We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay in toscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Giardino degli Etruschi

Save Saved
You added Al Giardino degli Etruschi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
localita Dolcianello,32, 53043 Chiusi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Chiusi B&B and Inns
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family stay in toscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were looking for a place in toscany were we would find:

- beautiful landscape
- nice and friendly surroundings
- quietness
- time with our children, without city-speed
- Good food , and the chance to cook it ourselves, og to try local supper

We found it all with Carolina & Paulo, at this beautiful b&b.

Though we have to say it was more than a usual b&b, because of the big nice pool, the great beds, and the outstanding surroundings. And both Carolina and Paulo, gave us good advices about where to go on daytrips or where to eat, etc.

Being from Denmark, we missed breakfast with more fruit and healthy bread - but hey, thats italy - and every morning Carolina and Paulo met us with warm smiles and good black coffee.

As other guest have written, the train is a bit of a "downer" the first few times, but we more or less forgot about it, as we enjoyed the pool or local wine on the terrasse.

Oh - and we rented the "apartment", perfect for a family!

We hope to come back one day - and should you ever go there yourself - give our warmest hugs and smiles to Paulo and Carolina - and thank them for the best tomatos ever tasted :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Paolo and Carolina gave us a very warm welcome at their B&B. Every detail is thought of, from the homemade cake at breakfast to the very elaborate advice about where to eat. They are very thoughtful. We loved lounging at the big pool and the rooms are decorated in a beautiful old Tuscan style.

A stay at this B&B is an absolute MUST.

Paolo and Carolina, Thanks for the memorable stay!

Sintia& Jeroen

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Carolina and Paolo are very sweet people, and they have created a pleasant B and B. If you are looking for a spa, or fancy hotel type accommodations, this is not your place. However it is a tranquil and inviting rennovated farm house. Breakfasts are truly Italian, not elaborate, leaving one with an appetite for lunch (this was a plus for us). Paolo and Carolina were very kind to us. They gave us great recommendations, and when they heard we were having car troubles gave us their cell phone and told us to call them if we got stranded and they would come and collect us. They insisted we call them from the road, as they were generally worried about us. They were relieved when we told them we made it to Florence. I think they are very special people, and while the facilities are pleasant (including the geese that welcome you and the friendly nearby falcon), they are the main draw.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We wanted a countryside B&B as a base from which to explore both Umbria & Tuscany by car, without having to move. Al Gardino degali Etruschi fitted perfectly. Chiusi itself is an interesting place well placed to get to/away by rail or highway but a car is needed to fully experience the area.
After our first day of driving in Italy & a few unexpected adventures on the way down from Venice we arrived late,stressed & cranky to a genuinely lovely warm welcome from Carolina& Paolo. Right away the vibe kicked in.
One could stay longer here. We should have made an extra day just to relax by the pool or patio or in the lovely old rambling gardens that wrap around the house in a sort of protective way. The renovations have been done properly, adding modern amenity without detracting at all from the gracious look & feel of this fine old Tuscan country home. We loved our comfortable room, its traditional bedcover the shiny terracotta floors, old ceiling beams & dappled morning sun through the oak outside our window.
Carolina & Paolo are great hosts, well connected & knowledgable about special places & restaurant suggestions. We couldnt have asked for any more & our stay at their home was a highlight of our long trip through Italy & France. We wish them all the best with this venture.They are certainly making a fantastic go if it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Purely by accident we found this B and B on "BandB Planet" and made a 2 night reservation. We subsequently changed this to 5 nights and did not regret the decision.
Located about 5 km (3 miles) from the Chuisi train station this Band B is idealy located near the old Hill Town of Chuisi - full of Etruscan history (check out the Museum) as well as the modern "lower town".
It is also ideally located close to (easy driving distances) to many Tuscan Hill a few. The Tuscan landscape is stunning to drive through.
Carolina and Paulo are wonderful hosts.Full of suggestions for day trips and where to eat locally. Both are hard workers and make you feel right at home. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable, and the "great room" is a delightful evening gathering place where hosts and guests can socialise and get to know one another. Our nights there saw a few bottles of local wine and Lemoncello enjoyed by all.
While nestled between a busy highway and a major rail line the facility is amazingl quiet. Even with open windows the quietness is pervasive.
Both Carolina and Paulo are justifiably proud of the surrounding groomed gardens and pool area (closed when we were there in October - no surprise). Lots of seating areas, contemplation nooks and just quiet spots to get away from it all!
Try to get to know Tanguy and Camilla the resident guard geese who will welcome you from their enclosed area near the parking lot!
While "breakfast" is provided be advised that while entirely adequate it is a "light" breakfast. Cereal, milk, yogurt, juice, brewed coffee (warm milk on request) tuscan bread (tuscan bread is baked with no salt and is usually in our experience almost stale no reflection on our hosts) butter jam and jelly.
Every day there is a new "cake" or baking item available. Also they will supply a cheese and meat platter upon request.
Entirely adequate. Just dont anticipate bacon and eggs and lots of warm toast!!
Carolina speaks wonderful English while Paulo in his exuberence manages to communicate as only Italians can!!
We loved every moment of our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are on 1st Floor (2nd for Americans and others not familiar with European floor numbering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was great to see Carolina and Paolo waiting to welcome us on the steps of the house and offer us a great cup of coffee and cake. The rooms were very comfortable and offer a sense of peace and wellbeing. The small gift of local honey and a hand written note in the room made you feel special. Both Carolina and Paolo a special effort to point you in the direction of local places to eat (try the Osteria Da Gagliano) and see. After a great nights sleep you are offered a good breakfast. Try this place if you want to feel special and to relax after a busy day exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is the perfect place for exploring Tuscany. Just outside of the historic center of Chiusi, where there are Estruschan ruins and catacombs as well as great restaurants, this little gem is driving distance to almost any Tuscan hill town you want to visit. (you will need a car)
It is better than home away from home (because at home you have to do things for yourself)!
We had an exceptional experience here. Carolina and Paolo were wonderful. I don't think there was anything they could have done to make us feel more welcome. I travel a lot, and I don't know any people I have ever encountered in my entire life who were more friendly and genuine.
There were seven of us, so you would think a couple of proprietors might be a little stressed by a large group of noisy americans descending on their property. They went above and beyone to make each and every one of us feel special.
Paolo enthusiastically helped us with our travel itinerary every day.
OK, too much gushing, you probably want to know about the accomodations:
Lovely grounds,
sparkling pool,
abundant great food (be sure to have them cook you dinner at least once- it was amazing food, great value, and better than most restaurants we found)
Clean, simple rooms with
Clean bathrooms that functioned well.
There are five rooms off a central living space in the upstairs of this large farmhouse. The breakfast room is downstairs in the back of the house, and it opens to their patio where you can choose to have breakfast if you want.
I hate to say this because I love them so much, but there is not air conditioning or ceiling fans. We were fine in June but I wonder if the rooms get a little hot in the summer - something to check with them about.

Great Value, and a great experience all around. We had so much fun there!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Giardino degli Etruschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Giardino degli Etruschi

Address: localita Dolcianello,32, 53043 Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chiusi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Al Giardino degli Etruschi" is a lovely bed&breakfast in the tuscan countryside, surrounded by nature but easly reachable from the motorway.Its position makes it an ideal starting point for your visits to the most important art cities but also for a walk through the fields or even for horse and bike rides.We have 5 beautiful rooms all of which are furnished with taste and provided with private bathroom with shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Al Giardino degli Etruschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Giardino Degli Etruschi Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Giardino degli Etruschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.