We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, yet continental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbay Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunbay Park Hotel to your Saves list
Sunbay Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Sud, Km 67,500, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, yet continental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our travel agent recommended Sunbay Park to us and we weren't disappointed. At reception we were expected since we had prebooked and prepaid and we were in our room quickly which we appreciated since we had been awake for more than 24 hours. Needless to say we slept well and late. In the morning we came to appreciate our surroundings - a large room with typical European bath, a large balcony capable of hosting a party of 20+ guests overlooking the ocean and the courtyard. In the morning the front desk arranged shared transportation to our cruise ship at a reasonable price (5 euros each). The complimentary continental breakfast was more than sufficient. We ate at the hotel restaurant in the evening. The food was good, not exceptional. Entrees are just that; side dishes, bottled water and two glasses of wine made the meal quite expensive. The restaurant wasn't busy so the service was efficent and courteous. If your stay in Civitavecchia is longer than overnight we recommend a hotel closer to the business section of the city.

Room Tip: We had a large room with an even larger balcony overlooking the ocean, probably not typical, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
20
22
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sunbay Park Hotel was the worst hotel that I have been among my countless trips around Europe. I usually stay in 4 star hotels and by the pictures and the service advertised on their site, this would have been a good choice as I was coming from a 20 day trip around France and Tuscany heading toward Rome. The receptionist at the desk was rude, the room was falling apart. We decided to go to the swimming pool as they advertise one was closed the other was so dirty that I went back to the room to work on my project on the computer. To my surprise the internet was not working in the rooms. I went to the receptionist and he said only in the lobby it was available. But not even there it was working. Other guests were upset too. We were faced with an embarrassing situation when a group arrived with reservation that included full board and the restaurant was out of service. The hotel is 3 miles far from the nearest restaurant. The other couples were not driving as they were going on a cruise. So my advice keep away from there. Find another hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were put up at the Sunbay when the Hotel Traiano overbooked, so the Traiano paid for our stay at the Sunbay and personally came out to the Sunbay to make sure we got free transit to our ship the next day. So kudos to the Traiano.

The bathroom was fine in my opinion, but if you're an American who hates the European handheld shower-heads, particularly when there's no shower curtain or door, the Sunbay is not for you. On the other hand, the water temperature/pressure was excellent and refreshing. The bathroom had very little counter space, so even two small shaving kits could be difficult to manage. Modernizing their bathrooms would improve this hotel a lot.

The Sunbay made me imagine the type of faded resort that Thomas Mann may have been describing in Death in Venice except not quite that large or fancy. The doors still use keys instead of key cards. The bedspreads and curtains had simple, floral patterns, and were a bit threadbare in a way that made me wonder if they were "vintage" from the 50s or earlier. The proximity of the sea (we had a great view from our window and a small balcony) made the room a little musty and perhaps the sensation of being a tiny bit damp. The beds were hard by American standards, but not too bad. Lighting in nearly every hotel room in Italy I've stayed in was dimmer than is comfortable for reading, and that's more or less true at the Sunbay.

I should add that there are portions of the public areas that receive a fantastic, refreshing cross breeze, and since the free wifi only worked in the public areas, you have an excuse to sit out there and check your e-mail.

Service was a bit unfriendly at first, but (I'm not kidding) improved after I put on my TripAdvisor hat. However, it may have just been the first employee we encountered because everyone else seemed friendly enough, and the staff spoke English well. The reviews that say it's a bit remote from town are correct. There is a restaurant at the hotel that also has that great view of the Mediterranean and a pretty marina. The pasta I had was tasty but heavy on garlic. I think the Sunbay is within walking distance of other restaurants, but not much else. The free breakfast at the Sunbay was good enough-a fairly wide variety of pastries and juices, fresh fruits, yogurt, some cold cuts.

The hotel is quite pretty from the outside (a bright yellow) and they definitely take pride in the hotel as they were busy landscaping flowers in their car park. The taxi to the cruise port might be a little high and the hotel amenities aren't perfect, but if you like the idea of a night at a romantic, old-fashioned hotel right on the water, this could be for you.

Room Tip: I don't know if all rooms have balconies face the sea or even if all rooms have balconies. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Last month my family and I stayed at the Sunbay Park Hotel for the third time in seven years. As in the past, we choose this hotel as a convenient pre-cruise staging area that previous reviewers on Trip Advisor had deemed comfortable and safe. The establishment is not a five star hotel and has some shortcomings, but it is peaceful and clean, and serves as an enjoyable starting point for cruises out of Civitavecchia. There are limited hotel options in this area and I feel that the appeal this hotel has to the ones in town is that it is quieter and is actually located on the water. During our most recent stay, my wife’s sister and her family joined us for a seven day cruise. We booked three rooms online at a very reasonable rate and the hotel gave us a large room for two adults and two children on the third floor as well as two adjoining rooms with ocean view balconies on the second floor. The staff also allowed my sister-in-law to leave her car in the hotel parking lot while we were gone for a week at no extra charge. Our experience at the hotel during our third stay was consistent with our previous two stays. The one exception being the breakfast buffet, which is not as extensive as it was in the past. I will add however, that when I pointed this out to our waiter, he brought me fresh made eggs and bacon at no charge. This along with other gestures renewed my enthusiasm for the place. The background story on the hotel, as told to me by a staff member, is that it was originally built as a seaside villa for an Italian Army Major during World War II. There was a large main house with a colonnade extending to a salt water pool near the ocean. After war the Major lost the property and it was converted to a hotel. A wing of ocean view rooms was built onto the colonnade, and the main house was expanded. Eventually a second fresh water pool was installed on the south side of the property. The grounds are landscaped with mature palms, century plants, and bougainvillea and surrounded by a high wall which secures the parking area. Most rooms are facing the ocean and have a balcony with shutters for privacy. They include fans and air conditioners, flat screen televisions, and free wi-fi access. The furnishings are rather old and simple, but the rooms and hotel are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is a five minute taxi ride to Civitavecchia and I would say that the majority of guests, at least in the summer, are departing or returning cruise passengers. Although somewhat expensive, the restaurant offers nice evening dining options and the wait staff are very professional. If you don’t want to spend so much money for dinner, there is a local establishment called the Pizzeria Fuori Dal Ghetto a couple of blocks away that offers good wood-fire pizza at a reasonable price. If you are staying in Civitavecchia and want to take the train to Rome, it will cost you about ten euros per person round trip. The ride is approximately an hour each way, but allows you to see the surrounding countryside and is a much cheaper option than hiring a limo or booking a shore excursion. Having done this twice, we opted to stay at the hotel and lounge by the pool this time. The air and water temperatures were perfect, and the atmosphere was so peaceful that my wife and I both enjoyed a nap under our poolside umbrella. The smaller freshwater pool offers a pool bar, lifeguard, and towel boy. When we were there it was very quiet with a mostly adult crowd. The larger salt water pool has lifeguards and two wading pools for children. There is also a large number of lounge chairs for sunbathers and as expected it is much more crowded. Beginning around October when the weather cools and most of the cruise ships have relocated to the Caribbean, the pools close down for the winter and the hotel business drops off considerably. We previously stayed at the hotel in October and had to turn on the heat in our room at night. The breakfast buffet is not as elaborate as it was the first time we stayed there, and I think it would be nice if the hotel added a game room and a spa. Nonetheless, the Sunbay Park Hotel is very convenient for pre-cruise lodging and offers a positive experience for a reasonable price. Unless they build a Hilton or a Marriott nearby, I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nothing special. Old rooms the corridors smell because of cigarette smoke. The waiters in the restaurant serve burned food and tell you that this is the way grilling is done in Italy very arrogant. Would never go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The day/night before a cruise, we stayed in the Sun Bay Park. It was a LONG walk to town along a noisy and busy road. THe view from the room was nice of the ocean. Room was sparse and overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was good and was included. Taxi to the port was pricey and not that far.

Room Tip: ask for a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of days recently before heading inland because it is only 40 minute drive up the coast from Fiumicino Airport. It is a little rundown externally but the rooms were OK, all with sea view, and the aircon worked well. Rooms were spacious but basic, bathroom was ok but a fairly small shower.

It has 2 pools, one very quiet at the back of the hotel (freshwater) with a pool bar and one on the sea front (saltwater) which is also open to the public. There is a reserved area for hotel guests and another pool bar for snacks and drinks which can still be charged to the room. There isn't a beach but there are steps down from the rocks in to the sea. This pool was busier but never crowded and there are plent of sunbeds and parasols.

Breakfast wasn't great (cereal, toast or croissants) but sufficient. We didn't eat there in the evening; it is only a 5 minute drive in to Civitavechia centre where there are several restaurants and bars. It was very busy in the town this time of year so we had to park half a mile away and walk along the promenade.

The minibar in the room had little in it but the bar was open late. Most people appeared to go out though and it was generally quiet by the time we got back. There is a carpark on site and the reception staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English.

Free wifi in the reception/restaurant areas.

It isn't really a 4 star but nice enough if you want to chill for a couple of days by the pool or sea. If you are going on a cruise there are closer hotels to the port, but this appeared to be the best one on the seafront with a pool, tennis etc.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and overlook the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunbay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Park Hotel

Address: Via Aurelia Sud, Km 67,500, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbay Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunbay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Park Civitavecchia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbay Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.