We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining but very unfriendly front of house staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ancora to your Saves list
Hotel Ancora
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
1 review
“Great dining but very unfriendly front of house staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The dining experience is truly remarkable which was made better by brilliant staff- well done!! As good the waitering staff and housekeeping staff the opposite can be said for the front of house staff. The reception staff is so unfriendly it feels like they doing you a favour to look up to greet!!! The owner needs some lessons on being a host as she is very unfriendly and snobbish and does not make one feel welcome. This is truly the downside to this hotel as the reception staff are the first impression of the hotel- the owner reaLly needs a change of attitude as she must realise without guests her hotel won't survive as already the hotel is overpriced!!-The rooms are old and lighting very poor but the friendly housekeeper went out of her way to make our stay comfortable! The ski room is a joke - what about spending some of the over priced rates for the rooms on a hotel upgrade?? Our biggest dissapointment was that NO effort was made to create a christmas feeling - we have 2 young children and NO special christmas day entertainment or activities were organised as we experienced at other ski resorts!!That was a let down for the youngsters as no festivities were even noticeable!! When asking if Santa is coming we were looked on as if we were from another planet!! As I said at other Ski Resort hotels a big fuss is made of Christmas and Children get to take part in all the fun!! Don't know if we would stay at this hotel again if they don't change their attitude

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is about as central as it's possible to get and many of the rooms look out over the main square. It is also just a short walk to the ski bus.

It is not cheap. Skiing, like everything in Cortina is a very elegant activity; apres-ski tends to focus on hotel bars or trendy wine bars. The Ancora has a very pleasant conservatory where one can take a well made cup of tea and watch the early evening world go by; or if weather permits, enjoy the sun on the terrace, sipping a Spritzer like the locals.

Dinner is a highlight of the day and reasonably formal (for a ski resort). Few chaps wore ties, but you wont feel out of place wearing a jacket or smart sweater. The food, service and general restaurant experience is worth dressing up for. This is very much 5*.

The wine waiter is an expert and we enjoyed his recommendations; and he gave the impression of enjoying guiding us around the better value end of wine list. Some superb wines for c. €30.

Room Tip: This is an older traditional style hotel with small elegant rooms. The rooms over looking the squar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This historic hotel is a real gem!! I would highly recommend it! The view from our rooms were amazing! Our suite room had 2 full bathrooms, the staff was very helpful as well. The location is perfect located in the midst of shopping & dining.

Room Tip: A would recommend the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Ancor during a biking trip with VBT and was quite pleased. The room was a very nice size and very comfortable with a large window looking out on the mountains. The food was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed at the Ancora for a ski trip this past February. We found the hotel to have a great location and was convenient to the ski bus stops.
The rooms are on the small size, but have an amazing amount of storage - we had no problems storing our ski wear and all the other clothes that we brought. The bathrooms are a good size.
Maid service was execeptional - the room was serviced 2 times a day. I felt like I was on a cruise ship with the room attendant watching in order to slip in as soon as I left.
As noted in another post, the room really does not have adequate light for reading. This was not an issue for us as we were too tired by the end of the day to do anything but watch a little TV and turn in for the evening.
The restaurant food and service was one of the highlights of the stay. We got the half board and had dinner in the dining room for seven nights - great variety of food, beautifully presented. The wait staff was very professional and efficient. My husband and I appreciate an elegant dining experience, so this definitely fit the bill for us.
The ski room could use an upgrade as you store you skis outside of the locked area - they give you padlocks/keys for the skis and a separate key to access the boot storage area - a few too many keys to fumble with in my opinion.
Of note: the translated directions for the room safe are not even close to how it is actually operated, and we needed help finding the English language TV channels. The front desk quickly sent someone up to help us with those issues.
I would not hesitate to stay at the Ancora again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic position right in the middle of Cortina amid the lovely tearooms and chic boutiques. It is one of the oldest hotels in Cortina and so has a lot of character which makes the hotel very unusual and charming. The downside is that you have to be prepared for some of the less convenient aspects of an older hotel. For e.g. the ceiling in the bathroom of our room was very low and so my husband had to duck to get showered. Also some aspects of maintenance are more of an issue than in a newer hotel; our bath leaked quite badly on the first day. The staff very cheerfully got someone in to fix it but this took a couple of days. It did not affect our enjoyment of this lovely hotel at all but I can imagine for some visitors this would have been more of an issue.
As a ski resort, this is the most picturesque place we have ever stayed to ski by a long way. However it is certainly not a ski-in, ski-out resort. In fact, you need to be fairly fit to lug your skis up to the closest lift or to hop on one of the buses to go to another part of the Dolomiti Superski region which is vast and stunningly beautiful. The buses that take you to the wider ski area fall into different areas so sometimes you have to change buses and the timetables are not necessarily optimally organised. It would be an advantage to bring or hire your own car for maximum flexibility.
The food in the restaurant is beautifully presented by excellent waiting staff, and it is of a very high standard, although it might be a little fussy for some tastes.
There is a bar area with a pianist and the tearoom serves tea with chocolates outside if the weather is nice - it is one floor up and a perfect place to watch the world go by.
They charge for use of the internet which is always annoying in an expensive hotel but a minor niggle overall.
All in all a lovely and unique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the church on a high floor. This is where the photos of the resort used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Fantastic location. Very comfortable rooms. The food was excellent and the service from reception to the restaurant was superb. We will be back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#6 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.