We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time in Cortina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Corona Hotel to your Saves list
Corona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Val di Sotto 12, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time in Cortina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The 53 person South Jersey Ski Club group has just returned from a memorable ski week in Cortina, and as the trip leader, I would like to offer my sincerest thanks to Stefano Rimoldi, Paola, and the entire staff of the Hotel Corona for the part they played in making our time in Cortina so wonderful. From the moment of our afternoon arrival in falling snow on 18 January until our crowded and confusing morning departure on 25 January, they did their utmost to insure our comfort, our organization and our enjoyment of their beautiful town and their charming and characteristic hotel.
We had an injured member of our party, and Stefano, Paola and the team worked extra hard to help her adjust to life in a wheelchair and the difficulties of maneuvering about an historic hotel property. An extra GRAZIE to them for all they did for her!
The rooms at the Hotel Corona are all unique with original art, hand painted furniture, wood floors and lovely updated bathrooms. Most of them have a balcony with a view of the incredible Ampezzo Valley. The road noise is minimal, and the roar that most heard at night is simply the sound of the rushing Torrente Boite flowing through town.
The ski bus stops just outside the hotel, and that makes for very convenient trips to all of the major ski areas in the valley. We all enjoyed the comfortable and cozy public rooms of the hotel with their unique collections of original art. There is plenty of room for socializing and playing all kinds of games. The staff even set up a special internet connection in the separate computer room for those who wanted to watch the NFL play-off games on 19 January.
Paola does an amazing job as bartende in the cozy bar area. Thanks for the beers and those great Aperol Spritz, Bombardini and glasses of Prosecco! Paola speaks excellent English, and she enjoyed bar banter with many of our group.
The food at breakfast and dinner was plentiful and the choices more than adequate. The special Ampezzana Dinner was exceptional and a very festive end to our wonderful "Settimana Bianca".
Sandro and company at the front desk were always a pleasure to work with, and the entire Rimoldi family made all of us feel like part of their family. It was super fun being greeted by friendly Maria Chiara when we arrived on the 18th, and we all wish her well with her ski racing career :).
For an authentic mountain experience and a warm and friendly hotel full of charm and character, we recommend the Hotel Corona without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Whilst the accomodation is fairly basic and certainly dated it served our needs well. More than compensating for this however is that from the minute you walk in the door you become part of the family. A wonderful family owned and run hotel with staff that go out of their way to make you feel like you belong. We had the half board option which provided a four course evening meal of very traditional local fare. Always generous servings of home cooked comfort food, with sufficient options to enable you to select something to your taste.
The hotel is a short bus trip or an easy walk to the town centre and cable car for skiing, with the bus stop at the hotel's doorstep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

On a recent vacation we decided to do some exploring outside the Val Gardena. We ventured to Cortina d'Ampezzo and made reservations at the Hotel Corona, the annex. It was not a very good place to stay although the people who run the hotel are very nice.
When dinner is served you have to be there when the doors open or you don't get enough to eat. When the salad is gone, no more is brought out! When vegetables are gone, no more is brought out! It's amazing and not what we are used to when staying in Italy. Needless to say we couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We loved the hotel the oner Stefano and the manager Paola were super frienly and super nice. It was our favorite place we stayed in Italy. We hope to go back there for ski season. We would recommend this to any one who is looking for an afordable nice place to stay.

We even saw the manager at a store and she bought us both a drink.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I had a very enjoyable stay the room was comfortable
and very clean
Hotel staff were helpful and kind in all things
bus stop right out side to go to any of the ski areas i wanted
only 5 minute walk to center of town
and i can not speak highly enough of the service and the dinning
every nite was gormet dinning excelent service
I highly reccomend the Corona to any and all who visit Cortina
Clinton Gibbs

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

It was great to play cards after our dinner and cocktails. Our kids played in the game room and used the electronic games. I don't recall the last time the whole family slept until 9:45! Good advice was given on how to spend our time sledding, hiking and dining out. Good home cooked food nurtured us the whole vacation through. The friendly and efficient staff catered to our whole family. It is Unbelievable that family run businesses still exist in this crazy frenetic world. Thank you. We will certainly be coming back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We were very pleased with the Corona Hotel. Although it is not in the center of town, it is a very short walk to town and the ski bus stops directly out front. The owner and all the staff are superb and offer excellent, friendly service. The food is very good and we were very pleased with our stay. it offers an excellent value and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pontechiesa
Hotel Pontechiesa
#16 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aquila
Hotel Aquila
#10 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#11 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nord Hotel
Nord Hotel
#40 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 52 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Hotel

Address: Via Val di Sotto 12, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, WINTRADE S.R.L., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Corona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Hotel Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.