We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Natale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Natale to your Saves list
Hotel Natale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel on trip advisor and did not pay too much attention to the negative reports. The hotel is in a lovely spot and we had a balcony with a view of the mountain. The traffic noise was not to intrusive with the hotel being right on the road. The plumbing was an issue though as every time another guest went to the loo the water flushing down the pipes woke you up. We had very rude Americans staying in the next room who had to wash and dry their hair at midnight, but that is not the fault of the hotel. The young man on reception was lovely and very helpful and we would stay again. It also helped that he was a fellow landrover owner.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Hotel Natale.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your break in Cortina and rated our service so highly.
We apologize if you found your neighbors rather noisy and if the plumbing bothered you. Please rest assured we will make improvements where possible.

We thank you once again for sharing your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

With our best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    59
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
30
115
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Like everyone else, I must compliment Stefano (and his sidekick, Harley the best looking bulldog I've ever met), for making this an easy and great experience. It's within a very easy walk from the bus station and to the center of this unassuming and charming town. Stefano has great tips for the area, the room was clean, the bathroom large, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast ample. The hotel is on a major road, but traffic noise cuts to almost nothing at night. The balcony is, however, just a bit noisy on that side of the hotel during the day--but why be in your hotel room during a day in the Dolomites?? Double check the dates of your travel for what might be open or closed--some restaurants and cable cars were closed in the area's unique shoulder season between winter and summer. Check out La Tavernetta restaurant, which offers a discount for guests of the Hotel Natale. Visit La Porte and El Bronsin for exceptional pizza, and Enrico at Guide Dolimiti for a mind-blowing via ferrata.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your kind review. We all feel very proud that you have taken the time to share your positive experience of your recent stay with us.

We're glad to read all these pleasing compliments of the services at our property from housekeeping, the buffet breakfast, the deals at restaurants offering coupons for a 10% off and our front desk with their knowledge of the hiking trails. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with everyone.

We do hope that your travels will bring you back to Hotel Natale in the future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm Regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My brother and I stayed one week at Hotel Natale in mid-June 2014.
The hotel is very nice, a beautiful Tyrolean style building.
The breakfast was good and varied enough to give us "fuel" for the, rather long (in our view) hikes we did.
Our room was spacious and clean, and we even had two balconies, with fantastic views to the mountains.
We felt at home (wish I had a house like that !), also thanks to the kindness from Stefano, the hotel manager, who gave us many suggestions for one day hiking trips, and was completely up to date on which hiking trails were enough free from snow at this rather early time of the hiking season.
Stefano also suggested some restaurants, out of which we fell for the nearby "La Tavernetta", where we had dinner five times, despite many other restaurants (and hotels) starting opening for the season during our stay.
The atmosphere in "La Tavernetta" was friendly and relaxed and the people there gave us an excellent and very personal service on top of the characteristic, very delicious and yet fair-priced dishes.
For our next stay in Cortina we would choose Hotel Natale (and La Tavernetta) again :-)

Room Tip: Our room was in the category "Superior Double Room w. Balcony and Mountain View", yet at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Wonderful stay at Hotel Natale in Cortina" review following your stay with us last week.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Thank you for your kind comments regarding many different aspects of our property and for trying the tasty local dishes at La Tavernetta, one of the restaurants where our Guests can enjoy 10% off.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

With kind regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in Cortina. The hotel was exactly what we wanted-beautiful building, clean & comfortable room with a great view. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from restaurants and bars, with easy access to a biking trail. What made the stay outstanding for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of Stefano (front office)-he was probably the most helpful person in any hotel we've stayed in, providing great local knowledge of hikes and bike trails, which really made the difference to our time in Cortina. We'll definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Hotel Natale.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your break in Cortina and rated our service so highly.

We thank you once again for sharing your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel Natale provided the perfect rest point on our trip through the Dolomites. It is the nicest-looking chalet in the street. It is a small hotel, neat, clean and very well maintained. The choice of foods for breakfast was varied and delicious; the breakfast room is very pleasant. Stefano, the hotel manager, made us feel welcome and was very helpful; he is also a very good knowledge of the roads around the area. He provided options for the most scenic drives to get to our next destination, and we are glad we followed his advice - stunning views.

The hotel is close to good restaurants, and a short walk to the pedestrian-only centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your beautiful picture and your "The prettiest chalet in the street" review with everyone on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see you enjoyed your short break at Natale and that you appreciated our front office knowledge of the area as well as other aspects of your stay, whether it is the overall level of comfort in the whole property or breakfast.

We all look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon and we thank you once again for staying with us at Hotel Natale.

With warm regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stopped in for a couple of days in early June, just prior to when Cortina gets rolling for the summer. Warning, at least half of the town is closed, their summer season seems to be July, August. That said, the hotel was very nice ( say hi to Harley, the bull dog) staff are friendly. Bike rental in town is inexpensive and local trials are beautiful, breath taking scenery is everywhere you look.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for sharing your review following your stay with us here in Cortina.

On behalf of the entire Team we thank you for choosing our property and we all look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon. Please do not hesitate to let us know when we can arrange your details for you.

Sent with our best wishes

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The spontaneous decision to ski in Cortina d'Ampezzo for 3 days was taken due to the proximity of the place to the Venice airport (frankly speaking this was not the best ski area I've ever seen). One of the main reason to book Hotel Natale was its high rating here on Tripadvisor. The hotel was good - this is a rather small establishment, 3 floors with 4-5 rooms on the floors, rooms are with balkonies, private parking lots made it possible to find the parking place every time we needed. Normal breakfast, ski room, sauna - everything that is concerned to be in the ski hotel is in place. The only thing that I did not like was the shower - in order to take the shower you need to step in the tiny bath-tub, close the shower curtain (that consists of the 3 plastic parts) and take the shower using the shortest hose I've ever seen.
There is a ski bus stop across the street, and the ski bus can take you to the two main lifts in Cortina, but what I would recommend is to get to some the upper lifts directly by car (the Cinque Torre slopes are the best).
Stephano - guy at the reception - was extremely helpful in arranging the whole stay in Cortina. If you are staying in Natale and he is at work, don't hesitate to ask any questions, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Hotel Natale.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your break in Cortina and rated our service so highly.
We apologize if you found the bathtub/shower not practical and we will make improvements where possible.

We thank you once again for sharing your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

With our best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Natale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Natale

Address: Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#6 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Natale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Natale invites you to look high and far for discovering the beauty of Cortina d'Ampezzo. The hotel fits the stunning Dolomites background, an amazing environment. This liaison gives the unique, warm hospitality with the single touch of friendliness and discretion which has always portrayed Hotel Natale as a comfortable and welcoming place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Natale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Natale Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Natale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.