We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Before Cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miramare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Viale della Vittoria 29, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Civitavecchia B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Before Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel is a 10-12 minute walk to cruise port shuttle. Rooms were clean and comfortable, but walls are thin and you can hear neighbors and street traffic. Some rooms overlook the sea. Breakfast was good, with breads and cakes, juice, and delicious cappuccino. Staff are friendly with good English. Definitely worth staying here before departing on your cruise. There is no parking for a car.

Room Tip: Try to get the seaside rooms. You can listen to the waves at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
70
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Prior reviews are accurate. Posted pics are accurate. Hotel is clean and friendly. Breakfast is pretty standard European style, enough to get your day started. Breakfast lady is pleasant and makes a good cappuccino!
We arranged transfer from Rome with hotel. Went smoothly with driver waiting for us on arrival. Drive is about 40 minutes and cost 130,00 euro for 6 people with luggage.
Walk to port is very easy, flat with plenty of opportunity to stop along the way if necessary. We each had 2 roller suitcases and 1 person has limited mobility. We had time to spare so decided to walk. We had no problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My family stayed in this hotel at in the middle of our Italy Vacation (July 2013). It was by far the best hotel we stayed in the whole trip. The staff were incredibly helpful (spoke very good english for our limited Italian), helped us find good restaurants and places to shop as well as offered to take a family photo of us and spent a long time chatting and seemed genuinely interested.

We got two rooms, both with ocean views which we AMAZING to say the least. The rooms were spacious (my parents room had 3 windows & a HUGE bathroom by European AND North American standards) and clean. The beds were reasonably comfortable & the free wifi was awesome. Many people have mentioned the lack of hot water. When we first tried to shower we thought the same, but eventually figured out how to properly work the shower. Even though we figured out how to get the hot water flowing, it was nice to have a cool shower after the extremely hot days. Another great addition to this hotel was it's lift (elevator).

I honestly cannot say enough about this hotel. Definitely would stay again (and longer than one night pre-cruise). The city of Civitavecchia is a really lovely area with lots of things to see (there was a festival of some sort happening when we were there) and lots of lovely restaurants.

Definitely a 5/5 for me!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here pre-cruise on 29 September 2013. We had a front facing room with two windows and a balcony with French doors overlooking the beach. The hotel was clean with friendly staff. The night manager recommended a restaurant just along the sea front "Trattoria A Gustarello" which was real find and great start to our holiday. Hotel breakfast was adequate - especially since we would be able to gorge ourselves over the next ten days! Alan

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed one night pre-cruise on the 25th September 2013.
Unfortunately thanks to BA not loading our luggage in London due to computer failure, we turned up at the hotel with just the clothes we stood in.
With this being a smaller hotel (i.e. not part of a large chain), they didn't have any of the toiletry items that you may need should you find yourself suitcase less!
With the shops locally closing at 8.00 pm and we arrived at 8.15 pm, the gentleman on reception managed to scrape around and find us some shampoo!
We decided to head out for a drink however had to hand in the key to the receptionist - a different one from when we had checked in an hour earlier.
An off-chance visit to a shop selling tobacco produced a toothbrush but no toothpaste to be had!
One quick drink and we returned to find a different person on reception.
We asked for our key which he gave us however given that he hadn't seen us leave, how did he know that we were indeed the guests in that room???
After a rather restless night, we were up and out of the hotel by 7.45 am to return to Rome airport to try and track down our luggage as we were boarding the ship that day and knew that we wouldn't get our luggage that day unless we went ourselves.
The free wifi was great so that we could try and track our luggage on ba.com so that is a plus for the hotel.
We didn't stay 12 hours in total in the hotel so can't really comment on any of the facilities that it offered. The room was very spacious and despite what has been previously written, we did have hot water in our room - number 13!

Room Tip: People say to ask for a room facing the front which we had however the shutters were closed, we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews for Hotel Miramare are spot on. The hotel is located along a scenic waterfront walkway, just steps from A Gustrallo, one of the highest rated Trip Advisor restaurants in Civitavecchia. The rail station is very close and the port is walkable with light luggage. For those with heavvier bags, a taxi to the ship is about 7 Euros. Rooms are clean and quiet, but could use a minor refresh on paint. By European standards, the rooms and bath also are a bit more spacious. Staff is very helpful. Only issue we encountered was that the car booked through Miramare to meet us at Fiumicino Airport was 35 minutes late. Our call to Miramare staff from the airport resolved the problem. Hint regarding Civitavecchia: Explore the shopping and restaurant area in town, just a short walk inland. The city is larger and more interesting than we expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved the balcony with beautiful sea view. This is a beautiful little town with the sailor kissing the girl statue at the beginning of the port. The room was large, aired and clean with lovely walnut furniture. It had wonderful high ceilings and was very cool without need for air conditioning

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 but any room overlooking the sea is the one to ask for, it is a small hotel wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Viale della Vittoria 29, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.