We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling Weekend Top Pick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo

Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo to your Saves list
Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo
Via Roma 87, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
zurich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cycling Weekend Top Pick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent 2 nights here as part of a cycling weekend - great value at 50 euro per room per night - out of season. Good quite central location, quiet, big rooms with table and chairs and balcony, free wifi that actually works and plenty of storage space, friendly and cheery reception staff, good parking, slightly "tired" breakfast buffet but excellent coffee!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
18
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed before a Dolomites trek. Would have stayed post-trek as well, but no room available. Wonderful hotel. LARGE rooms, lovely wood panelling, with frig. My room had a huge bed. About 15 minutes from bus station, but easily walkable. It's closer than the car road would make it seem. Superb breakfast buffet and choice of coffees. The b'fast room has, as well, comfortable couches/sitting areas. A nice added touch. Staff is extremely welcoming and friendly. Set back from the main road, but you can hear the road, esp in the rooms with the nicer view of mts. The other rooms have an intervening building, which makes them quieter.
Would stay again in a minute. One of my favorites. One of least expensive hotels in Cortina but doesn't feel "budget" at all!

Room Tip: If you want a great view, ask for room with unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very spacious rooms that are great for families. Convenient to the main town area, yet not right in the center of town -- just a short 3 minute walk. Breakfast is plentiful with great coffee service. The staff are extraordinarily friendly and will go to lengths to satisfy you. Beware of the rooster at the crack of dawn in the back of the hotel yet remember, you are in the country! Would definitely recommend for families and short or long stays in Cortina.

Room Tip: The neighbors in the back of the hotel have a rooster that is up at the crack of dawn, so if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I would just like to say a big thank you to everybody at this hotel. we booked 2 rooms for 3 nights in July and the hotel was very nice with fantastic views as with most hotels in Cortina .What made this stand out was how friendly the owners and staff were.we also had a meal at night in the hotel restaurant and it was the best meal i had in cortina .
Thanks The lightfoots
we will be back

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here with my parents (in two rooms). We were overwhelmed with hotel choices in Cortina and chose this hotel for its reasonable price, on-site parking, and size - we thought a smaller hotel would be easier to navigate for my parents, who have trouble walking very far. We also needed an elevator, which this hotel has. The woman at the front desk was very welcoming and warm and the man who assisted us with parking and the luggage was also great even though he spoke almost no English and we don't speak Italian. We did a lot of pantomiming as he explained to us that we shouldn't attempt to leave the garage and turn left (onto the one-way street which only goes right). The rooms are funky - that's the only word I can think of to describe them. Our room had twin beds pushed together (as is typical in Europe), a twin bed that folded out of a closet next to the wardrobe, and a loft with twin beds (separated). These rooms are clearly designed to cram a lot of people in. They have lots of storage space (closets, cabinets, etc), a large table with seating for four or six, a small table that folds up from the wall and has two bench chairs, and a tiny sink and fridge. The bed wasn't the most comfortable nor was the bedding, but obviously they are going for functionality, not luxury, here. The bathroom room is functional but the shower stall is tiny. The room is heavy on the wood decor and smelled heavily of damp wood or varnish or something. If you're looking for a place to sleep after skiing all day and a place where there's room to eat, play cards, whatever, this is your room. If you're looking for elegance you want might to try something else. For the price we paid (it was a great deal) I can't complain. Breakfast was typical - nothing great but not bad.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel end of June. The hotel is purporting to be 4 star but I wonder who gives these ratings as it certainly would not carry that rating in most western countries.

Having said that, the person on the front desk was friendly, pleasant and efficient. You get what you pay for, and at the rate I was charged, it was exceptional value for Cortina.
The rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast sufficient, if not a bit bland. Parking was handy (underground) and free of charge. Hotel a bit hard to find as it is obscured by buildings in front with little signage to direct you to the driveway. It’s a bit outside the pedestrian zone but walkable to there.

The only problem I experienced was that the wifi did not work in my room and after several reconfigurations of my lap-top, I discovered it only worked near the stairwell of my floor!

Overall though a pleasant enough stay and certainly good value during the summer season. An upgrade would make all the difference.

Room Tip: I was assured by Bookings Com that I had a room with mountain views but 1st floor only gives you a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo

Address: Via Roma 87, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristallino D'Ampezzo Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristallino d'Ampezzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.