We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirm previous reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Natale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Natale to your Saves list
Hotel Natale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Confirm previous reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I only can confirm numerous positive reviews:
Host Stefano is an extra Star to this property.
Location - 2 minutes walk to the main pedestrian area.
Parking size is sufficient: more parking spaces then rooms in hotel.
Spa is nice , cozy. Price ( 14 euro per person) probably scares other customers but make it totally private and intimate for as long as you wish ( 3 PM to 8 PM). Spa has sauna, small steam room, jacuzzi, etc.
We tried 5 of 6 restaurants that has 10% discount for hotel Natale clients. All 5 were great. I have doubt now that you can find bad tasting restaurant in Cortina. Stefano even recommended to us delicious restaurant in Venice: "Hosteria Al Vecio Braggosso". I was not able to find decent restaurant in Venice in the past and gave up after dozen attempts.

Steve

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your taking the time to write this review from your most recent stay with us in Hotel Natale.

Your kind comments about our staff, the location and the services at our property are much appreciated as we always aim to exceed our Guests expectations.

Again, we thank you so much for choosing us and we all look forward to hosting you back on another occasion.

Sent with our best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    55
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
105
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Natale for a week in January 2013 while on a skiing holiday to Cortina. We booked a superior room with a balcony with mountain views. The balcony turned out to be a massive wrap-around terrace on the ground floor. This initially worried us since we thought we might be able to hear people coming and going (the reception was close by) but we needn't have worried at all since it was phenomenally quiet during the night (in fact, I woke up specifically because it was SO quiet :) ).

The room was of a perfectly acceptable size with lots of cupboard space, including some extra space by the door for outdoor gear. Bed was comfy and although we couldn't really make use of the massive terrace due to the snow (except for storing drinks), I imagine it would be lovely in the summertime to sit outside (there were chairs and a table) and enjoy breakfast or a take-out dinner. We also ordered breakfast to our room (extra charge of 5 euros per person) and, combined with a bottle of prosecco we'd purchased earlier, it was a fantastic beginning to the day. The room was ultra-clean, one of the cleanest I've ever stayed at.

The hotel breakfast was very good compared to other ones I've had at other Italian hotels. There was an assortment of the obligatory typical rolls with the hard crust, toast, croissants (very good!), chocolate cake, other cakes and biscuits, speck and ham, a variety of cheeses, boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereals, juices and hot drinks. All in all, a very good start to the day. The lady serving the breakfast was super-friendly and nice and she made a fantastic hot chocolate.

In fact, all the staff were extremely friendly (which was quite a contrast to the rest of the people working for the tourist industry in Cortina) and spoke good English.

The only real issue I had with the hotel was its location. We partly chose the hotel based on previous TA reviews which gave the impression that it's in a convenient location. I'm not entirely sure I agree. Yes, the skibus stop is literally 30 steps from the hotel door. But the skibus only takes you to the two cable cars in Cortina. If you want to go skiing outside Cortina (ie. actually make use of that Dolomiti superski pass) and you don't have a car, you will have to haul yourself over to the bus station. The bus station is a brisk 10 minute walk from the hotel but half of it is uphill, and if you're carrying your ski gear at 7.30 am the road feels much longer and steeper. Alternatively, you can take the ski bus to the bus station but you will first have to travel in a loop around the entire town before finally getting to the station. Also, we had dinner in town in the evenings and although, again, it's only a 5 minute walk to the beginning of the pedestrian main street, it isn't particularly comfortable when it's pouring down with snow and rain and the pedestrian pavement is somewhere under heaps of snow, which means you're dodging cars and getting soaked by them. Our feet were utterly drenched and icecold after these lovely little walks. So, if you don't have a car but do have the cash (since many of these hotels appeared to be in another price category), I might recommend considering a hotel closer to the bus station and the main pedestrian street. Many of these hotels also have a stop for the ski bus outside their door step.

Other points:
- wifi was free but painfully slow and worked intermittently at best. There seemed to be a rush hour around 6 pm-ish when it gave up altogether and refused to co-operate.
- only one tiny flat pillow in the bed per person. I'm sure I could've asked for some more but was too lazy. This is nitpicking, but just to let those know who, like me, need a mountain of pillows.
- the hotel had a very big and very loud dog which, depending on your viewpoint, is either great or not so great. We had our terrace door open one day and we suddenly noticed the dog sniffing around the terrace!
- breakfast didn't start until 8 am which was too late those days we set out to the other areas covered by the Dolomiti superski pass. (The Cortina Express bus leaves the bus station at 8 am)

However, these are all very small and insubstantial niggles. For someone looking for a hotel in this price range, I would most definitely recommend hotel Natale!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a mountain view and a terrace/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review following your stay with us. We truly appreciate the time you've taken to share these details and photos with all the readers of Tripadvisor.

We regret to hear you found the location was unfortunate and we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Thank you for your very kind comments on the aspects of your stay you rated so highly, be it the cleanliness, the room size, the sleep quality, the breakfast and the friendliness that sets us apart since day one. On behalf of our entire team we thank you very much.

Thank you also for your constructive notes which we always appreciate. With regards to the Wi-Fi speed, we are currently looking into this matter and will provide a faster connection shortly.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

Sent with all our very best wishes

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Cortina for a week of skiing and loved our stay at Natale. The host Stefano was brilliant. Young guy who speaks fluent English. He has hiked, biked and skied the area extensively and set us up each day with the right intel to make the most of the area depending on the snow and weather. He also looked after us perfectly in the hotel which had everything we needed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review with everyone on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your ski holiday at Natale and that you appreciated our front office knowledge of the territory.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you back soon for some hiking in the Dolomites. In this regard we remain at your disposal to keep you informed about the paths conditions in June.

With warm regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location, lovely views and two minute walk into town. Stefano could not have been more helpful to English speaking novice skiers. Conveniently located to make it possible to catch a bus to the ski slopes. Shopping was surprisingly good for a family who had lost all their bags and Hotel Natale turned what could have been a disastrous holiday into great fun. Rooms were cosy and warm, beds were comfortable, with a view of the ski slopes at night. Great for a family!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your excellent review following your stay with us here in Cortina.

We are all delighted to read you enjoyed your stay despite the lost luggage.

On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon. Please do not hesitate to let us know when we can arrange your details for you.

Sent with our best wishes

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We drove from the UK to Cortina during January to stay for 6 nights. It was our first time in the region. We arrived at the Hotel Natale on Sunday evening during a massive snowfall. We had never seen so much snow!! Stefano greeted us and made us feel very welcome. The charming Hotel was perfect. Beautiful wooden decor with carvings. Exceptionally clean, warm, beautiful big rooms with big beds and very quiet despite being in a very convenient location minutes from the busy main pedestrian shopping area. Breakfast was excellent, infact, so good, we didnt need lunch. The young lady serving breakfast was very pleasant and efficient. Stephano was very helpful during our stay advising us on snow walks and ski runs. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He also speaks fluent English. We couldnt find anything negative about this hotel and would highly recommend it. We will most certainly return again. Outstanding value for money and more like a 4 star hotel in terms of service and cleanliness than a 3 star.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view, they are very large and our room had a little hall area for lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Excellent" review following your stay with us last week.

We are again delighted to read that another of our Guests enjoyed so much of their time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your room decor, the hotel location and the service from our staff.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

With kind regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

For us it was a perfect Alpine hotel, with an excellent service and location. We had a large comfortable room with a huge terrasse and with the spectacular view of the whole massif of Tofana. Charming décor throughout: furniture, walls, doors and even ceilings made from carved wood; a splendid ceramic Cortina stove in the breakfast room. The breakfast itself was scrumptious and more than we could eat - prosciutto, all kinds of cheese, cereal, fruit, even freshly baked farm bread and pastries. Cappuccino, espresso, café latte and tea were served by a lovely young lady with a beautiful smile. The hotel does not have a restaurant but recommends local ones, where we were treated royally.
The hotel has a very convenient and spacious parking. We stayed at this hotel for five days, using it as our base for seeing the Dolomites and were simply delighted with the hotel location, service and staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your very positive review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us here in Cortina.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed so much of your time with us from the service from our staff, the free parking, the convenient location, the hotel design...and the list goes on all the way through to breakfast.

Please do let us know when we can arrange your next visit here at Hotel Natale.

Sent with all our very best wishes

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We did a rode trip through Europe with our teenage daughter and chose not to make hotel reservations everywhere in case we decided to stop somewhere random to stay. That was the case in Cortina. We got on line the morning of and booked this hotel. It was during slack and not many hotels are even open during this time, but we were lucky. We were so happy with our choice though. The hotel is beautiful and has such character. The wood work inside is stunning. We got a very spacious room that connected with another room for our daughter. We were not lacking in space. The room was beautiful. The breakfast in the morning was great and the staff where very nice and helpful. The location was perfect as well. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Cortina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at Hotel Natale.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your break in Cortina and rated our service so highly.

We thank you once again for sharing your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Natale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Natale

Address: Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Natale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Natale invites you to look high and far for discovering the beauty of Cortina d'Ampezzo. The hotel fits the stunning Dolomites background, an amazing environment. This liaison gives the unique, warm hospitality with the single touch of friendliness and discretion which has always portrayed Hotel Natale as a comfortable and welcoming place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Natale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Natale Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Natale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.