We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite destinations in the Dolomites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Averau Mountain

Averau Mountain
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Improve this listing
Attraction details
new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorite destinations in the Dolomites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the Averau this summer. On our three previous visits, we had eaten at the restaurant but this was our first overnight stay. It was great fun. The food is terrific. The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom was extremely good. The whole facility was renovated just a few years ago so everything is clean and fresh. Highly recommended. The surrounding area is sublime.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I cannot praise the Rifugio Averau too highly. My wife and I recently spent 7 nights there and it was fantastic. The staff are charming (thank you Max and Sandro), the rifugio is spotlessly clean, and the location is stunning. We were lucky enough to stay in Room 4 which has an ensuite bathroom and a balcony with glorious views. Dinner and breakfast were brilliant, and there is even a great wine list. The staff were so kind to us, we missed the last lift one day (we were travelling by car from another resort and needed to stop to put on the snow chains), and Sandro sent down the skido to collect us.

A couple of practical tips. We had a hire car, which was useful, and probably the only way we would have had enough time to fly from the UK, collect skis and lift passes and get to the 5 Torri chairlift in time to catch the last chair up to Averau. You can park either at the 5 Torri chairlift (take SR48 out of Cortina for about 10 miles, there is a large (free) car park) or from the other side of the mountain taking the Fedare chairlift by taking the SP638 from Cortina to Passo Giau (probably about 15 miles). There is a beautiful circular ski route from Averau, but my only criticism is that the skiing you can reach directly from Averau is slightly limited.

I would highly recommend Rifugio Averau to anyone wishing to skiing in the Dolomites, and to stay is absolute comfort in a stunning location.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“averau riffugio was a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

my ski group and I stayed two nights at the Averau Riffugio - the beds were comfortable, the location fantastic and the meals were a delight

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely hike near the passo Falzarego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I recently hiked around Averau mountain starting from the car park at the Refugio Col Gallina. The views from the trails were magnificent . We followed trail 419 until it merged with 441, which we followed to Rifugio Averau. From here there is a great view of Cinque Torri. For our return, we took trail 440, although there are several alternate routes. This hike took approximately 4 hours with a fair amount of uneven and rocky portions. Overall an excellent hike with great scenic views

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived without a reservation which is, apparently, not a good idea but managed to get a table after a short wait and it was well worth it. This was undoubtedly the best mountain restaurant food that we have eaten in 25 years of skiing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Averau Mountain also viewed

Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 

Been to Averau Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Averau Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.