone era, when the hotel was probably at its very best, are also dotted around the lounges. A pianist plays in the bar by a log fire before dinner and also in the restaurant during evening dinner. All the staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English.

Overall I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone. Cortina was a beautiful Alpine resort with excellent skiing facilities and our stay at The Miramonti only enhanced the memories of great holiday.

  • Liked — Fabulous Food
  • Disliked — Hard Beds
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Faloria
Park Hotel Faloria
#29 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#17 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#3 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franceschi Park Hotel
Franceschi Park Hotel
#4 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel

Address: Via Pezie 103, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#3 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#8 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.