We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in a perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grande Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grande Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Grande Italia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rione S Andrea, 597 | Piazzetta Vigo, 30015 Chioggia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Chioggia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I thought the hotel was in a fantastic location, the market is right outside your door, the staff were lovely and the rooms were a good size. The breakfast room was overcrowded and short staffed. The biggest let down was the food in the restaurant in the evening, it was just awful. This was a shame because the restaurant had a nice ambience to it and the waitresses were delightful . This place has so much going for it they need a new chef and it would be great. We ate there as a group and it was 100% consensus that the food was awful some of it inedible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
75
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

(Sorry if this review roughly pops up twice, seemed to error out on last submission last night.)

If going for Chioggia this hotel honestly deserves 5 stars, if Venice is your main goal it deserves 2 for a misleading website claiming it is closer than it is. For the purposes of the stars, I rating it based on going to Chioggia (nice place) and pulling something off for their failure to inform us of the best way to get to Venice.

The good to great: Location (for Chioggia), View, Price for suite with kids, Clean room, modern bathroom, best included breakfast we had on our trip through Italy, proximity to ferry, bikes (at fee) for going to beach, quiet rooms (important with huge Thursday market outside of hotel).

The so so: room itself was dated looking. Didn't care because it was fully function and clean.

The bad: Hotel claims to be 45 minutes from Venice. Possibly if you have a speed boat or private car service that is correct. For most people you will take one of these methods:

Fastest: Bus - Over an hour each way and a will require a 10 minute walk. Bus stop is also slightly off the beaten path. Bus is very good (think step below tour bus but much nicer than normal city bus). Tickets need to be bought at one of the tobacco shops.

Direct Ferry - 1:45 or so. Leaves Chioggia only at 9:15AM and return departure from Venice is only at 5PM. This gives you no night view of Venice and only about 5 1/2 hours in the City. The few seats in the front of the ferry are a great way to travel on a nice day though.

24 hour Ferry - This is hell. 2:45 there. Took us 3:45 back due to service dropping to hourly later and getting stuck in Lido for the next bus. Honestly the path is ferry - to bus - bus boards next ferry - bus departs that ferry and drives across another island ending at Lido ferry terminal - to ferry to Venice. (Of note, while bus drops off at Lido terminal, in our case the pickup for return to Chioggia apparently was 100M or so down the main road that is perpendicular to the Lido ferry terminal.).

In any event, it would be wise for the hotel to pass out a sheet to tourist that explains the ways into Venice and the times. If they did that we would have made better decisions. And, we wouldn't have been so disappointed with the front desk for suggesting the slow ferry system the first afternoon we got into town (if we had been told about the bus it would have saved us more than 3 hours of commuting time and we would have returned far earlier than the 1:40AM we got back).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been in Hotel Grande Italia 5 nights during the fishers men festival. We had a junior sweet in a combo with bikes an a beach bed and beach umbrella. The beach is a 20 minutes ride by bike. If you don't have the combo than you can rent the bike (necessary to go to the beach). From Chioggia to Venice you need about 1,5 hours (boat, bus, boat).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Bestest location! We were fortunate to stay there during a local featival - with bands playing in the square outside our window during the evening - with an electrical storm as a backdrop.
We booked a suite with extra beds - so had enough room for the whole family. Better value than two separate rooms - bit still more than what we paid elsewhere on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely hotel right on the edge of the dock area and central to the old part of town. Staff on the front desk friendly and helpful in sorting out a few things for us. The room we had was large - a little dated but spotlessly clean. Bathroom small but recently updated and again perfectly clean. Breakfast fantastic spread. AC centrally controlled. It was hot when we were there - we asked for the temp in our room to be lowered a couple of times, I just don't think the AC was up to it. Wifi free and coverage pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks/Notts border
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location of this hotel on the waterfront and in front of the Piazza in Chioggia is magnificent. We had a suite on the first floor with lounge double bedroom entrance hall and ensuite. It had double aspect windows overlooking the Piazza and the waterbus stop to S. Marco. The air conditioning on a searing hot day was wonderful, and and ice cold drink from the mini bar very refreshing. The decor particularly in the restaurant breakfast room and staircase are quite stunning, and the hotel staff in general and in particular Jeulia on reception could not be more friendly and helpful. We were extremely pleased with the choice and quality of food at breakfast and the occasional snack taken outside at lunchtime in front of the Piazza. Secure car parking if booked in advance is very reassuring and enabled our luggage to be carried only a few yards into the hotel. Internet is available, but this has to be purchased and works out at €1 per hour and care should be taken to log off after usage less the hours run out without use.
This is the 9th hotel we have stayed in during our five weeks motoring tour of Italy. We think it the most fascinating and quintessentially Italian of them all thus far. We hired a boat to sail on the Lagoon and thoroughly enjoyed our exploration of the back streets canals and various bars in this small town.
It has been absolutely delightful to stay at this hotel and we wish Jeulia and her colleagues every success in the future

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor overlooking the waterfront and Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on business, and was pleased at the location in relation to the water taxi to Venice, and the large choices of bars and restaurants.

The staff are very polite and helpful, the rooms are old, and a bit dated, but spotless clean.

The breakfast is the best part of my stay here, a great choice for all tastes, and impeccable service.

Would stay here again if I visited Chioggia, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, on a clear day you can see Venice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grande Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grande Italia

Address: Rione S Andrea, 597 | Piazzetta Vigo, 30015 Chioggia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Chioggia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chioggia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grande Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grande Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Italia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grande Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.