We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rifugio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rifugio Lagazuoi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rifugio Lagazuoi to your Saves list
Rifugio Lagazuoi
Monte Lagazuoi, 2752, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Rifugio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Rif. Lagazuoi (last 2 nights end of Sept13 before the Rif. closed). I would like to have stayed at least another 2 nights and hope to go back early Sept 2014 or 2015! The staff and hosts were great, my private room was very clean and comfortable, and the food/drink was great. The views and walks are what I went there for and I wasn't disappointed. The only VERY small problem was the cost of using the shared bathroom, and the variability of hot water timing/supply. However, this little negative was outweighed by all the other positives - a well run, hospitable and clean Rifugio.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    54
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The accommodations were everything and more than we expected. The rifugio is privately owned, built by Guido's father and now managed and maintained with love by Guido. Food was excellent and staff was very courteous. The location and scenery is spectacular. I would not hesitate to return and recommend this to anyone who wants to really experience the Dolomites.

Room Tip: If you want more economical, you can choose the bunk house style accommodations, otherwise for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yahud
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellent food at the top of the world. Nice rooms for a refuge and a perfect place to stay.
I stayed there the second time in 5 years during my Alta Via 1 trips and hiked up from both directions. I recommend hiking up through the Gallery.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our family was on vacation and stayed here one night in early June 2013. We were inspired by the breathtaking views starting with the ride on the cable car up the mountain and once at the top we could see snow covered mountains in all directions for miles. The staff were great and welcoming they allowed us to visit a few days before they formally opened for the season.
We enjoyed the food and drinks and sharing stories.
I would recommend a visit here.
Kevin V.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Rifugio Lagazuoi in August with my two kids (10 & 12) and husband. The dormitory was basic but comfortable, the food was fantastic and the staff warm and helpful. We absolutely loved our stay! We spent a day walking down through the tunnels and hiking back up to the Rifugio, and it was everything we hoped it would be. The views from the deck are out of this world! We saw an amazing lightening storm one night and clear star filled sky the next. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spectacular views! Stayed here aug of last yr as part of a 2 wk hiking and sightseeing trip. I previously booked 2 nights but i cancelled one night due to being jet lagged and stayed an extra night in venice instead. One of my biggest mistake ! I had to tear myself away from the views and i wanted to shot myself. We stayed in a private room with shared bath - very nice and quite comfortable. I usually im weird about shared baths but i didnt mind it here. Bathrooms were clean. The food was also great. The best thing about the place though was the view. I will return! Specially since my bf and I left our favorite Keen slippers there. I mean to get it back :))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed in this Rifigio as part of a hiking trip on the AV1. Long hard slog up to it from the snow fields below but we were well rewarded with stunning views and the most unbelievable sunset. Good food, basic dormitory and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rifugio Lagazuoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Lagazuoi

Address: Monte Lagazuoi, 2752, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rifugio Lagazuoi is one of the most elevated mountain inns in the Dolomites. Its spacious deck is so famous for the breathtaking views on the Dolomite peaks , UNESCO World Heritage.It is nestled on the summit of Mount Lagazuoi above Passo Falzarego, half way between Cortina d'Ampezzo and Val Badia, between the Natural Park of Fanes and Sennes and the one of the Ampezzo Dolomites. It can be easily reached hiking or by the Lagazuoi cable car.It's an excellent starting point to visit the restored galleries, trenches and emplacements of the 1st World War Open Museum and to ski along the famous Armentarola, the longest and most spectacular slope of the Dolomites, and on all the slopes of the Cortina and Val Badia ski areas.It offers accommodation, bar and restaurant service with local specialities like polenta with roe deer or the typical strudel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with WINTRADE S.R.L. so you can book your Rifugio Lagazuoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rifugio Lagazuoi Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rifugio Lagazuoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.