We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect staff but the hotel is so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Storyville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Storyville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Storyville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gramsci 51, 54030 Cinquale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cinquale
MOSCOW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect staff but the hotel is so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The staff of the hotel is very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are clean. We had a problem with wi-fi in a room that was a little bit far from main lobby (we had 2 rooms). But the main problem is shower which is on a naked floor. Which i think is absolutely unacceptable for a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    163
    47
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
120
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night after a visit to Pisa. This hotel is along the west coast of Italy and is about 5 minutes (or less) from the beach - it is also a few steps away from a small city center with all of the shops, bars and cafes you'd need. The hotel itself is really nice for the price and in a very quite area. The rooms are clean and the beds were very comfortable - and very inexpensive. They also provided a nice breakfast as part of the hotel stay - which was a surprise. The staff was the best I've experienced so far - they were very friendly, helped us with our bags and even gave us info about the area and about sites which we could see along our upcoming drive. I am quite pleased with this choice and am recommending it to a friend that is visiting Pisa in the coming months.

I rated the swimming pool as average because I don't believe they had one, and I'm not sure about the fitness center because I didn't use one that day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a charming and quiet place to stay. The staff is extremely friendly and hard working. We found our room to be very clean, there is free internet available, the shower is a bit strange- but it's just a shower. Our dinner at the restaurant was phenomenal. One downside is the distance from the train station if traveling by train, but the proximity to the beach makes up for that. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights , as a base to explore Tuscany . We hired a car at Pisa airport and drove to the hotel . It was an easy drive , and the hotel had good parking . The staff were lovely , very friendly and helpful .The room was basic but large and airy . The bed was very comfortable and clean . The bathroom was small but adequate (, although the paintwork was a bit dated and needed a fresh coat of paint .). There were lovely soaps and shower gels provided . Breakfast was really good with lots of choice and great tea , coffee etc . The garden is pretty with lovely couches where you can have an evening drink .
Some good restaurants in the area , but if you don`t like seafood and fish , you may struggle . The restaurant close by over the bridge was recommended and did lovely Gnocci in cheese sauce ! All in all , very good value for money and highly recommended .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in Storyville overnight on the road to Cinque Terre. The room cost 53€ and albeit being small, had everything we needed. There is no a/c, which in September is no problem as the nights are cool enough to sleep comfortably with an open window. There was no noise from the street during the night although the hotel is right on the road. The rate also inclided free parking, breakfast and wi-fi! The best value for money we have had in years of travel in Europe!
I must also mention that the breakfast was excellent, with a selection of local products like salame, cheeses and honey.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
If you are travelling on a budget, this is a fantastic place to stay. Boat service to Cinque Terre available from the nearby Marina di Massa or you can drive to La Spezia and take a regional train from there for about €2.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilina, Slovakia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel staff is absolutely fantastic. any day of our 5 day stay there was someone really nice, willing to help and fill any of our needs. Our room was very nice, tidy and clean, although the bathroom was very small. this was our first vacancies in Italy - so maybe it's normal down here, but i'd love some more space for shower, than share it with the toilette. otherwise - no suggestions. we got used to the thin walls as well (you can hear anything whats going on in the hall - people locking their rooms etc). food for the breakfast was absolutely splendid, couldn't wish more or better choice.

Room Tip: nice, clean tidy. would appreciate more room in bathroom and thicker walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated, less than 1km from the beach, 2 minutes from village that has everything you would need, a beautiful deli, fish restaurant, fab pizzeria. This area is perfect for cycling and the hotel rents out good bikes very cheaply. The advice the staff gave us on what to do and where to go was invaluable, as usual we never got around to studying up on the area before arriving so for the local knowledge was great. We never eat in the hotel for lunch or evening but the buffet breakfast was good. Would recommend this hotel however if the rooms and decor were updated the hotel would the be ideal.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: Via Gramsci 51, 54030 Cinquale, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Cinquale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Cinquale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Storyville 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storyville Hotel Cinquale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Storyville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.