We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Boston
Piazza Italia 5, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
lancs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just returned from trip with riviera travel. I agree with last review the hotel is just a base and to put your head down after a long day touring Italy. The meals were typical Italian and very good. The staff couldn't do enough for us. I think people who moan about this hotel should stick to there all inclusive package tours as this holiday is all about italian culture not sunbathing at the side of a pool. Yes the town was quiet but if you ventured out there was a couple of nice bars and ice cream parlours which served the most fantastic ice cream I've ever had. Ann cox our tour guide was great and a wealth of knowledge. Yes the hotel is a bit run down but very warm and homely I will be visiting there again. Thanks riviera travel we enjoyed our stay ten out of ten

Room Tip: Go on the sixth floor fantasic roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    22
    20
    16
See reviews for
4
34
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed with riveria travel.Future travellers please,do not be put off by negative reports.Yes the hotel is in a sleepy town,but you are never back from day excursions before 6pm so little spare time in town.
Nice piano bar straight out of hotel,along main road.5mins walk,where you can relax and watch the italians dance!!Bar area is nice,clean perfect for a relaxing drink in evening after a long day on your feet!.Treble brandy only 4 euros!(try paying that in Rome!!).Meals adequate and pleasently served,Reception staff helpful,rooms not as bad as made out to be,only had problem with air-con.Hotel has a small outside patio seating area too.It should be pointed out that Average cost of riveria tour is £650-£690 pp.includes all flights, airport transfers,all coach travel,meals,6nghts hotel accomodation,2 excellent walking tours with local proffesional guides in florence and sienna and excellent courier,Ann.
If you want Hilton/Sheraton standards then unfortunatly you have to pay the price,all our party were impressed by the ''value for money''and excellent iternitary and were well aware of the rumblings of members of other tour parties who obviously expected ''champagne tastes but with lemonade money''.It does not warrent the fawlty towers label,even though it is quirky.remeber it is in italys answer to Buxton!!!
In the past i have stayed at 5 star hotels in hong kong,uk,singapore,amsterdam,paris and many other destinations at each one i could have found fault with some aspect of the hotel,no hotel is perfect. The time spent at this hotel is limited to the evening and i found it a pleasant stay,remeber it is a tour,and therefore a base hotel.

Room Tip: Request the 6th floor if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A throw back to the 1970's. Tired, dirty and smelly. Our first room overlooked a garden rubbish tip. Underneath the window was the kitchen extractor chimney. The second room had a better view overlooking a derelict building! The antiquated shower cubicle had pubic hairs from the previous occupant. The pillows were filthy and heavily stained with what must have been bodily fluids. There was no hot water for the 3 days that we stayed. No one in the hotel or our Rep had an inclination to address this. The room is devoid of luxuries such as kettle, cups, tea or coffee.
The meals are nothing short of disgusting. All complaints are dealt with by a shrug of shoulders and then told that there's nothing that can be done.
The remainder of the hotel is dirty, smelly and very tired. It is without doubt nothing more than a glorified homeless persons shelter. If the prices and star rating reflected this then you pays your money and makes your choices.
Chianciano is nice enough for an afternoon. There is absolutely nothing open in an evening except tumbleweed blowing through the empty streets. Avoid this hotel if you are not used to sleeping in skips and eating out of bins!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Like most other reviewers we also went with Riviera travel as the first part of a two city tour. Like most other reviewers, and most of our fellow travellers, we were disappointed with the hotel. Optimistically described by the rep as having "character", it is actually severely below par for a claimed 4 star. The entrance and lobby is a bizarre mess of styles including faux C19 americana possibly done in the 1980s, Italian 1960s modernist, bad art sitting on easels, and cluttered furniture, and the restaurant is seriously tired and depressing. All the comments about noise transmission through the paper thin walls and tiled floors are absolutely right. The bathroom is seriously worn out, the bath is the narrowest I have ever nearly got stuck in (we are both skinny as rakes), the shower is underpowered, and amazingly the supply of hot water appears to be intermittent.

The food was dreary canteen style (we were on half board so ate there in the evenings), and the friendly and helpful waiting staff seemed almost embarrassed to serve it.

The guests seemed all to be in large groups, as we were, and it is difficult to believe that anyone would deliberately choose to stay there as individuals or families.

Chianciano seems to be a town full of hotels so it must be possible for Riviera to find a better one in a town which is well situated for the tour they run (Siena, Florence and Pienza before going to Rome via Assisi.)

Unfortunately the tour company do not offer a feedback facility, except for glowing testimonials, so I just hope that they look at Trip Advisor and make some changes for future tours.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Hotel needs a refurb but for a tour hotel the standard was acceptable. Food was fine if you picked wisely. Comfortable bed and clean rooms, shower needed a refit but always plenty of hot water. Rooms are noisy because of tile floors so you can hear chairs being moved overhead and the walls seem pretty thin. A few minor irritations - refusal to supply a jug of tap water at the table [in a spa town!], forced to buy bottled for 3 euros and a serious reluctance to take cash at the bar - "no change" - absolutely ridiculous. But it did the job and wasn't expensive. 3 rather than 4 star though.

Room Tip: just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just returned from a holiday with Riviera Travel and stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Could not fault the cleanliness of the room, the food or the friendly, accommodating staff. A very pleasant stay indeed - much better than the one we moved on to in Rome!
Location is handy for touring, but nothing much in Chianciano.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Four Stars...I don't think so.Faults with room when we arrived all sorted by next day without having to report them that was good but why not sort them before guests occupy room?
Paper thin walls, when room next door's alarm went off I checked ours think that had gone off ,it really did sound like it was in the same room. Shower is hopeless you have to hold it with one hand whilst showering unless you just want to shower from the neck down. Rooms are very old fashioned no hanging space. Dire view from window best to leave blinds closed. Meals were just about ok, no real complains just getting a coffee was a bit of a mission. One good thing was the staff, they were all very friendly and willing to help.
Riviera should drop this Hotel, it lets them down.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Boston

Address: Piazza Italia 5, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chianciano Terme
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Boston Chianciano Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.