We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Cortina!!!! First quality food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Meloncino al Caminetto

Il Meloncino al Caminetto
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
+39 04364432
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
vicenza
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Cortina!!!! First quality food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I went to this restaurant at least 15 times and everything was always perfect : the food, the service, the panoramic view on Dolomiti mountains. On the terrace you can enjoy sun and they give you a blanket if it is cold.... I love the misticanza salad with Borlotti beans and beacon in balsamic Modena vinegar, but i tried lots of dishes and everything was delicious . It's quite expensive but it was worth for. In peak season it's difficult to get a table so remember to book in advance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food and excellent service. Fantastic outdoor dining at lunchtime with spectacular views of the Dolomites.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good restaurant on the slopes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Went as a party of 6. We were well looked after and the food was good. Having eaten in French ski resorts this restaurant represents far better value with really good food. The choice of wines was great and we drank very well for a modest price. The overall atmosphere and experience was very good. I even wanted to go back the following day for more.

It is somewhere I would happily eat again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Culinary Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Every aspect of this restaurant is outstanding. The location at the foot of the ski hill, the décor can only be described as rustic chic, the service is very welcoming and knowledgeable but, most importantly, the food. The food is amazing. The menu is quite extensive and still each dish was prepared and presented flawlessly. Luckily, our visit coincided truffle season. A simple fried egg topped with white truffles, meticulously grilled poussin, chestnut ravioli and desserts that make one swoon. This will be our first dinner on our next visit. And quite possibly, every dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply perfect ! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I can't find the right words to describe this restaurant , food is exceptional , the owner is very classy and very caring ! He's very nice ! The spaghetti with onions is a must ! The whole place is a must ! The quality , place and service justify the price !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Meloncino al Caminetto also viewed

Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 

Been to Il Meloncino al Caminetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Meloncino al Caminetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.