We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned gem in the middle of it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cortina to your Saves list
Hotel Cortina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 92, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Family owned gem in the middle of it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great hotel located on the main pedestrian walkway through town. We rented a small suite and were greeted with a bottle of prosecco and snacks upon arrival. The room was comfortable and had a great multi-sprayer shower. The internet and breakfast were included in the room. The staff was very friendly and very helpful from the breakfast attendant to the desk staff. The manager went above and beyond to make dinner reservations, provide ski rental discounts, change currency at fair rates, etc. The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar with live music. In addition, they have a separate ski storage room with boot dryers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zermatt, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a nice Hotel for a reasonable price! The service is very good! Ask to stay in the renovated rooms. The other rooms are really old fashioned.
Service is very nice and helpful!
The choice of the breakfast buffet could be pepped up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have been recently here for dinner. The room is nice, quite elegant with typical mountain style. The service is perfect, the maitre is a REAL maitre, attentive, kind and warm. The food was very good, fantastic tomino with speck, amazing tempura fish and veggies, great cooked apple with brandy and cognac! We will back for sure, they have a very good aperitivo too! Try olive ascolane, delicious !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent lunch overall!
Outside terrace great for people watching.
Initially we felt distinctly underdressed in shorts and T's (was 32C!!) with waiters in immaculate cream jackets and black ties and trousers.
With water supplied for the dog we ventured thru a typical Dolomiti menu.
Food excellent, as was wine. Friendly service, could have been more attentive (a problem we've noted throughout Italy where the national sport seems to be catching the eye of the waiter!) We did order additional glasses of wine which never arrived, apologies were profuse and our first glasses were on the house and waiter insisted we finish off with free grappa -not necessary but appreciated!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked a suite and we got two normal rooms connected. We thought ok we are in the center so spaces are always reduced anyway. The car parking outside a 3min walk from hotel on the street was not my idea of comfort. While they did help bring all our luggage and skiis, we found it uncomfortable to have the car snowed daily and having to do steps and a walk with all the equipment. i rather leave that energy for skiing. Ah! for being at a skii area it was ridiculous to have to bring our boots into the room because it had no boot drying rack. Once inside the room I went to look for slippers, not! Ok I can handle that but the smoke scent really was unacceptable. Every night it got worse. In the hallway nothing yet the rooms were impossible to breathe in by the third night. They could not figure out where the smoke was coming from. Clearly an issue of the vents. It was so much that we refused to sleep in them our last night of the stay. They did provide a more ample room with a rest area where they set up my daughters bed. There were positive things like the restaurant the food was excellent! Also we were right in front of the church square, a few steps from a good Cafe and the street where everyone strols for shopping. I really enjoyed that.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Iwill turn back. ..exactly in central of Cortina, amazing, very clean, welcoming and comfortable! Nice stuff, amazing rooms, prepared and very gently, excellent kitchen ..I have the pleasure to try one of the best cocktails in Italy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast , Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you visit Cortina and require a central location,5 star service and fabulous food then look no further than the Hotel Cortina. Owned and run by the Apollonia sisters, their attention to detail is flawless. 'Old school' standards of service prevail here. Nothing was too much trouble.
The highlight in the evenings for us was the flamboyant dining service from the tuxedo clad waiters. Their professional service was matched by the delicious traditional Italian food.
My wife and I had added this skiing holiday onto a business trip in Northern Italy.
The Hotel arranged a private transfer from Venice airport, which had us at the door of the hotel in under 90 minutes.
Superbly positioned in the centre of town on the Corsa Italia.....a pedestrianised street were you can observe the 'fur coat brigade' at close quarters. Cortina is the chic 'grand dame' of old classic ski resorts in the stunning Dolomites.
A stay at the Hotel Cortina and skiing in the Dolomites was a refreshing change to the purpose built ski stations of the French Alps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Address: Corso Italia 92, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, with the recent addition of a restaurant, is distinguished by attention to details and the high-tech services made available to our guests, in an ambiance of rare elegance, overlooking Corso Italia, the prestigious pedestrian zone of Cortina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cortina Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.