We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family retreat in the clouds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Natale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Natale to your Saves list
Hotel Natale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family retreat in the clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We flew into Venice and rented a car heading directly to the mountains. (about a 3 hour drive depending on how much you stop to eat/take photos) We had been following the Hotel on facebook and it was wonderful to see it in person after months of photos. Like all the previous reviews have mentioned - Stefano and Harley were wonderful faces to see as we came and went from the hotel. Breakfast was the perfect kick off to our days of hiking. We did have one rainy day, and Stefano had great suggestions for a drive to other villages. We were traveling with our 12 year old and he loved the hotel as well as walking around in town. Just up the hill is a little market to get some wine and cheese and enjoy the views from your balcony. Yes, the street noise can be distracting....but once you close your double doors at night, it's never a problem. We loved the Hotel Natale, the beautiful drives in the area and surrounding villages. We'll be back to spend more time and take in more hikes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Family retreat in the clouds" review following your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that your son and you enjoyed so much of your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and the service from our staff.

Also, thank you very much for following our Fan Page on Facebook.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

Kindest regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    53
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
102
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very comfortable and well appointed.
Excellent advice given from Stefano on the area including walks and climbs.
Well situated to take advantage of the spectacular Dolomite scenery.
And the weather was magnificent too...........

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room with a large terrace area and a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Thumbs up for the Natale" review with everyone on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see you enjoyed your break at our property and that you appreciated the front office knowledge of the area as well as your room with terrace overlooking the Dolomites.

We all look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon and we thank you once again for staying with us.

Sent with best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had the most wonderful three weeks at Hotel Natale in Cortina last winter. It is so close to the centre of town, the shuttle to Tofana and Faloria stops right outside the door. Stephano and his family made us feel thoroughly welcome and at home. The room was comfortable, traditional, but not at all stuffy with a very decent sized bathroom and our own entry area for hanging coats and leaving shoes. The balcony and french doors opened with a view to the mountains and the service at breakfast every day and of the rooms was faultless. Hotel Natale is a little gem for those wanting to stay in a boutique sized hotel, with a sophisticated, but intimate feel. And try out the hotel spa, sauna and steam room decorated stylishly with sparkling Bissaza tiles.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to read your positive review from your stay with us at Hotel Natale last winter. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and the level of service we have provided during your stay.

Furthermore, we are happy that we have achieved your expectations and we thank you for your kind words. It will be an honor for us to welcome you back to our property and we definitely look forward to that day.

Sent with best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel on trip advisor and did not pay too much attention to the negative reports. The hotel is in a lovely spot and we had a balcony with a view of the mountain. The traffic noise was not to intrusive with the hotel being right on the road. The plumbing was an issue though as every time another guest went to the loo the water flushing down the pipes woke you up. We had very rude Americans staying in the next room who had to wash and dry their hair at midnight, but that is not the fault of the hotel. The young man on reception was lovely and very helpful and we would stay again. It also helped that he was a fellow landrover owner.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Hotel Natale.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your break in Cortina and rated our service so highly.
We apologize if you found your neighbors rather noisy and if the plumbing bothered you. Please rest assured we will make improvements where possible.

We thank you once again for sharing your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

With our best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Like everyone else, I must compliment Stefano (and his sidekick, Harley the best looking bulldog I've ever met), for making this an easy and great experience. It's within a very easy walk from the bus station and to the center of this unassuming and charming town. Stefano has great tips for the area, the room was clean, the bathroom large, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast ample. The hotel is on a major road, but traffic noise cuts to almost nothing at night. The balcony is, however, just a bit noisy on that side of the hotel during the day--but why be in your hotel room during a day in the Dolomites?? Double check the dates of your travel for what might be open or closed--some restaurants and cable cars were closed in the area's unique shoulder season between winter and summer. Check out La Tavernetta restaurant, which offers a discount for guests of the Hotel Natale. Visit La Porte and El Bronsin for exceptional pizza, and Enrico at Guide Dolimiti for a mind-blowing via ferrata.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review. We all feel very proud that you have taken the time to share your positive experience of your recent stay with us.

We're glad to read all these pleasing compliments of the services at our property from housekeeping, the buffet breakfast, the deals at restaurants offering coupons for a 10% off and our front desk with their knowledge of the hiking trails. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with everyone.

We do hope that your travels will bring you back to Hotel Natale in the future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm Regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My brother and I stayed one week at Hotel Natale in mid-June 2014.
The hotel is very nice, a beautiful Tyrolean style building.
The breakfast was good and varied enough to give us "fuel" for the, rather long (in our view) hikes we did.
Our room was spacious and clean, and we even had two balconies, with fantastic views to the mountains.
We felt at home (wish I had a house like that !), also thanks to the kindness from Stefano, the hotel manager, who gave us many suggestions for one day hiking trips, and was completely up to date on which hiking trails were enough free from snow at this rather early time of the hiking season.
Stefano also suggested some restaurants, out of which we fell for the nearby "La Tavernetta", where we had dinner five times, despite many other restaurants (and hotels) starting opening for the season during our stay.
The atmosphere in "La Tavernetta" was friendly and relaxed and the people there gave us an excellent and very personal service on top of the characteristic, very delicious and yet fair-priced dishes.
For our next stay in Cortina we would choose Hotel Natale (and La Tavernetta) again :-)

Room Tip: Our room was in the category "Superior Double Room w. Balcony and Mountain View", yet at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Wonderful stay at Hotel Natale in Cortina" review following your stay with us last week.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Thank you for your kind comments regarding many different aspects of our property and for trying the tasty local dishes at La Tavernetta, one of the restaurants where our Guests can enjoy 10% off.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

With kind regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Cortina. The hotel was exactly what we wanted-beautiful building, clean & comfortable room with a great view. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from restaurants and bars, with easy access to a biking trail. What made the stay outstanding for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of Stefano (front office)-he was probably the most helpful person in any hotel we've stayed in, providing great local knowledge of hikes and bike trails, which really made the difference to our time in Cortina. We'll definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Hotel Natale.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your break in Cortina and rated our service so highly.

We thank you once again for sharing your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Natale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Natale

Address: Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Natale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Natale invites you to look high and far for discovering the beauty of Cortina d'Ampezzo. The hotel fits the stunning Dolomites background, an amazing environment. This liaison gives the unique, warm hospitality with the single touch of friendliness and discretion which has always portrayed Hotel Natale as a comfortable and welcoming place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Natale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Natale Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Natale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.