We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Milano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Roma 46 | Chianciano Terme, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Rifle, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel, with a great rate, including breakfast. It is conveniently located near the hot springs/spa and near a quaint cafe. The restaurant in the hotel was phenomenal with a wonderful friendly staff and tasty local food. We initially were greeted by a man who's family owns the villa associated with the hotel, and he was the cutest, most helpful man I have met on our Italian vacation

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    52
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My first time in Chianciano Terme and after following the reviews was so happy to find everything beyond expectations. The room was lovely with a gorgeous view from our window, close walk to some beautiful little restaurants including Tribeca which is an absolute must. The owner Giampaulo (hope i spelled that right) was so lovely, spoke English, gave us amazing advice and service. Breakfast was beautiful with a big selection...croissants were amaaaazing... And again great service from Claudio who remembered our coffee preferences, very sweet! The bed was on the hard side, but wow how can you possibly go wrong. Wake up to beautiful view, room, service, advice. Thumbs up. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

For the Siena/Chiusi area the town of Chinaciano Terme offers a great number of hotels. We chose this one and stayed 4 days from its TripAdvisor rating and weren't diappointed. Room was large, spotless and daily service good. We ate breakfast, a lunch and a dinner here. All were excellent. The owner Giampaulo was great, showing us where to go locally, directing us to a local (and excellent) winery and just being overall helpful to a couple of travelling Canadians new to the area. Hill towns like Montepuluciano is about 20 mins away and there is an excellent Etruscan museum 2 kms away.
No complaints at all

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My daughter and I had wonderful time in Grand Hotel Milano in Chianciano. We really felt ourselves at home. The owners and staff of the hotel were very friendly and hospitable. They kindly helped us with our numerous requests as we do not speak Italian. They remember our names – it was so nice!
The rooms are fresh and spacious with nice views. The food is very tasty and plentiful. 4-5 courses for dinner and lunch. Breakfast is just excellent – big selection of sweets and fruits, cereal, milk products, eggs and delicious Italian coffee!
The hotel location is very suitable for those ones who came to Chianciano for treatment – it is just 100 meters from the medical center, Park Santa and Park Fucoli. At the medical center doctors speak French and English as well.
Terme Sensoriali is also very close to the hotel – this is the place with exclusive programmes integrating health, wellness and relaxation with sport and nature.
In the hotel it is possible to rent a bike and explore the beautiful surroundings.
We did enjoy the trips to medieval Montepulchano, kindly organized for us in the hotel. It is just 15 minutes driving. We loved it so much and went there twice:-)
I am very happy that we selected Grand Hotel Milano for our stay in Chianciano and I am more than happy to recomend it to anyone who is going to stay in Chianciano!
The level of service and value for money are beyond praise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We visited Italy with a tour group, so we didn't have a choice as to where we stayed. That said, this hotel wasn't bad at all. The beds were a bit firmer than what I'm used to, and our room was cold at night, but we found that by running the hair dryer, it helped quite a bit. The staff doesn't speak English fluently, but Jon Paul, the owner, was quite patient as we tried to figure out the Italian word for blanket, while he tried to figure out the English word for the same. He finally gave up and asked us to show him, and when we did, he immediately got us another blanket. The hotel is about a block away from the Le Fonti Bar, where we ate about every night, mainly because the staff was so friendly, patient, and funny.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

The Hotel Milano is a quaint hotel in the lovely town of Chianciano. It is staffed by a half dozen wonderful people who go out of their way to make you feel at home. Marco at the the front desk is helpful and considerate, Claudio in the kitchen and dining room makes great dinner suggestions and Jon Paul, who is the owner takes a very hands-on approach to ownership.
It is a great home base for travel around Italy and perfectly situated on the quiet main road, close to shopping and great food. I was perfectly at home in the hotel lobby in my casual clothes watching monday night futbol with the other hotel guests.
Views out of the rooms are amazing and look out on the Tuscany landscape.
Beautiful!

  • Liked — The staff and the view
  • Disliked — there wasn't a shower curtain?? (Is that a European thing?)
  • Tips/Secrets — Save room for the Hotel dinner.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Milano

Address: Viale Roma 46 | Chianciano Terme, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.