We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Averau Mountain

Averau Mountain
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I cannot praise the Rifugio Averau too highly. My wife and I recently spent 7 nights there and it was fantastic. The staff are charming (thank you Max and Sandro), the rifugio is spotlessly clean, and the location is stunning. We were lucky enough to stay in Room 4 which has an ensuite bathroom and a balcony with glorious views. Dinner and breakfast were brilliant, and there is even a great wine list. The staff were so kind to us, we missed the last lift one day (we were travelling by car from another resort and needed to stop to put on the snow chains), and Sandro sent down the skido to collect us.

A couple of practical tips. We had a hire car, which was useful, and probably the only way we would have had enough time to fly from the UK, collect skis and lift passes and get to the 5 Torri chairlift in time to catch the last chair up to Averau. You can park either at the 5 Torri chairlift (take SR48 out of Cortina for about 10 miles, there is a large (free) car park) or from the other side of the mountain taking the Fedare chairlift by taking the SP638 from Cortina to Passo Giau (probably about 15 miles). There is a beautiful circular ski route from Averau, but my only criticism is that the skiing you can reach directly from Averau is slightly limited.

I would highly recommend Rifugio Averau to anyone wishing to skiing in the Dolomites, and to stay is absolute comfort in a stunning location.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“averau riffugio was a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

my ski group and I stayed two nights at the Averau Riffugio - the beds were comfortable, the location fantastic and the meals were a delight

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hike near the passo Falzarego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I recently hiked around Averau mountain starting from the car park at the Refugio Col Gallina. The views from the trails were magnificent . We followed trail 419 until it merged with 441, which we followed to Rifugio Averau. From here there is a great view of Cinque Torri. For our return, we took trail 440, although there are several alternate routes. This hike took approximately 4 hours with a fair amount of uneven and rocky portions. Overall an excellent hike with great scenic views

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived without a reservation which is, apparently, not a good idea but managed to get a table after a short wait and it was well worth it. This was undoubtedly the best mountain restaurant food that we have eaten in 25 years of skiing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“My Favourite in Cortina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The pastas are sublime - think pheasant lasagne made on egg crepes or the classic local beet root ravioli with freshly grated parmigiana! A glass of house red and a view to die for - I've found my niche!

I've skied in Cortina 3 times and eaten at Averau 6 times - the quality or welcome have never varied - can't wait to come back.....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Averau Mountain also viewed

Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Province of Belluno
 

Been to Averau Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Averau Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.