We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Il Patriarca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Il Patriarca to your Saves list
Villa Il Patriarca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 146, Localita Querce al Pino, 53043 Chiusi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chiusi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

My name is Jessie and my husband Anthony and I stayed there in October to celebrate our honeymoon. We are from Chicago and traveled to Chiusi with the help from a family friend who recommended this villa to us. We stayed for 7 nights in the Fellini Suite and the days and nights we spent just at the villa when we weren't out exploring were the absolute most amazing days of our lives. The people that work at this place are the most friendly and accommodating people we have ever met. Mostly everyone spoke great English which helped because we definitely do not speak Italian although my husband tried his very best. I unfortunately got the flu while I was there and the receptionist with the dark hair (we unfortunately forgot her name) called the pharmacy in town for us to explain my symptoms in italian to them and called my husband a cab and when he got there they had the medicine ready for us. So sweet that she went out of her way to help us. Aside from the amazingly friendly staff, the restaurants there were just amazing... And the WINE! We had a welcoming dinner in the restaurant on the first floor with many courses and champagne and wine and just top of the line food. The La Taverna that is located in the old wine cellar had the most delicious authentic food. The pici pasta was just amazing, the chef gave us some to bring home, we cannot wait to make it! The villa we stayed in ... Omg. When we first got there the man who brought our luggage up pushed open the window shutters and the view was absolutely breath taking. We have never seen anything so beautiful it looked like a picture! The whole experience there was just so awesome, we will definitely be back!!!! Thank you Patriarca for your amazing service, friendliness and for making our honeymoon unforgettable! Grazie!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    68
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
176
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent experience at this hotel. The room is very comfortable, medium size, with nice amenities and comfortable bed. The bathroom is big ( surprising for European standards ), full of amenities and beautiful marble tile. Breakfast that is included in room rate is outstanding with a huge selection of options, including eggs, cheeses, cold meets cuts, juices, fruits, and a huge assortment of pastry. Parking in site. The service is excellent at all level. The girls at the front desk very helpful and willing to advise you on directions and tips of sites to visit.
Since the hotel is in the middle of Tuscany you can easily drive to different medievel villages each day and retur to your base home.
Avoid rooms with connecting doors since will hear noise from the adjacent room. From the highway which is like 2 km distance you will not hear any noise. The restaurant is a must to visit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at Il Patriarca was a real treat, so very special. We stayed for one night in the Fellini suite and it was simply wonderful. On arrival, Gianluigi from reception, kindly showed us around the hotel and grounds. His enthusiasm for the hotel and it’s history was infectious. We fell in love with the hotel through his commentary and knowledge. The room was incredibly beautiful, with modern facilities but decorated in a style in keeping with the period. The view from our window was simply breathtaking. I took so many photos of the view! The white marble bathroom was also photographed! The room has everything you could need, including Sky and surround sound system. The control panels beside the bed work everything in the room – my advice is do not play with them whilst your companion is in the shower as they also operate the bathroom lights as my sister found out!!! The hotel is beautiful, but it is not pretentious and you feel instantly at ease. After afternoon tea we wandered through the trees down to the swimming pool. It looked so appealing, and the view across the adjoining nursery was idyllic but in the heat of the day and a sudden need to eat(!) we decided to head back to our room for a siesta and light snack. As this was a special treat we ordered room service and had mozzarella and tomatoe, a fruit salad and bottle of white wine. We did not expect such lovely fresh food or generous portions. The hotel has a Michelin star restaurant and Taverna. We decided to go to the Taverna and sat outside on the terrace as the evening was so warm. The chef cooked the meat in the roaring flames of the oven in the taverna. The food was delicious. Simple food, cooked very well. We slept soundly after our delicious meal. The bed was so comfortable and huge! We went for breakfast at 9am and were disappointed that there was no hot breakfast or bread left. We mentioned this to the waiter and he said that he would get some. We got a bit confused by the long wait as we thought he would simply replenish the main counter, but as we were the only people left to eat he brought out freshly cooked bacon, eggs and baked bread just for us. It was very enjoyable. We were sad to check out and very much hope to be able to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Villa 11 Patriarca in Chiusi Tuscany was the oldest but one of the most beatiful hotels we stayed at in Italy several weeks ago. I felt I was in the guest room of a castle with high vaulted ceilings, nice bathroom fixtures, double doors leading to a balcony, fine drapery etc. The beautiful shaded courtyard behind the hotel was the perfect retreat from the heat - deep cushioned lounge chairs and excellent service from the bar. Continue past the courtyard and you come to the stone steps that take you down to a awesome infinity pool overlooking the vineyards below. Very nice continental breakfast included. Great value !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a beautiful place. A 'manor' stay on a modest budget. Highlights are the stone swimming pool overlooking the Chiusi countryside, and Luigi the concierge who was beyond helpful. I hope they pay him what he's worth. Supermarket down the road, and the grounds are generally very beautiful.

TIPS:
- MUST hire a car. We didn't and it was a royal (and royally expensive) pain in the butt.
- MUST spend the day in Montepulciano: quaint, medieval town about a 30 minute drive away. Start at the top and walk down.
- DON'T eat at the Taverna adjoining the hotel. The staff are very rude, the food is quite ordinary and there is an amazing restaurant 5 minutes down the road as part of Hotel Rosa, which serves authentic Tuscan fare and offers a great selection of red wines from around the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for one night, it was a coincidence that we have chosen il patriarca. The hotel is located one minute away from the highway-exit, very quiet area, beautiful park, large swimming pool in an amazing place with view over the vally. The hotel is a former historical building, high ceilings, large rooms, fantastic style. The entrance to the room (nr. 233) is further insulated from the corridor noises by a second internal door, which is great.

This one of the best hotels in, I've experienced in Italy. The only thing to watch out: I presume that the peaceful atmosphere may get disturbed, if there is a wedding or other kinds of get-togethers. The hotel is clearly meant to host such events.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

A great hotel with friendly staff, as well as excellent food and rooms. We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely love to come back again.

Room Tip: This is not close to the Chiusi train station and they do not provide a shuttle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Il Patriarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Patriarca

Address: Strada Statale 146, Localita Querce al Pino, 53043 Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chiusi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Il Patriarca 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa il Patriarca, antica residenza nobiliare del XIX secolo, e oggi, dopo un'accurata ristrutturazione, un elegante hotel quattro stelle e sede di ben due ristoranti: la conviviale Taverna e il pluripremiato I Salotti, guidato dalla giovane e talentuosa chef Katia Maccari, che dal 2003 e insignito di una Stella Michelin. La villa, di antichissime origini, poggia le fondamenta sull'originale costruzione di epoca etrusco-romana, della quale, all'interno, sono visibili, attraverso degli oblo, gli antichi granai perfettamente conservati, che contribuiscono a creare un'atmosfera davvero suggestiva. Tutt'intorno si distende il parco di pini e cipressi, visibile anche dalla piscina in travertino, direttamente affacciata sul panorama naturale. Il nostro hotel dispone di 22 camere, dotate di ogni comfort; alcune rispecchiano fedelmente lo stile tipico toscano, altre sono piu eleganti e ricercate negli arredi. Per chi desideri l'atmosfera magica di stucchi e damaschi, puo trovarla nelle due esclusive Suites dedicate alla celeberrima coppia Federico Fellini e Giulietta Masina, che erano soliti trascorrere lunghi periodi di relax e "dolce vita" avendo eletto Villa il Patriarca a loro dimora privilegiata in Toscana. E' qui che Fellini ha immaginato e ambientato "8 e 1/2", il suo piu grande capolavoro. Le camere sono dotate di tutti i comfort: aria condizionata, tv lcd, minibar, servizi privati, connessione internet WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Il Patriarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Patriarca Hotel Chiusi
Hotel Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca Hotel
Villa Il Patriarca Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Il Patriarca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.