We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Storyville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Storyville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Storyville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gramsci 51, 54030 Cinquale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cinquale
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at Hotel Storyville, and were most impressed by the service and hospitality of Valentina and Nicola. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast selection was comprehensive and very fresh and tasty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a pleasant stay in a pleasant part of the Tuscan coast. Also - received a recommendation from Nic for dinner at a restarant in the mountains (30min drive) and this was probably one of the best experiences of our entire holiday in Northern Italy!

Room Tip: Recommend room 16 on the ground foor - no stairs and a good size compared so some of the others that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    163
    47
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
120
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012, a couple - We had a lovely stay. Room wassimple but clean - the bathroom could have done with updating but it was fine - all clean and worked. The bedroom and tv were comfortable - not glamourous but good enought for a watch of TV and a night in but all in all it was a pleasant room with a view over the gardens.. the hotel gardens are lovley and the breakfast was good. The hotel is in a nice quiet district which is a close promimity to beach - about 7 mins easy flat pleasant walk, and in lovely area next to a canal and near to a few little restaurants and cafes and deli's... The hotel rents out bikes at 7euro a day - and the bikes are great! we cycled into forte dei marmi - about 8 mins easy cycle ride - Forte dei marmi area is lovley to cycle around - flat - sunshine and makes you feel young and free again! The staff were lovley here ! they are characters and smile and are nice to us everytime we ask yet another tourist question...! free parking, and nice sitting under the trees in lovley gardens. The reception and breakfast room are modernly decorated with a nice style... Excellent value for money.. So good we are returning with 10 of us in September! Bedrooms 3 star / but overall experience there is 4star.. happy place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in Storyville for 3 nights and made it our base for exploring the area. It's location is perfect, near Pisa, Carrara quarries, Pietrasanta, very near the beach and town. While the room was small, it was clean and well cared for. The bathroom was a bit of an adventure being on the small side, but again clean and hot/cold water.
The gardens are sweet with the smells of jasmine, it made for a pleasant place for a glass of wine in the evening. The couple who run the place speak English well and are friendly and customer service oriented. The breakfast offered is extensive from hardboiled eggs, to pastries, to meats and cold milk (a treat). I wish we had spent more time there and will be back.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main buiding and separate, we liked the bungalow. Parking can be a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friend and I staied here 11-19 of June 2012. We had the room number 20 (very nice room, though not so big) on the last floor. Thanks a lot to very kind and friendly staff (Valentina and Nicola) of this very nice hotel! We liked everything ;) The staff and local citizens speak English. Cinuale is the small village near Forte dei Marmi (30-40 min on foot to the center of Forte dei Marmi (where are a lot of shops and restaurants)). Very good location to the beatch, some restaurants, pizzerias, a small food shop, gelaterie. Very tasty breakfast and very wide choice of food. Very beautiful garden around the hotel. Free parking. Clean room (was cleaned every day), hotel, territory around the hotel. Free beatch - 7 min by foot (sand, clean, good enter in the water (also for children). But the beatch to so big, though in the middle of June was not crowded. A lot of trees, pines, flowers around the hotel and along the streets near it and along the seaside. You can rent bicycles (about 5 Euro per day). There is the river near the hotel. And you can to walk or run along and have the possibility to see the realy nice italian villages and will be very close to the mountains. The sea water was about 19 degrees, but when the air temperature is very high.. it's ok. We had air condition but did not use it.
We would like to come here again.. and i think it's the best mark for the hotel))

It was very-very noisy some nights because of disco (till morning), far from railway station Forte dei Marmi - 10-15 min by car (20 Euro) (but we know it, it was not a problem for us); no possibility to have a dinner at the hotel, not so good wi-fi connection in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little bit different (we saw some rooms so we had the possibility to choose the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSCOW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The staff of the hotel is very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are clean. We had a problem with wi-fi in a room that was a little bit far from main lobby (we had 2 rooms). But the main problem is shower which is on a naked floor. Which i think is absolutely unacceptable for a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night after a visit to Pisa. This hotel is along the west coast of Italy and is about 5 minutes (or less) from the beach - it is also a few steps away from a small city center with all of the shops, bars and cafes you'd need. The hotel itself is really nice for the price and in a very quite area. The rooms are clean and the beds were very comfortable - and very inexpensive. They also provided a nice breakfast as part of the hotel stay - which was a surprise. The staff was the best I've experienced so far - they were very friendly, helped us with our bags and even gave us info about the area and about sites which we could see along our upcoming drive. I am quite pleased with this choice and am recommending it to a friend that is visiting Pisa in the coming months.

I rated the swimming pool as average because I don't believe they had one, and I'm not sure about the fitness center because I didn't use one that day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a charming and quiet place to stay. The staff is extremely friendly and hard working. We found our room to be very clean, there is free internet available, the shower is a bit strange- but it's just a shower. Our dinner at the restaurant was phenomenal. One downside is the distance from the train station if traveling by train, but the proximity to the beach makes up for that. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: Via Gramsci 51, 54030 Cinquale, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Cinquale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cinquale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Storyville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storyville Hotel Cinquale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Storyville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.