We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and sour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Sydney
1 review
“Sweet and sour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant and especially wait staff absolutely brilliant. Front desk and concierge below par for the price. Ski room very average, boot rack not heated. Well positioned for the bus service to ski areas however staff either not willing or able to explain these services, try to sell hotel's taxi service instead. Overall not worth the price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    49
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
48
59
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hotel rooms are moder, clean and comfortable. Ski hire is in the hotel, and the ski buses stop right outside the front door. Staff is very helpful, the concierge desk is really great. Spa facilities are ok, pool is good, more a plunge pool size wise.
The only challenge is attracting the attention of the bar staff - mysteriously blind!
Wifi works fine everywhere. Will be happy to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

First time at the hotel. Decided to stay due to location and feed back. Must say some aspects of the hotel was disappointing . Walls are very thin you can hear everything from next room. Hardly and cupboard space as it is open shelving which is not ideal. Housekeeping inconsistent I.e when one housekeeper is off other has a different standard. Concierge is not the most knowledgable has given incorrect info with regards to opening closing off shop timings and given inaccurate information regarding restaurants. However the breakfast, bar and front office staff is good. Please note this hotel accepts dogs!! Make sure you are not anything near their room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Some aspects are very good, but some other clearly poor. The location is bad if you come to ski: it's far away from every ski lift. This is something that could have been easily taken care of, had the hotel implemented a system of buses or shuttles, but instead they have taxis, massively overpriced (between 12 and 50 euros for a one way trip depending on which slopes you want to hit). When I told them so, they replied that there had too many guests and that they would need at least 3 vans...Many guests means more revenue to me, hence a greater ability to organize a fleet of vans...Anyway. Then the concierge desk was very poor at explaining alternate way to reach the slopes via the misc. bus services which actually are more than decent. After many discussions where I was doing most of the job, they managed to print me an outdated schedule! This is unacceptable as it is clearly the core of their job. Most of the client-facing employees have very limited knowledge of any other language than Italian, and this is really hurting the quality of the service. Many of the waiters at the restaurant were very nice and helpful though. The staff at the internal ski shop is very nice too. We were half board and the diner is composed of four dishes plus a buffet which is far far too much. The food is very irregular with some excellent dishes and some simply poor. The breakfast is just all right, but again not what you expect from a 5 star. There are egg shells in the scrambled eggs (no reaction when I mentioned it) and you need to pay 9 euros extra just for mushrooms... The spa is beautiful and the swimming pool large but they are crowded with screaming kids until 6:30pm. One evening the bubbling bath was cold (we were alone, so maybe they turn the heating off when the spa gets emptier?), and when we mentioned it, the answer we got was : "Thanks for the feedback". Only after 10 minutes of discussion, someone went to check, but by then we were chilling, and not willing to wait another 10 minutes, so we left. When you pay for a 5 stars, you look for the very highest standards of quality, with excellence in every detail, and we didn't get that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel may have deserved a 5-star rating at some time in the past, but it doesn't come close to meriting such a rating today. I understand the hotel has been renovated within the past several years so there is no excuse for fundamental deficiencies. The walls are paper-thin and one can hear snoring from the adjacent room. The bathrooms don't have exhaust fans (one can open the window, but it then makes the bathroom chilly in winter months). Most importantly, the hotel's wifi service operates in a most bizarre and random fashion; not only does it kick you off the system within several minutes of signing on, but it forces you to re-enter a hotel-generated password and user-name every time you wish to re-join the system. It is truly a useless service that alone should cause one to question the hotel's apparent 5-star status.
We had breakfast at the hotel every morning. By European 2 and 3-star standards, the breakfast was marginal. The usual cold cuts were constantly in short supply. The toaster required three cracks at a piece of bread to convert it to toast. The juice was, with the exception of a small jug of OJ that was surreptitiously placed beside larger juice containers, made from concentrate. I have stayed at 3-star hotels in Switzerland, France, Amsterdam and Hamburg that would put this breakfast effort to shame.
The staff were pleasant and helpful, although not inclined to make any extra effort. As an example, we asked the concierge to make a lunch reservation at a restaurant on the ski slopes. We arrived at the appointed hour and were told the restaurant didn't accept reservations AND that the restaurant had explicitly explained that to the concierge when he called the previous day. One would think that a committed concierge would inform his guests that reservations weren't possible; instead, silence.
Cortina is obviously stunningly beautiful, and the hotel is well-situated. But anybody expecting a 5-star experience would be wise to temper his or her expectations. The hotel is riding on past glories and the WiFi frustrations will preclude a return for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My family's February 2014 stay was our third ski holiday at the Savoia. We think this is an excellent hotel on every level. This is a beautiful, historical, character building which was totally modernised in 2009. The service culture is first class - all staff law at helpful, respectful and competent. The rooms are lovely - we book the corner Superior + Comfort rooms which can be connected to produce a two room suite. The spa is a great amenity. The whole place is spotless.

The hotel is maybe 100 metres from the main shopping street called Corsa Italia.
The ski bus stops right outside with the nearest cable car - Faloria - three mins by bus, or a 10 minute walk. We also always use the hotel's own ski shop franchise which is competitively priced, uncongested and convenient.

The breakfast is very good with bacon and eggs cooked to order. We took the half board option for the first time this year - the evening menu is simple - maybe four or five dishes - but is freshly cooked. There is a good pizza restaurant right next to the hotel, but we find the best eat-out option to be Restaurante 5 Torri - just off the main drag.

When I travel with my family I don't mind five star prices - as long as I get a five star service. In this respect Savoia is both good value for money - and deservedly earns its five stars.

Room Tip: The corner Superior + Comfort rooms can be connected to produce a two room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Staff : very helpfull / friendly
Rooms : clean, but noisy
breakfast : perfect
swimming pool : very small for a big hotel
food :we were there for a business event and each night it was the same boring buffett where everthing was runned out if you went a second time and there was nearly no desert

Room Tip: we had a nomal room, but you hear everything in the corridors. Children laughing and running at 7 am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Roma, 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Savoia Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.