We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, huge comfortable room, right on the Mediterranean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramare to your Saves list
Hotel Miramare
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Viale della Vittoria 29, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Civitavecchia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, huge comfortable room, right on the Mediterranean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I booked a room here at the last minute for the night before our cruise. We were given a room facing the ocean. The windows are small but the view is beautiful. The room was extremely large, especially for European standards. The furnishings were plain, not elegant but very clean and comfortable. The best parts of the inn are the personnel, especially Gianni (the morning desk clerk that arranged our departure and transportation to the port....Thanks, Gianni - I told you I would remember your name!) and the restaurant attached to the hotel. We were traveling Europe for three weeks prior to our departure on the cruise, and quite frankly - it was the probably the best meal we had during our travels. And believe me....we tried everything from local mom and pop restaurants to highly rated luxury restaurants. As a Louisiana native, I am spoiled by excellent seafood and well-seasoned food, something we found lacking everywhere except this restaurant. Extremely busy but well worth the wait! Another highlight of the hotel is it's location on the "boardwalk" where the locals stroll and dine in the evening. We enjoyed watching the residents enjoy a beautiful Friday evening with family and friends. Although strangers, we felt a part of the community for the night. It was a unique experience that we will always remember. Very close to the railway station (a five minute walk) and a very easy taxi ride to the Port. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    70
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
79
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here on 27th July as part of a group of 10 friends embarking on a cruise the following day, and it was a great choice. Rooms were spotlessly clean, with wonderful sea views. Gianni made us most welcome, he has a great sense of humour and responded very well to the banter from a group of mostly middleaged Irish people having some fun. We got great advice about where to eat and help with organising taxis to our ship the next morning. Gianni also proved himself a good photographer when taking photos of the group before we set off on our cruise. Breakfast was simple but plentiful, and the lady serving it was really friendly. We had just wanted somewhere to lay our heads the night before our cruise, but ended up really enjoying this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 prior to sailing on a 12 day RCCL cruise. The rooms are high ceilinged with shuttered windows and excellent air handling. The bedding is comfortable and the bath is complete. Caution very high step into shower.

Coming from the RR station exit to the right and down the longish stairway. As you come out of the station the hotel is actually to your left but that way is fenced off. It's a modest hike to the hotel or a short 8 euro taxi ride. Ask First.

Hotel staff is most helpful with free WIFI and arranging reasonable taxi transfer to Pier. Taxi will take you right to your ship.

Breakfast is a little under done but you can live with that.

Front entrance needs to be swept more often. Not done once the 3 days we were there so we looked at Camilla the Cat instead. She manages the front entrance sitting area quite nicely thank you.

Check out is 10:30 AM. Don't fret about overstaying as the room attendant is right there to collect your key at 10:30 AM.

Overall a satisfying stay...do stay more than one night..it is well worth your time and the office will keep. Promise.

HMGT

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies...ask for seaside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Civitavecchia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night before cruising from Civitavecchia. Nice, clean room with sea view. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant and promenade area around the hotel were very busy so we struggled getting something to eat. Probably would have been best to book.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

A very short walk from the train station. Just exit thru the station, cross the street and walk left and you´re almost there. Extremely friendly check-in, he was a true pro. We had a very nice corner room on the top floor overlooking the ocean. With all the party crowd gathering on this Friday I was worried about the noicelevel, but the room is very well insulated. I´m a light sleeper but could´t hear anything.

Bed is firm, but the room was clean and a very good size.

Breakfastbuffet in the morning was OK.

We were going to get a cab to the cruise terminal, but it was a short five minute walk so I must say that the hotel is very convenient and I will definitely stay here again on a future cruise out of Civitavecchia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We where greeted by a very obliging manager . The bedroom and bathroom where of a very high standard with a balcony over looking the Mediterranean . Car parking was just around the corner. Breakfast could have been slightly better but overall we had a great time and would recommend this hotel to any of our friends . thank you Miramare hotel
Regards Brian and Susanne Wanaka New Zealand

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Miramare on both the day before and the day after a cruise. All members of staff were very helpful and pleasant and, in particular, ensured that we had taxis both coming from and returning to Fuimicino Airport.
The room (number 31) was ideal - spacious, cool and with a fantastic view over the sea.
The general location of the hotel is perfect. It is close to everything that you would need in Civitavecchia. We took a taxi to the port as it was so hot, but you could walk if you wish. The restaurant immediately outside of the hotel is very good and provides value for money.
All in all the Miramare is an excellent hotel and we would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Viale della Vittoria 29, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.