We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with a Rare sence of comfort, issues with ventilation, yet excellent for its restaurant and location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cortina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 92, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place with a Rare sence of comfort, issues with ventilation, yet excellent for its restaurant and location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked a suite and we got two normal rooms connected. We thought ok we are in the center so spaces are always reduced anyway. The car parking outside a 3min walk from hotel on the street was not my idea of comfort. While they did help bring all our luggage and skiis, we found it uncomfortable to have the car snowed daily and having to do steps and a walk with all the equipment. i rather leave that energy for skiing. Ah! for being at a skii area it was ridiculous to have to bring our boots into the room because it had no boot drying rack. Once inside the room I went to look for slippers, not! Ok I can handle that but the smoke scent really was unacceptable. Every night it got worse. In the hallway nothing yet the rooms were impossible to breathe in by the third night. They could not figure out where the smoke was coming from. Clearly an issue of the vents. It was so much that we refused to sleep in them our last night of the stay. They did provide a more ample room with a rest area where they set up my daughters bed. There were positive things like the restaurant the food was excellent! Also we were right in front of the church square, a few steps from a good Cafe and the street where everyone strols for shopping. I really enjoyed that.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Iwill turn back. ..exactly in central of Cortina, amazing, very clean, welcoming and comfortable! Nice stuff, amazing rooms, prepared and very gently, excellent kitchen ..I have the pleasure to try one of the best cocktails in Italy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast , Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you visit Cortina and require a central location,5 star service and fabulous food then look no further than the Hotel Cortina. Owned and run by the Apollonia sisters, their attention to detail is flawless. 'Old school' standards of service prevail here. Nothing was too much trouble.
The highlight in the evenings for us was the flamboyant dining service from the tuxedo clad waiters. Their professional service was matched by the delicious traditional Italian food.
My wife and I had added this skiing holiday onto a business trip in Northern Italy.
The Hotel arranged a private transfer from Venice airport, which had us at the door of the hotel in under 90 minutes.
Superbly positioned in the centre of town on the Corsa Italia.....a pedestrianised street were you can observe the 'fur coat brigade' at close quarters. Cortina is the chic 'grand dame' of old classic ski resorts in the stunning Dolomites.
A stay at the Hotel Cortina and skiing in the Dolomites was a refreshing change to the purpose built ski stations of the French Alps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

A truly wonderful hotel centrally located with terrific staff, excellent food, impeccable Tyrolean decor. I cannot recommend this Hotel enough. Both my daughter and I celebrated our birthdays there and each occasion was marked with a special cake. You will love your stay there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is totally central in the town, with bars, eating establishments, cafe's, ice cream parlours & shops along the main street. The service is top notch in this family run hotel. The food is fantastic and the portions are more than enough. They have an excellent pastry chef. The staff are friendly and helpful. They have a large selection of Beers and wines. The place is very clean and well organised.
The only thing that would put me off is the bells of the church across the street start quite early and are a little noisey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 perfect nights in the lovely Hotel Cortina.  The hotel is located in the heart of the historic center directly across the street from Cortina's iconic church and bell tower.  

The hotel has recently undergone extensive renovations resulting in a perfect mix of old world charm and modern comfort.  Our room, a suite on floor 1, was spacious and bright with very lovely and comfortable furnishings and wifi! The bathrooms were modern and beautifully tiled.  We also had a large balcony with views of the mountains.  Housekeeping is impeccable including fresh bed linens every night.

The new bar, located on the main floor, is sunny and inviting with several semi-circular banquets perfect for gathering with friends.  The bar is well stocked and the bartenders are friendly and well trained.   The dining room is both elegant and comfortable and the food is exquisite.  Each night we were offered several choices of appetizers, first, and second courses in addition to the nightly salad bar, cheese board and heavenly dessert selections.  The food was top quality, innovative and beautifully presented and most of all everything was delicious!  The wait staff is professional and attentive.  On the  first morning  I had some difficulty making a choice of pastry from the breakfast buffet (everything looked sooo good).  I finally settled on a walnut jam filled puff pastry with smiling approval from our waiter.  Each morning thereafter a plate of the pastry was waiting for me at our breakfast table! 

My husband and I loved every moment of our time at the Hotel Cortina.  The entire staff, beginning with our greeting at the front desk; the Conceriege; the Maitre'd; the waiters and bartenders; and most of all the lovely sisters, whose family has owned the hotel for generations, all made us feel like family and we look forward to returning many times.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Address: Corso Italia 92, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cortina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, with the recent addition of a restaurant, is distinguished by attention to details and the high-tech services made available to our guests, in an ambiance of rare elegance, overlooking Corso Italia, the prestigious pedestrian zone of Cortina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cortina Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cortina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.