We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restauarant in center of old Chiavari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria Luchin

Antica Osteria Luchin
Via Bighetti 51, 16403 Chiavari, Italy
0185 301063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 112 Restaurants in Chiavari
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Restauarant in center of old Chiavari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good restaurant and great introduction to local Ligurian specialties - the plain farinata was delicious. Good fish and other specialties. Service was good and waiter liked trying out his English. Recommend this to travellers in Chiavari area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    116
    75
    47
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maybe the best lunch we had in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had read about Luchin in David Downie's food book on Liguria and were driving from Santa Margherita Ligure to Monterosso, a mere hour away. We decided to voyage with our rental car and try to find Luchin. TOTALLY worth it. We got a parking space a block away and were able to get a table immediately (it was lunchtime). The farinata was SO good and SO unique; I wish we'd been able to find some like it again after that. Awesome minestrone, maybe the best I've ever had. And of course, being Liguria, trofie with pesto for some of the family. A great detour and not fancy, but you felt the history and this is one of those places why traveling and eating in Italy is so much fun.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had primi, secundi and desert. Each piece was great. Price is fair, quality is great. Even the cheap house wine was delicious (attested by a French expert!). Waitress was quick and friendly. Location is perfect for a nice evening. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Get there early!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I think they take reservations, but we didn't do that. They opened about 7:30, and we got there a few minutes later and the outside tables were filled. We waited just a few minutes and got a table for four, sitting with a young German couple, Hilmar and Jeanine, who spoke great English. This enhanced the experience further. I thought Luchin would be the only place we would find farinata in the area. Not so, but it was some of the best we had. Definitely try the typical Ligurian menu items, trofie with pesto, farinata, fried anchovies or fried fruita de mare. I never tried fried anchovies before this night, and I got hooked on them at Luchin. A little pricey, but not the most expensive in the area. Go for the vino bianco de la casa. I'm not a connosiur but it was certainly very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty Ligurian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Love their faranata. It is fantastic! Also great lentil and vegetable soups. Casual dining and great service. It was closed on Sunday when I visited in September 2011, but I am looking forward to visiting them again in a few weeks.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Luchin also viewed

Chiavari, Italian Riviera
Chiavari, Italian Riviera
 
Chiavari, Italian Riviera
Chiavari, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Antica Osteria Luchin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria Luchin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.