We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea front hotel 5 min walk from the cruise terminal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Giorgio to your Saves list
Hotel San Giorgio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Garibaldi 34, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Sea front hotel 5 min walk from the cruise terminal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nice traditional style Italian feel hotel on the sea front, a short walk from the cruise terminal. We stayed one night prior to a cruise and had a upper sea view room with shuttered windows opening onto the sea front. The bathroom was in marble with separate shower and was a great size again with lovely shutters on the quaint windows, which can be opened for an evening breeze. Bed was comfy with crisp cotton sheets. There is no English speaking channels on the TV. We had bed and breakfast, but breakfast was very disappointing considering the price we paid. Its not worth paying for, and the hotel coffee is bad. There are lots of cheap cafes next door and restaurants all over. Pizza cafe next door was great and the service was fast with a friendly smile. We had a huge pizza which was only for 2 people and 2 large beers all for 11 euros. The pizza would feed 6 people. Would stay again at the hotel, but without breakfast as it is not worth the quite expensive extra cost. My only moan is that the male receptionist was rather forceful in selling his shuttle bus tickets for 20 euros to take us to the cruise ship, instead of informing us it is only a 5 min walk away. Others were complaining, but the receptionist would not admit to his offensive selling and another took over also blaming us the customers, instead of being nice and apologizing. The reception customer service we received was not good and this makes me not want to recommend this hotel. The hotel next door is far far friendlier.

Room Tip: Has to be sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    123
    46
    21
    13
See reviews for
84
168
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It was convenient to stay here for one night, leaving on a cruise the next day. Rooms were OK: we had a deluxe room with split level. We travel a lot also business wise and we were surprised to see that this hotel still uses blankets instead of much more comfortable, and hygienic, duvets. When were offered transport from the airport to the hotel for 190 euros and this sounded a bit high, we enquired about the price of a regular taxi. They told us they didn't know. On the internet it turned out that all taxi prices are fixed and that it only costed 120 euros, from airport to the cruise terminal even. Even though the weather was good, there was not outdoor seating available for a drink, dinner or breakfast. Furthermore, the pool that is advertised turned out to be a public swimming pool across the street. The next morning we tried to get a regular taxi to the cruise terminal which we asked the reception to call, and they told us they couldn't get through. As we still had some time to spare we asked whether thwy could continue to call while we went outside for a drink (remember the hotel had no outdoor seating available...). When we came back still no luck according to the hotel and then they offered their own shuttle for 10 euro per person. In other reviews I've now read that a couple of hundreds of meters down the street there is a free shuttle bus! We feel this hotel is deliberately not informing their guests and on top of that is charging excessive prices for its own "service". All in all we would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Mr D.

We would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy at 100% you stay at Hotel San Giorgio. Regarding you experience for the transportation, we do not work with taxis and also it is not easy to give price because the have different tariff during the days and, as you can read in some of the past reviews, some guest had problems with the extra fee applied by the taxis. In our small town there is not many takis and this is one of the reason why we have decided to prived our service form the hotel to the cruise terminal, that with a small fee, include also the portarage service.
We are sorry that you have missed the opportunity to eat in our external terrace and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next cruise

Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed at this charming hotel for one night before before departing on a eastern Mediterranean cruise. Staff was wonderful, although English was lacking Room was quaint with a nice private bathroom - TV had some English news channels. A great breakfast was included with the room. Location is great for train to Rome or cruise ship departure. Town is relaxed and many good restaurants line the street overlooking the sea. Highly recommend for the night before your cruise departure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Mr S.

Thank you for your nice words for and for staying with us for your stay in Civitavecchia. We would like also to thank you for your nice word about the staff and we are glad that you have enjoyed the breakfast at the roof garden with a great view on the sea.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you for your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

As per other reviews, the hotel is a fantastic establishment. Lovely spacious rooms, air-conditioning and off the street parking, with a waterfront view and central to everything!

However the only shadow over our stay would be the dinner service on the first night at the Hotels Restaurant. Whatever the reason had been, a person of some importance to the hotel had sat down in the restaurant after us and a few other patrons. It was well clear, that we (as a family), had been shafted and all importance placed on this particular patron. A break down in communication and clarification from the staff resulted in the wrong meals coming out, however with myself not speaking much Italian, I do understand these things happen overseas; what annoyed me was the response from the waiter staff saying that "That is what you ordered". And upon asking politely to check my order, I never received a response at all.

We more a less, felt like under dogs or that we were in the wrong place by a certain member of the restaurant staff.

I'm not sure about others, but the way I was brought up, everyone who is a customer/patron in a restaurant should be treated the same. We were all paying customers, who were shafted for this one individual. Which especially, in such a nice establishment, shouldn't be the case.

Nevertheless, as I previously stated, the Hotel in itself is a lovely place. Maybe just duck around the corner for dinner to save yourself what we experienced tonight!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

unfortunately we weren't impressed =( The staff were not very helpful and the service was bordering on rude, and if it wasn't for the resorts redeeming features we certainly wouldn't come back. You need to speak ilatlian to stay here. The hotel pool is 'off site' and is a communal facility that is shared by all of the local hotels. There is no teas maids in the rooms. The decor is a bit tired and need of a refurb, overall despite the good location i would't recommend this hotel but the resort itself was beautiful.

Room Tip: poor value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on June 4th 2012 for a one night stay before our beautiful Princess cruise to Greece. We were a small group of 7 we found the hotel okay for the one night but did not think that this hotel is worth the price we paid .We had no view it was damp smelling in our rooms and not as clean as on other hotel we stayed later on in Verona the best part of this hotel is that it is near the Port.The breakfest was included in the price but most of the time it is included in Italy.
We read that the hotel staff went out of there way for the guests but what we found out after we checked out that they really don't care after you check out because they don't think that your going to ever return . One of the persons in our group left a leather jacket in the room when she checked out and noticed right away but not before we sailed off. We called the hotel right away and got a run around from first they didn't have the jacket to later they found it and had to check with the maid to see who it belonged to.Once it was determed that it in fact was our jacket they played around for two weeks while we were on our cruise how we were going to get it back. Let me tell you that in italy the law is on our side once they admitted to having the jacket and saying so on an emial we threatened to call the police and giving them a copy of emial and with that threat in hand they finally Fed Ex the artical to the address in Italy where some of our party still remained after our Cruise.
Would i recommend this hotel for the price on the website NO and will I recommend this hotel to any of my friends NO too much price for the trouble they gave my sister in law . You could just stay closer to the airport and have them shuttle you there instead. We paid for shuttle to pick us up from airport and shuttle to port anyway the cost would have been the same and we would have gotten a better hotel...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night before our cruise in July. There were 18 of us in the group and had lots of special requests. The staff was very accommodating and went out of their way to ensure we were look after. The location was perfect before our cruise. Our rooms were fantastic - spacious and clean. The restaurant is lovely - excellent food and lovely terrace. I would definitely recommend this property and would go back next time we are in Civitavecchia! Thank you Mette and all the staff at San Giorgio!! Lorena, Toronto Canada

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Address: Viale Garibaldi 34, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Giorgio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Giorgio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.