We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, charming hotel with a luxury feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ancora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 51 hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice, charming hotel with a luxury feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed one night in a Junior suite here and we really enjoyed it. Great location, fantastic view to the mountains and a small square, helpful and friendly staff and great breakfast. If you want to endulge yourself while in the Dolomites, this is a good place.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
21
33
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel together with our tour group. It is located in a small town up in the mountains. The rooms are old but cozy , the town may been small but it feels very good walking around. The food in the hotel's restaurant was one of the best I had during my trip in Italy. This is definity a place I will remember after I leave Italy. Even the food in the restaurants around were superb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Ancora is your choice in Cortina when you are looking for authentic old charm. It is a traditional hotel in chalet style, constructed in 1826, with handpainted decorations on walls, ceilings and furniture. The owner, Flavia, is allways present and ensures good (and warm) service. The hotel appears to have received a lot of awards, and the entire lobby is covered with frames certificates and pictures of the owners receiving them. The room we had was a junior suite on the top floor in front, with a private balcony with a great view of the church and mountains. Even though the age of the room shows, it is charming rather than dated. Bed and shower were good. The restaurant serves a good traditional menu - eating in the hotel rather than going out is a good option. The breakfast buffet is good, although a larger selection of bread would have been nice. One flip side to the old charm: if you need silence in your room, do not choose this hotel: walls and floors are very thin. And in our case the view of the church also came with being woken up at 7 each day by the church bells. So keep this in mind when making your choice.

Room Tip: If the idea of being woken up by church bells at 7 bothers you, ask for a room at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is amazing in all aspects.
The style, hospitality, restaurant, furniture, as will as the location.
It is very antique hotel and I never saw such a hotel before.
Mrs. Filavia - the owner of the hotel -was really nice and generous.
I would advise all to visit this unique hotel in Cortina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a unique vantage point in March of 2013. While staying at the hotel with friends and family, I spent more time at the hotel because I suffered an injury 2 weeks before the trip. As such, I was at the hotel for all but a few hours each day (during an entire week). The hotel and its staff are the best!! Anything I asked for they delivered. The food is fantastic, the atmosphere is great, and the staff is top notch.

I have skied in France, Austria and out West. From the perspective of the hotel and surrounding area, none of those compare to Hotel Ancora and Cortina. My family and friends that skied said the conditions and trails were awesome. I will be going back next year, and probably again and again for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in a Junior Suite for seven nights while skiing this February. We both loved everything about the hotel, the service, and Cortina itself. Having read the one trip advisor review complaining about rudeness in the desk staff, I was particularly watchful for that each time I was in the lobby. Quite the contrary, I observed and experienced nothing but smiling, extraordinarily helpful people on duty throughout the week. The location, right in the middle of the village, was enormously preferable to some of the hotels farther away.

Tom & Barbara

Room Tip: Consider a Junior Suite. The extra room is terrific for a lot of reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Ancora is the oldest hotel in the town with a wonderful location. Fling open your windows in the morning and check the conditions and you take in the church and a great view up the slopes.Completely agree about the amazing food..apparently 9 people work in the kitchen alone. The owner is a great character and we always found the front desk staff really friendly.They organized a guide for us to ski the Sella Rondo and this was a great day out.
Our criticism would be around the poor spa facilities.Great ski hotels now offer sauna and steam rooms as standard( there is a steep charge here for each use)
They are installing wifi so the current problem with daily log ins should be solved soon.
Atmosphere can't be beaten

Room Tip: The suites which face the square and church offer great views up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.