We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personale excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbay Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunbay Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbay Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia Sud, Km 67,500, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Civitavecchia
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Personale excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

If you are coming off a cruise or awaiting to depart on one and you wish a chill out time before or after your journey, please consider this hotel so near to the port, plus it's also a nice getaway from nearer home as we from Rome appreciated for a second time.

The staff are extremely gracious and available, from the concierge to the restaurant, from the pools staff ,including animation (there are 2 pools, plus 2 kiddies pools) and the ladies of the kiosk to the room service.
The hotel restaurant has certainly a geat cook and offers a menu of meat and fish. My husband and I enjoyed 2 really tasty and fair priced dinners of freshly cooked fish accommpanied with a local wine and no price suprises!!.
The rooms may be slightly dated but the peaceful marina views , private coastline sunbathing and ample private parking and all above ,make this hotel very comfortable for all travellers.
Even for weekend vacationers from Rome like ourselves..........

Thank you Sun Bay
Caron

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
15
18
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at Sunbay Park Hotel before we left on a cruise. The room was very clean. The balcony had a great view of the harbor. We watched the cruise ships come in and depart in the evening before we left. The grounds were attractive. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was limited but nice. My wife left her camera there and the staff contacted us and sent the camera to our home. I was very impressed by their honesty and their help in sending the camera home. I would stay there again and would recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

this hotel took a little to find. even using a satnav.
the staff were good and the rooms were clean and large.
very comfy and the rooms we were in had balconys that had a lovley view of the bay and what not.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed in the Sunbay Park Hotel for 3 nights in July 2010. This hotel has a lot of potential which is not realised. The location is good for the centre of Civitavecchia and the links to the port or the trains to Rome. The location on the coast is also pleasant with Marinas and a small harbour by the hotel. The hotel itself appears a little run down and this overall impression is immediate given the entrance sign looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for some time and the Gardens were not very well kept. There is however plenty of free parking. The outside of the buildings could also do with a repaint to brighten up the drab appearance. Inside the hotel is much more pleasant and the public areas are well appointed. The terrace restaurant is also good for breakfast in the sun, which was of a good quality. We didn’t try dinner in the hotel; there are a number of good restaurants in Civitavecchia just a few minutes drive away. The room we had was OK, quite spacious with a balcony and a nice big bathroom and shower, for which all the plumbing worked well and quality toiletries were provided. The room was clean but the furniture and fittings showing their age, including the TV which needed to be in a museum, still CRT in 2010! There was a spacious balcony which offered a good view of the little harbour, unfortunately it was filthy with bird droppings, on the floor and all the furniture, and had not been cleaned. I asked for this to be done but this was never done and made use of the balcony impossible. The room was air conditioned which worked well, except for on one occasion when turning it on caused a power cut in the whole hotel! Like most Italian hotels, (I don’t know why these days) there was no tea / coffee facility in the room and no mini bar. There was no travel iron / board either. One night there was no Internet available and the hotel blamed some 3rd party provider, in fact they had the cheek to ask me to write to said 3rd party on their behalf to complain – I declined! Internet service was available through Wi-Fi the following day but was charged for. Overall the hotel was fine, with friendly staff, but it has seen better days and needs some investment to be worth what they are currently charging. I was told by my Italian colleagues that there are better hotels in the Civitavecchia area for a similar price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

We were booked at another hotel. Upon arriving in Rome, the first hotel said they had water issues and had moved us to this hotel. We were fine with the move, price was the same - we just needed a place to crash for the night after a day of flying.

Hotel seemed to be clean. Breakfast was good, they let us stay a little late. The maid started cleaning the room next door at 8:45 (very loud) which wasn't appreciated much after our 1 am arrival.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Booked 3 rooms for an overnight stay prior to leaving on a cruise. The hotel is on a great piece of land right on the ocean. The rooms were what you'd expect for the price--nothing fancy, and a few miles from the city center where all the restaurants are. We make the mistake of having a late dinner in town. There is no taxi service in Civitavecchia after 11 pm. The hotel gave us no warning about the taxis and was absolutly no help when we ended up stranded--you'd think they would have a hotel shuttle or some other transportation given the taxi situation. After spending over an hour on the phone with the hotel desk clerk--there was a serious communication problem--we happened to walk into the Hotel San Giorgio to speak with someone we could actually communicate with. The owner of the Hotel San Giorgio, Maco, ended up making two trips back and forth from his hotel to ours in order to get us home for the night so we wouldn't have to hoof it--and wouldn't accept any money for his trouble. The Hotel San Giorgio was actually our fist choice, but they didn't have 3 rooms for that evening. Service like this is the reason why, I'm sure. THANK YOU AGAI(N, MARCO! Next timne we are cruising from Italy we will stay at the Hotel San Giorgio

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Too far away from town.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Civitavecchia hotels

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

The outside was a little run down. The pool and cabana looked abandoned and the deep pool was empty with no fence around it. Not a good place to take the kids.

I was in a standard room facing the beach. The ocean view was nice, but the run down dock detracted from the beauty of the location. The room was sparsely decorated, clean and the bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled. The veranda was small, but cozy.

I had some bad clams on a bread appetizer offered before dinner in the restaurant and was sick most of the night.

I was there in the spring. It was quiet and there was not much going on locally. The hotel is probably hopping with locals in the summertime if they fill that pool up.

This place is a good value if you just got off a plane and needs some sleep to catch a cruise in the morning.

  • Liked — The hotel was located near the port.
  • Disliked — The outside needed some attention.
  • Tips/Secrets — Not a destination accomodation, but a good overnighter.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunbay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Park Hotel

Address: Via Aurelia Sud, Km 67,500, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbay Park Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunbay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Park Civitavecchia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbay Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.