We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Italia 5, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just returned from a holiday with Riviera Travel and stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Could not fault the cleanliness of the room, the food or the friendly, accommodating staff. A very pleasant stay indeed - much better than the one we moved on to in Rome!
Location is handy for touring, but nothing much in Chianciano.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Four Stars...I don't think so.Faults with room when we arrived all sorted by next day without having to report them that was good but why not sort them before guests occupy room?
Paper thin walls, when room next door's alarm went off I checked ours think that had gone off ,it really did sound like it was in the same room. Shower is hopeless you have to hold it with one hand whilst showering unless you just want to shower from the neck down. Rooms are very old fashioned no hanging space. Dire view from window best to leave blinds closed. Meals were just about ok, no real complains just getting a coffee was a bit of a mission. One good thing was the staff, they were all very friendly and willing to help.
Riviera should drop this Hotel, it lets them down.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve19_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chianciano Terme hotels

Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed for three nights in April 2011 as part of a package tour with Riviera travel.

The hotel is in a spar town and it was obviously early in the season and very sleepy. First impressions are good, the lobby , reception area and dining rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Free tea and coffee are provided in the afternoons and Adams bar is well stocked. They do however never seem to have any change and encourage you to put the drinks on your room bill. We had a set menu because we were a large group but the food was on the whole good, also a good selection at breakfast.

The rooms, or at least the ones our party used, were a different story. Paper thin walls meant you could hear the occupants of adjoining rooms breathing. The shower was out of the 1900's and hot water intermittant at best. If you dared to watch your TV there were no English channels.

The town itself is quite pleasant and quiet, lots of small boutique shops to browse but all very spread out and a 30 minute walk to a Spar shop.

So, on the whole a well kept, clean hotel in a pleasant town but the rooms let it down so badly I do not reccomend it at all.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Having just returned from a 3 night stay at the Boston as part of our Riviera 6 night cultural holiday, I do not agree with this hotel being classed as 4 star in its wildest dreams. It is tired and drab although I found it to be quite clean. It has no outlook, therefore curtains always kept closed. The dining room was cold and in fact I wore a fleece top at the evening meal after the first night. The breakfast was reasonable but the evening meals were very poor and tasteless and lukewarm,although I found the waiting on staff to be extremely pleasant, efficient and helpful .I also found the reception staff that I encountered to be quite pleasant. I would not return here or recommend it to anybody as a 4 star.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and I travelled with Riviera travel-a good company, but this hotel should be crossed off their list. The rooms are outdated, with wafer thin walls! We could hear every conversation from the adjoining room. The food served at breakfast and dinner was so substandard that it was a joke. The waiting staff did their best and were pleasant and helpful, which is more than can be said of the reception staff! To cap it all on our last day we returned in the evening to find our room door open and the room had not been done! Not to worry, they gave us a bottle of house wine for the inconvenience! Many members of our group were intending writing to Riviera about this hotel. The silly thing is ther are so many hotels in the town they could surely find another one. I think it is significant that our rep appeared to stay nexy door.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilgarriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Having just spent three nights there with Riviera Travel, I just find it hard to understand some of the petty grievances voiced. The food in the hotel was generally of a good / very good standard and served with friendly professionalism. Breakfast was served on a buffet basis, there was always plenty of choice , and the platters were replenished regularly. However, it must be devastating to travel all the way to Italy for a slice of toast and then have to queue!! The evening meals were of a good standard and reasonably priced. There is no need, in my opinion, to patronise the Bistro as there are a number of restaurants within a short walk.
The bedroom was reasonably clean and well maintained. However, our bathroom was in need of a re-furb. The shower was poor and the toilet loose. This did not seem to be a general problem with our group, though.
Although I cannot pretend to speak for our group, the consensus of opinion seemed generally to be quite positive

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Room furnishings basic
Road traffic noise a problem
Room left unlocked by housekeeping despite having told reception about this on too occasions
Breakfast limited range. Long wait at bread toaster which takes a long time and only one vaailable in dining area

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#31 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#19 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#34 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#21 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
#16 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
#18 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Boston

Address: Piazza Italia 5, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Boston Chianciano Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing