We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo del Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo del Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo del Mare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Olimpia, 3, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Leduc, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice for a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a good hotel for the evening before a cruise. Yes it does not have a pool and yes it is a good walk to the downtown area and yes the rooms are a little small but it is clean and comfortable and the staff were more than helpful and friendly. The room had a fridge which was great to keep some perishables cool so that you could enjoy a snack in the evening. The breakfast served as part of your cost was fine contrary to some other reviews. Is it 5 star stuff...no...but it is enough to tie you over until you get to where you are going. Also, it comes with a free shuttle. Yeah you get to the port a little early but so what, at least you got there. As for the walk to downtown, I was able to make it in 15 minutes of brisk walking. Walk like you belong people and you will get there. I would not suggest hauling your luggage mind you as it is a haul and you do run out of sidewalk a couple of times.
All in all, in my opinion I got what I paid for and I was happy.

Room Tip: Ask for the water view, it is better than the alley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
96
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed at this hotel in october 2012 lovely small hotel staff very friendly and helpful lovely breakfast. and comfortable room and thanks to management for transport to port early.disappointed that the hotel transfer from airport was over priced 55euro per person can share minibus from port for 20euro per person mornings only. train to rome easy and also train to airport only one change

Room Tip: about 3 miles from main port but quiet and peaceful and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I am writing this from the outside patio at the Borgo del Mare. We are staying after our cruise on Celebrity Equinox and we could not be happier about the service. First, they managed to pick us up 30 minutes before the scheduled time when we realized that we could disembark from the cruise ship earlier than expected. Second, they we very accommodating in cleaning our room on a priority basis so we had really early access to our room. This family-owned boutique hotel (14 rooms) is located near the ocean, south of the downtown area. Our room is facing the ocean and there is a small semi-paved path that you can follow between walled-in villas to access the sea, although there is not much of a beach. Room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom very functional. Yes rooms are a bit small, but only compared to North American standards. By European standards, they are mostly within norms. We paid about 2.5 times the price for a hotel in Rome before our cruise and the room was only a bit larger. Of course, Rome is Rome.... Overall, we highly recommend this hotel for either pre or post-cruise stays.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here the night before a cruise from the port of Civitavecchia like many others; this hotel provides all you need including a free shuttle to the pier. Clean establishment, friendly people, nice rooms and a restaurant in house; it also has an elevator which is important for luggage. A little outside the centre of the city but perfect place for the pre-cruise night.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 1st floor (1 floor up from the ground level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here one night at the end of July 2012 prior to joining a cruise departing the port of Civitavecchia. The hotel driver meant us in the arrivals hall at Rome airport and is was about a 45-minute drive to the hotel. Our bags were carried in and it was an easy check-in with English speaking staff. We were allocated a room on the first floor with a view of the sea (but do not expect to get down to the beach here - the properties on the shoreline keep the beach to themselves). The weather was hot, so it was good that the room was air conditioned. The room was fairly small, but clean and comfortable, with a good bathroom including bidet and shower. the bed was comfortable.
The hotel offers restaurant service, though we chose to eat that evening just up the road in the seafront Restaurant Ideale, which was excellent. However breakfast was included in the hotel rate, so we were able to enjoy a very good al fresco buffet on the terrace next morning - mostly cold stuff, but there were scrambled eggs and of course coffee.
We settled our bill by credit card, and at 10.30 the minibus took us down to the port (10' drive) for our 11.00 check-in at the cruise terminal.
All in all a good experience with very friendly and obliging staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed, as so many other guests, for one night before embarking for a cruise out of Civitavecchia. Our room was clean, well appointed and quiet. air conditioning and comfortable beds meant that we had a fantastic night's sleep and were able to start the cruise the next day refreshed and relaxed. The hotel arranged a car to meet us at the airport [cost 110 euros which is well worth it to avoid the hassle with large suitcases, heat and queues]. Our evening meal at the hotel was good, local fish and freshly cooked. This hotel is not designed for a prolonged stay and although the rooms are basic they are more than adequate for the transit purpose it serves; overall we consider it provides excellent value for money and definitely a step up from airport hotels which are often our only alternative pre/post cruise. We will look forward to staying there again when we next sail out of Civitavecchia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was in for one night before cruise on August 2nd 2012 NEVER AGAIN
I paid 151.00 dollars i checked in an elderly man was having lunch he came over with NOT EVEN HELLO
he gave me the room 101 the worst many people complained about that room in the back of the so called reception where you hear phone ringigng and talking and i booked more than 2 months in advance when i told him i didnt like he didnt care i was talking to the wall,there was no daily paper or navetta offered to zone around as they advertise exept the one to the ship,i used a taxi twice at 12 euro each trip to go the lungomare because is far from it How they call an hotel and trip advisor gave 4 * is not even a copy of the worst hotel ! ,front desk close at 10pm (hotel is 24/7)at 5 am my wife took a shower and at the end we found a lake in all the room all water back up we cleaned for more than an hour with towels and i couldnt use the shower for myself in the morning i spoke to a young man that was at the desk very polite he said he was sorry but about the owner or management (if any)until we left not even a word !!!!!!!!!! And to finish my story my bedsheets were all ripped FANTASTIC

Room Tip: Never use this so called hotel not even for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo del Mare

Address: Via Olimpia, 3, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo del Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo del Mare, a 4 star hotel opened in 2008, is Civitavecchia hospitality benchmark. Located at 2 Kms from the centre and the port, it is the perfect accommodation for those who like hush but want to stay in town. All its rooms are finely finished off and provided with telephone, mini bar, safe, air-conditioning, Wide screen LCD TV with Sky pay-per-view, some of them with a wonderful sea view. The hotel restaurant will delight you with local delicatessen in an elegant and welcoming environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borgo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.