We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For sure a winter destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Savoia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“For sure a winter destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Rooms nice,
Food excellent, great breakfast,
Concierge very help full.
Absolutely the worst WIFi of any 5 star hotel!!!
Poor coverage with a separate network in the ballroom and general area.
Front desk staff almost rude when ask what's wrong with their WIFI.
Owner must be out of touch with what frequent travelers expect today.
GM nice but handcuffed, they spend a lot of money on their property, but miss the fine details.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
45
55
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wesmtount
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three days early July 2012, just before the Summer season. We had a beautiful suite with rooftop terrace. Did not feel as being an hotel.
We have travelled numerous times before to European ski resorts and have learned to stay away from main streets to avoid late night noises.
This hotel is located 500 m from the main street within enclosed grounds. Quiet and very good services.
Highly recommending.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the West should be the most peaceful and one can see sun down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We travelled here for a long ski weekend. The hotel has a large lobby bar with a piano playing a good atmosphere. Great location in the centre of Cortina. The hotel has outdoor free parking as well as a garage. The wellness is excellent with a large relaxation area , pool, jacuzzi, saunas. The fitness centre is disappointing. The weights machine was faulty and not usable. Other that there is was only one treadmill and one bicycle which was really not adequate. The restaurant closes too early - 10pm and we were rushed to finish and leave at closing. It is also a bit depressing in the restaurant, I'd recommend eating out and not to take half board if its available.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Cortina. It is pricy but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for three days in November of 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had a street side room and found the view to be very nice. The room was quiet, very spacious, clean and comfortable. It had two king beds, mini-bar and two big windows to enjoy the view. They even provided bath robes and slippers. The cold/hot breakfast which came with the room was just outstanding. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Our compliments to the hotel staff and management!!
Ed @ Andra Higgins

Room Tip: Recommend street side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

One of the best hotel I've ever seen. Extremely clean, big rooms with perfect service. Nice view on Dolomiti and ski's tracks

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you want to enjoy the best of Cortina, you definitely have to stay in this hotel. Its convenient location and the excellent structure makes you feel pampered at any time. The staff is very friendly, rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped. They also have a Spa and a swimming pool. Only thing is the treatments are a bit expensive. A plus for the food: from breakfast to dinner, everything is great. And if you have enough money...go for the Barbie Suite!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is well located and rooms are reasonable. Breakfast is good with a wide selection of hot and cold food. Service, however, is variable and occasionally poor. Laundry service was very efficient. A new free airport shuttle has been introduced but then does not operate at weekends! Plan B. There is an airport bus at the Principe station opposite the hotel. I enquired about the schedule and given wrong times. I'm glad I turned up early as I would have missed the bus othewise. Surely it cannot be difficult for the reception staff to have accurate schedule details on hand when asked? Finally, this hotel is linked to the Continental Hotel next door. You may find a cheaper rate there for a very similar experience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Savoia Italy
Address: Via Roma, 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#17 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.