We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 51 hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Speightstown, Barbados
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for 5 days for a Family Wedding. The Hotel is lovely excellent service , very clean every where including the rooms,lighting in the Bar could be softer and the ambience for Dinner was lacking.Breakfast was excellent. The Beds were apparently new and were a little hard for us so we asked for a Topper which they immediately supplied There are however many good restaurants in Cortina. We did not ski on this trip. We used the Cable Car as the reception was in a Mountain Restaurant the food was very good but the Cable Car was old! Spa facilities were fairly good. Cannot comment on the views from the Hotel as the weather was not good. Overall a very good Hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotelsavoia, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Legaleagle2014, thank you very much for your comments and very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in Cortina and in our Hotel. Hoping to seeing you soon but next time with nice and sunny weather !

Rosanna Conti
HM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
58
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I only got a massage at this hotel - but OMG it was amazing. The staff was very helpful and asked me if I had a preference of male/female (I don't care). Either way enjoy the experience and BTW I had the male masseuse.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotelsavoia, Direttore at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Mrs Denise, thank you very much for your comments. I will be very pleased to extend them to the SPA Management.

Rosanna Conti
HManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed one week so hubbie could ski, returning to a resort we last visited 20 years ago. If you come soley for the skiing, you'll be somewhat disappointed, as the resort really needs to upgrade facilities and get the ski bus system going. But if you come for the charm, a true Italian experience-- ah, then you'll be delighted! Check in was easy, fairly efficient. Loved that the hotel staff was so Italian, as were most of the guests. Food was excellent, although pricey. But the biggest surprise was how clean the hotel rooms were! It was just about up to German standards! Pool was quite nice; exercise room is not up to those who expect it to be just like home-- then why not stay home? Overall it was a pleasant experience with a considerate staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We visited the hotel as a family with 2 adolescent children in July 2013 and got an excellent deal. The welcome and stay was very pleasant. The facilities in the hotel were all very good, but during the Summer, the hotel was very quiet. Breakfast was good, but we wanted to see some more life during dinner and went into town. Pool, bar, parking, breakfast - all top notch.

I would happily go back - especially in Winter when I expect some more "life"

Room Tip: Rooms facing West are perhaps more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant and especially wait staff absolutely brilliant. Front desk and concierge below par for the price. Ski room very average, boot rack not heated. Well positioned for the bus service to ski areas however staff either not willing or able to explain these services, try to sell hotel's taxi service instead. Overall not worth the price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hotel rooms are moder, clean and comfortable. Ski hire is in the hotel, and the ski buses stop right outside the front door. Staff is very helpful, the concierge desk is really great. Spa facilities are ok, pool is good, more a plunge pool size wise.
The only challenge is attracting the attention of the bar staff - mysteriously blind!
Wifi works fine everywhere. Will be happy to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

First time at the hotel. Decided to stay due to location and feed back. Must say some aspects of the hotel was disappointing . Walls are very thin you can hear everything from next room. Hardly and cupboard space as it is open shelving which is not ideal. Housekeeping inconsistent I.e when one housekeeper is off other has a different standard. Concierge is not the most knowledgable has given incorrect info with regards to opening closing off shop timings and given inaccurate information regarding restaurants. However the breakfast, bar and front office staff is good. Please note this hotel accepts dogs!! Make sure you are not anything near their room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#17 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel Faloria
Park Hotel Faloria
#16 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Franceschi Park Hotel
Franceschi Park Hotel
#5 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Cha...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#13 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Roma, 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Savoia Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.