We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio Piglia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Poggio Piglia to your Saves list
Poggio Piglia
Macciano | Provincia Siena, 53043 Chiusi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

a warm reception in a beautiful house with stunning views.The room had the best hotel bathroom ever in terms of design ( not enough water pressure for the shower ). The room was also lovely with a comfy bed. Nice breakfast , the restaurant does not open on monday evenings, we were recommended to go to a trattoria in Chiusi which was fantastic, all well organised by the hotel manager

we would like to return in summer to take advantage of the beautiful pool and terraces, all with stunning views

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
86
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in a wonderful room over looking the orchards-we woke every morning to a delicious breakfast. Each day we left early to explore and came back to the pool to unwind with a glass of wine. The restaurant on-site was so good we only ate out one night of our entire stay. The staff was so graceful and kind-we hated to leave. We left with a bottle of olive oil and wine producted by Pogio Piglia. Highly recommend to anyone. Hoping to return someday!

Room Tip: Small sign at driveway entrance on a bend in road - just use caution so you do not miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great stay at Poggio Piglia. The location was perfect for us located between Assisi and Sienna. Hotel is very new and the style is fantastic - rustic, minimalist, elegant, and modern. Hotel manager, Paulo, was great and always willing to serve. You will definitely need a car when staying here and it is worth being a bit out of town. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Driving up to this hotel is a wow moment, the building is lovely as are the grounds. The welcome is warm and friendly and the rooms are clean, spacious and modern, whilst retaining a Tuscan charm, with breathtaking views.
Breakfast was excellent with lots of typical Italian choice and it was really difficult not to spend several hours working through all that was on offer, especially the cake. Coffee was disappointing, we felt a proper coffee machine would have produced a much better coffee than the Nespresso.
Dinner in the restaurant was lovely, excellent service, exceptional wine, and as we were there for five nights we were able to work our way through the small but delicious menu and being given the recipe for the chef's own Jam was utterly delightful. And, the chocolate souffle is to die for.
The only criticism we had, and this is very personal to us, was that the hotel was full of young honeymoon couples, which was lovely, but as older people we did feel a bit odd and a little intrusive, despite the fact that we are perfectly used to the company of young things. There is a lovely sitting room on the second floor, but we didn't really feel it somewhere we could sit and perhaps read and whilst I am perfectly fine lying on my bed and reading, my partner would have liked somewhere perhaps less public than the bar area to sit and relax, sometimes you just need to take a pause from sightseeing.
The terrace was a perfect place to sit but the weather whilst perfect for sightseeing, was not always warm enough to sit outside and we did have a bit of a problem with mosquitoes.
A car is a necessity for this location.
In short, loved the hotel, loved the food, loved the staff, loved the location, would recommend highly and if you like young people, a place not to miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The moment I laid eyes on this villa I immediately knew I had to stay there on our vacation. This farmhouse-in-a-previous life has been remodeled in clean and modern fashion, but without losing any of its countryside charm. The suites are spacious and with plenty of storage, the beds are perfect and the large bathroom and rainshower is a bonus I loved. I like the fact that there are very few rooms, so it feels more like a home than a hotel. The pool is just gorgeous, and the dining area with a vista of the Tuscan countryside is beautiful. Paulo helped welcome us to this fabulous place and he did an amazing job of giving us suggestions on where to go and what to see. He helped us get much more out of our time in the area and we were very grateful for that. We will definately be booking another stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in four different places in Italy and Poggio Piglia was by far the best hotel we visited (and this is compared to some five star hotels in Rome as a reference).

The beauty of the property, attention to detail, friendly and helpful staff, delicious and fresh food (they picked figs from their garden for breakfast for me!), gorgeous views, and proximity to interesting places in Tuscany make this the best choice. Their house made wine was also very delicious and reasonably priced. I highly recommend their light lunch as well!

Paolo and Barbara went ABOVE AND BEYOND for us during our trip, helping coordinate transportation to other cities to which we were traveling, suggesting activities during our stay in Tuscany as well as our future destinations, while working non-stop to make all the guests feel welcome and comfortable.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, the rooms are HUGE (especially for Europe) and the amenities are very impressive. The shower was beautifully done and the decour in the room and throughout the hotel was modern and rustic and so lovely.

We are already planning our trip back to Italy just to return to this hotel. Can't express how much we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I liked everything about the Poggio Piglia! The grounds and hotel are absolutely beautiful! Our room was very roomy which is not the norm in Europe and it was extremely comfortable. The bathroom... Oh the bathroom. Gorgeous! We had a whirlpool tub and a very large rain shower. There is also an infinity pool which overlooks the Tuscan countryside.

Breakfast is included and I see other people have complained about the size of it. I think they complain because American's expect a large breakfast, but this is not the Italian way. I think the breakfast was perfect and actually included more than most hotels would. The dinners are fantastic! We tried something different each night and every meal was better than the last. You also have a chance to meet some of the other guests (you are not forced to) and socialize if you want to. Make sure you ask to taste their wine and olive oil. It's delicious and and available for sale.

The location is perfect. You definitely need a car to get there and to get around. It's a great spot for exploring and driving around the region.

The staff is very warm, friendly, and helpful. Especially Paolo. He certainly made us feel welcome.

We cannot wait to head back to Tuscany and we will definitely be back at the Poggio Poglia!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poggio Piglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Piglia

Address: Macciano | Provincia Siena, 53043 Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chiusi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Piglia is a unique new Tuscan Hotel, designed to complement the historic beauty of this famous area. Painstakingly planned over a seven year period, the Poggio Piglia embodies the imagination and scrupulous attention to detail its owners have bestowed on the entire project.The location is unbeatable, specifically chosen to bring the entire Tuscan, Umbrian and Lazio areas within easy reach. The Poggio Piglia invites guests to revel in stunning landscapes and the legendary Tuscan atmosphere whilst being treated to legendary hospitality and pampered with every comfort imaginable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Poggio Piglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Piglia Hotel Chiusi
Poggio Piglia Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio Piglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.