We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta dell'Argento Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tenuta dell'Argento Resort to your Saves list
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colline dell'Argento s.n.c., 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maple Ridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Picked us up at the train station and dropped us off for our cruise. What a great place. Quite away from the city, a working ranch with fabulous veiws of the ocean and countryside. We missed the breakfast becouse we were still sleeping from the time change, so the brought us a tray of pastries and other food. the staff goes way above and beyond to make you feel confortable. This is not like a five star hotel in North America though, very rustic, with wood beams and lots of ambiance. Definety reccomend this if you are going on a cruise or just stayingin Civitaveccia,unfortunately we arrived late, slept late and had to leave. We would have loved to stay onger.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    52
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
76
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Knowing we would be 30 days on a ship with the first half port intensive, we wanted a quiet relaxing stay prior to boarding. Tenuta dell'Argento was the perfect choice. A car service brought us from Rome Fuimicino Airport. Staff was very cordial, restaurant is excellent and the room was huge, clean and very comfortable. Great views of the port and surrounding area. The shuttle to the port was very convenient with the ability to choose the time you wish to leave. Upon leaving, we made our reservations for next year,

Room Tip: This is not a place for those that want to be in the center of everything, but the perfect respite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers AR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed a day prior to our sailing out of Civitavecchia. The room was clean and comfortable (keep in mind that European standards are different than US standards). We could hear the adjoining room guests talking, so that was unfortunate but didn't ruin our stay. The staff was very friendly. They provided a nice breakfast and coffee and gave us a ride to the port. We didn't have the opportunity to eat at the restaurant the evening we were there, the jetlag and exhaustion outweighed the prospect of food. It did seem quite expensive though as we did peruse the menu. You either eat there or don't eat because there is nothing close by unless you have your own car.
I would recommend this hotel as it's a great getaway spot for relaxation and the scenery is nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed her two nights before a cruise. Rooms rustic, we had high beams, ours had fantastic view too and spotlessly clean. We had hired a car for the day and the hotel shuttle was so helpful dropping us off at the hire office and when we returned we rang them and they came and picked us up. The shuttle is available whenever one wants. We also used the shuttle to the port and the driver kindly stopped at a post box en route too. The restaurant was superb, the meat melted in your mouth and the price was reasonable given the quality. menu all translated into English and waiter was very helpful reserving a table for us. We will return to this hotel in future as we found it so much better than usual ones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to stay at this hotel for a day prior to our Oceania Riviera cruise. My girlfriend is very keen on horses and she liked the idea of a ranch experience. The hotel does offer such an experience but on the day we arrived, it was not available. We went for a walk and watched the cattle for a while but for most of the time we felt stranded with nothing to do. The pool was covered up. We couldn't even go into town on the shuttle as that was also not available. Transport from Rome airport which the hotel arranged for 140 Euro went without hitch as did the the free shuttle to the ship in the morning. I would have described our accomodation as a basic double room rather than a suite. The bedroom was rustic though clean. The plug in the bath kept on getting jammed and needed to be levered out with a knife to let the water out. The restaurant was rather drab though the staff were pleasant. Great for meat eaters but there was no fish on the menu and the vegetarian options were very limited. Lunch and dinner menus were the same. I'm glad we only stayed one night here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a cruise scheduled to depart Civitavecchia on 10/15 and decided to come in a day early. Since we have vacationed in Rome in the past and planned to do so again after the cruise Civitavecchia made sense. We took the local train from FCO to Civitavecchia, which was a fun adventure in itself, what with train strikes. We called the resort when we were about 30 minutes out and when we arrived at the train depot there was Simone waiting for us outside to give us a ride up into the hills overlooking the port. Each and every staff person at the resort was welcoming and helpful. We really felt we were sharing their hime with them. The restaurant is a local favorite and on a Sunday there were many extended families enjoying dinner together.
This is a working ranch so we were able to watch the cowboys at work. The morning of the cruise Simone was on the spot, dispite or having overslept, and had us to the cruise terminal at our appointed time. We'd definitely stay with our hosts again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before our cruise and the whole experience was a great start to our holiday. We arrived at the train station and phoned the hotel. Our free pick up arrived about 15 minutes later and we were taken to the hotel. A warm greeting from the staff and we were shown our delightful rustic room which was immaculately clean and fresh. The restaurant was great and we slept well after a long and tiring day.
The following day after breakfast we lounged around taking in the views, the hotel or should I say ranch, it has cattle, horses, sheep etc.is set in the hills above the town and were then taken free of charge to our cruise ship.
Relaxing and faultless experience. Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenuta dell'Argento Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta dell'Argento Resort

Address: Colline dell'Argento s.n.c., 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenuta dell'Argento Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel have a Restaurant where we serve meat of our production ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Tenuta dell'Argento Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Dell`Argento Hotel Civitavecchia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta dell'Argento Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.