We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accomodation in Chiusi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo La Sfinge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo La Sfinge to your Saves list
Albergo La Sfinge
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marconi 2 | angolo via Porsenna, 53043 Chiusi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chiusi
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfortable accomodation in Chiusi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

There is not a lot of choice of accomodation in the hill town of Chiusi for travellers without a car. This hotel was very comfortable and convenient for our three night stay. Clean, with comfortable twin beds and ensuite bathroom. We did not have a problem communicating with the owners even though our Italian and their English was minimal.They provided us with all we required but we didn't see them very much. It was good value but breakfast was not provided. We bought that about 50 metres away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    1
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WA state
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Located a few kilometers from the train station (e.g. a taxi ride away), in the ancient village part of Chiusi, it was an ideal one-night spot for us. Our light-yellow room with good views was on the third floor (I don't believe there is an elevator), and while not spacious, was adequate, outfitted with hangers, bedside tables and (I think) reading lamps and had minimal "geegaw" decorating things.

The owners were available, helpful and pleasant.....made our dinner reservations in the La Solita Zuppa restaurant next door. Turned out to be a memorable meal of good food and wines (though you should read the restaurant reviews if you're thinking of going there because they are mixed, but accurate).

We really enjoyed the Etruscan Museum and city park with E. ruins, walking around this peaceful village and sitting outside for coffee or beer, etc. at the central square "bar" where everyone seems to gather to visit with their neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

After booking rooms at this hotel, I tried multiple times to contact them to confirm the reservation. Expedia also tried multiple times for me. They refused to respond to emails and phone calls. Finally, the Expedia rep told me to stop trying, find a new place and stop payment on my credit card - which I did. We stayed at the Borgo Dolciano for half the price, great service and clean rooms.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfingeetrusca, Proprietario at Albergo La Sfinge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
If a client book through Expedia booking is automatically confirmed, there is no need to reconfirm by phone.
Unfortunately, not showing up at the check in and not having given notice, he had to pay for the room.

Se un cliente prenota tramite Expedia la prenotazione è automaticamente confermata, non c'è bisogno di riconfermarla telefonicamente.
Purtroppo non presentandosi al chek in e non avendo dato disdetta, ha dovuto pagare la camera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Cycled with Bike Team Keymove, through Tuscany. This was one of the hotels we stayed at. It was well located, clean and quiet. We had a nice room with a view and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here for four nights for a friends wedding. Our room (22) was a nice size, bright and clean, good comfortable furnature and a nice wetroom style bathroom.
Pro's are Price, Location, and very clean.
Con's are that the owner's accomidation is on the second floor and he is a smoker. unfortunatly that carrys into the hall and is off putting when you step out of the room... Breakfast is not included, but that is fine as there is a lovely cafe just around the corner.

I would return here again but maybe to the first or third floor

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My wife and I and our teenage daughters just stayed three days with Roberto and Laura in Chiusi ("Q-C"). We had a suite of two bedrooms, each with queen bed, and a lovely full bathroom, with views out across the Tuscan hills, plus breakfast, all for just 100 euros a night! Antique furnishings, A/C, and plenty of storage was only outshined by the location - a two minute walk from the old town's restaurants, museums, and shops. We especially liked Il Bucchero for fresh pesto gnocchi and mixed grill skewers of local sausage, lamb, and pork, not to mention very reasonable local wines. Roberto offered to drive us to nearby Lake Trasimeno for swimming at the lovely public beach - warm shallow water, fine sandy beach, lots of shade - the market across from the hotel had everything we needed for a picnic. The train is a convenient return to Chiusi, but if the day is hot, call for a taxi from the beach to the station, as it's ~2 mile walk with little shade.
We didn't have a car, but the bus to Montepulciano (2.4 Euros/person) leaves several times each day just down the street from the hotel, ~45 minute ride. We had a great day exploring and shopping there, not crowded at all despite Montepulciano's reputation and fame, then bussed back to take in the Chiusi museums - the "all in one" pass from the information center is a deal - our girls loved the two underground tours included: "Porsenna's Labryinth", the warren of ancient Etruscan water tunnels under the city, now partly excavated and restored, the Roman cistern under the chucrh belltower, and the Town Museum underground tour of wine storage, tomb relics, and the underground lake over 75' below the surface. Great to be cool underground when the afternoon is hot.
Roberto and Laura were charming and helpful, and the town quiet and picturesque, a welcome break from so many touristy towns we had been to. This was our next to last stay on our month-long trip through Europe, and Hotel Sfinge was one of our favorite accomodations. We want to come back in the fall some year for the harvest!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY. AUSTRALIA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We chose Chiusi because we wanted a quiet place as our base for seeing Tuscany. We travelled by train from Florence, hired a car in Chiusi, then again trained it to Rome.
From Chiusi we managed the driving quite well. It's the wrong side of the road for us Aussies, so we didn't want to have the extra hassle of navigating in heavy traffic to start off, so Chiusi was easy !
We loved Montepulciano, Cetona and Citta della Pieve.

The Albergo La Sfinge hotel is a great place to stay ! It's easy to find in the old part of Chiusi, with magnificent views of the surrounding area, and an easy stroll through the charming township to restaurants, shops and Catacombs. Rooms are very comfortable and clean and full of character.
Robert is an excellent host, he helped us with directions, dropped us to the car hire office and provided assistance with gentlemanly style.

  • Liked — Personal Service
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo La Sfinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo La Sfinge

Address: Via Marconi 2 | angolo via Porsenna, 53043 Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Chiusi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo La Sfinge 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo La Sfinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Sfinge Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo La Sfinge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.