We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo del Mare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Borgo del Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Borgo del Mare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Olimpia, 3, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Civitavecchia
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was in for one night before cruise on August 2nd 2012 NEVER AGAIN
I paid 151.00 dollars i checked in an elderly man was having lunch he came over with NOT EVEN HELLO
he gave me the room 101 the worst many people complained about that room in the back of the so called reception where you hear phone ringigng and talking and i booked more than 2 months in advance when i told him i didnt like he didnt care i was talking to the wall,there was no daily paper or navetta offered to zone around as they advertise exept the one to the ship,i used a taxi twice at 12 euro each trip to go the lungomare because is far from it How they call an hotel and trip advisor gave 4 * is not even a copy of the worst hotel ! ,front desk close at 10pm (hotel is 24/7)at 5 am my wife took a shower and at the end we found a lake in all the room all water back up we cleaned for more than an hour with towels and i couldnt use the shower for myself in the morning i spoke to a young man that was at the desk very polite he said he was sorry but about the owner or management (if any)until we left not even a word !!!!!!!!!! And to finish my story my bedsheets were all ripped FANTASTIC

Room Tip: Never use this so called hotel not even for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    55
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
86
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for One night before joining Navigator of the Seas for a weeks cruise, the hotel was of a good quality (fairly basic, not UK 4* perhaps a good 3* - but clean and modern rooms - no pool which is a shame). The rooms are spacious and have clearly been recently modernised and come with sky tv which you can switch a large selection of the channels in to English. This was something we really appreciated as there is not a lot to do in Civitavecchia, particularly where the hotel is - in fact the area the hotel is in has very few redeeming features. The gentleman at reception (I think probably the owner) was very helpful and recommended as we had plenty of time to kill we should head into the promenade area near the port which has had a recent make over, as well as having several bars and restaurants. As we had arrived early in the day we took up his suggestion and took a taxi down there (be aware taxi’s are very expensive - 15 euros for a 3km drive on the way down and 10 euros for the return). The area was pleasant for a couple of hours and we had excellent pizza in a restaurant recommended by the hotel for lunch.
The best part about the hotel was its restaurant on an evening, if you choose to dine there you will be in for a treat with some excellent Italian cooking at a very reasonable price, we had a 4 course meal for 30 euros each and it was all of the highest quality, with excellent friendly service. Although I would not recommend staying in Civitavecchia for a full day if you need a hotel near the port for a night this is the place to stay, just for the food alone.
Note the hotel also offers a free shuttle to take you to your ship in the morning which is very handy and a small continental breakfast is available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We travelled by train from Rome to Civitavecchia. The queue for tickets at Rome's Termini were very long but they now have a number system which makes it a little less hassle. We needed platform #27 which is so far away you feel you're walking to Civitavecchia!! We went to validate our tickets before boarding the train. All at once a young lad rushed up saying he would help us with the tickets - tried to carry our luggage - help us onto the train etc. He was very persistant but we got rid of his unwanted attention by giving him a 2 Euro tip which was far less than he wanted and he complained bitterly to no avail!! Apparently these young gypsies - boys and girls - are active all over the stations in Italy. Beware!
We caught a taxi from Civitavecchia station to the hotel which was about 2 kilms away from the port area where we were due to join our cruise the following day. The room was very small, there was no kettle/coffee/tea in the room, the shower was broken, only one sheet to cover us on the bed, and the bed itself was a very small double which made you fear you would fall off it during the night! In fairness they do mention the small bed but I didn't notice it at the time of booking. Although the hotel looks as though it's near the sea in fact you can't walk down to the sea as it is a built up area. The hotel has a small restaurant where we ate as there was nowhere else to go in the area. The breakfast was also extremely poor. The hotel is listed as 4 star but our experience would give it 2 star maximum. The only positive point I would make is that they run a shuttle service in the mornings from the hotel directly to your cruise ship. Other than that feature I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Like many others we used this hotel as an overnight stay between cruises to save going into Rome. Their complimentary pick-up and delivery service from the port was very good and the hotel itself adequate for one night. However, we would not recommend a lengthy stay here as it is located some distance from the town centre, the beds are incredibly hard and we had to ask for a replacement pillow as one of them was badly stained! The breakfast was sparse to say the least but satisfactory, I guess, if you like sweet cakes at the start of the day! The only hot component was a dish of scrambled egg. The evening meal in the hotel restaurant was fine but, once again, if staying longer than one night it would pay to find other places to eat. The staff were helpful and friendly and the free Wifi in the rooms very useful. More comfortable bedding and a better breakfast would bring this up to a definite 4 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A small, friendly hotel - a good choice for pre-cruise if you don't want the hassle of going in/out of Rome. Airport meet-and-greet was efficient in a comfortable van. The price seemed a bit high for the 30-minute ride but compared favorably to other transfer services. Rooms are adequate, not fancy. Other guests told us the restaurant was good. Breakfast was included and ample. Free wifi in the lobby area. The shuttle to the cruise port drops you right at the boarding area (some services don't have port access and it's a long walk with luggage). The hotel is located outside the town - we got in late so feel up to the mile or so walk each way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

It's a small hotel & I'm not sure why anyone would choose to vacation in Civitavecchia--beaches are small, crowded & not very attractive. Hotel arranged my pick up in Rome FCO--but the van wasn't very comfortable. Hotel rooms are very small. The faucet in my bathroom was broken & I got soaked when I turned the water on. They fixed it quickly; but, the maid should have noticed & I would have been spared the splashing. Restaurant was OK -but, VERY slow service. I had breakfast early & they really were not prepared. Staff OK & most spoke English. Next pre cruise out of Rome- I would be tempted to stay near the airport & then go directly to the ship.

Room Tip: Try for the biggest room available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Friendly, clean hotel in a quiet location and an ideal place to stay if you want peace and quiet after a flight. Easy to find if travelling by car. Rooms were adequate but could do with a little fresh decoration. The hotel provides an efficient shuttle service from Rome airport, and also from the hotel to the port. The hotel always answered our e-mail questions promptly prior to our arrival, and were always extremely helpful. Complimentary breakfast was very good, and evening meals are available.

One disadvantage on our trip was that the shuttle bus did not go to the port after 12 am (something worth finding out about in advance from the hotel). We had to take the shuttle at that time although we did not embark the ship until 4o'clock. The hotel could not quarantee getting us a taxi at a later time, the receptionist explained that there are only a few taxis in Civitavecchia, and they could be quite expensive.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, and would use it again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Borgo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo del Mare

Address: Via Olimpia, 3, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo del Mare 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo del Mare, a 4 star hotel opened in 2008, is Civitavecchia hospitality benchmark. Located at 2 Kms from the centre and the port, it is the perfect accommodation for those who like hush but want to stay in town. All its rooms are finely finished off and provided with telephone, mini bar, safe, air-conditioning, Wide screen LCD TV with Sky pay-per-view, some of them with a wonderful sea view. The hotel restaurant will delight you with local delicatessen in an elegant and welcoming environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Borgo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.