We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Bandino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palazzo Bandino to your Saves list
Palazzo Bandino
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Via Stiglianese 3, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visited Palazzo before the new SPA was built. We loved the family that run the hotell and the wineyard and the waiter Filippo was a very nice and entertaining man. The food is lovely and the surroundings are beautiful. Fully recommend Palazzo Bandino.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
93
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Make sure you take advantage of the spa while at the inn. After a long day of sightseeing, wine tasting and driving (getting lost is the norm in Italy), it was really nice to spend an hour or so relaxing and watching the sun set from the huge indoor hot tub (all glassed in with a wonderful view of the countryside and town) and outdoor heated pool. We then had a 4 course meal, including wine, in the dining room. There was a tour having dinner at the inn that night, but since we were guests we were given special attention and a few extra food items. The food was very good and the breakfast buffet was large including made to order eggs and fresh baked goods. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. Our room was basic, but very clean and comfortable. The window had a pull down screen so we could keep it open all night without mosquitos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent experience! Ran by father/daughter and staff who are friendly and go out of their way to help and make your travel the best! Fantastic food. Got to see the vineyard, making and bottling of the wine. Olive groves and how they make extra virgin olive oil. Balsamic tasting and how it's made. Even had a cooking class! They have a yoga studio, and the spa itself is wonderful. Fantastic views! Rooms are like small apartments, my bed needed better mattress though. It was like being at home with the smells from the kitchen. Too cold to use the pool, but it looked good. Great location to visit lots of small towns in Tuscany. They treated us like family. Would definitely go back. I just can't say enough good things about this place, it was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay! Marta and her staff are friendly and knowledgeable. We have stayed at Palazzo Bandino several times, once before the spa was added and once after. Even before the spa was added the place was great, and it is even better now that the spa has been added. We have stayed in both the apartments in the main building and the cottages on the Agriturismo- both are fantastic. Make sure to eat at the restaurant on site- the food is delicious. Although you need a car to get there, it was convenient for day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Cortona, Siena and many other southern tuscan towns

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in a cottage, note that this is a working vineyard and the tractors are ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We chose to stay at Palazzo Bandino for a week last month because of its close proximity to our friends in Chianciano. It was perfect for our family of four and my mother. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Marta, whose family has owned and farmed the property for many years. She went above and beyond to make us feel like Palazzo Bandino was our home while we there, even helping us host a 4th of July barbeque for 20 of our closest friends. The views from our spacious apartments were so stunning it was almost hard to leave each day for the day trips we took to places like Montepulciano, Florence, Pisa, and several nearby natural thermal springs. The pool is lovely. The meals that we enjoyed in the restaurant were wonderful. The spa was closed while we were there but it looks beautiful. This is the place to stay if you want a true Italian experience with all of the comforts of home.

Room Tip: My family of four stayed in the Mimosa and Mandarlo rooms. Together, these rooms gave us two bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for the Tuscan food and wine lovers tour. The location, service, and facilities are excellent. Chianciano Terme is a great, unheralded hill town. The view and walk to the Old City from Palazzo Bandino is divine. Although my wife loved the spa, my best find was the abandoned Etruscan tomb on the property. We missed a wine tasting due to time constraints, which Marta rectified with three complimentary bottles of Montepulciano Nobile from the Ricci Winery. What more can you ask for?

I took a star off my rating for sleep quality because you are on a working Agriturismo. That means tractors, barking dogs and roosters crowing at the crack of dawn. But, it certainly adds authenticity to the country ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We loved this place spending four nights at the end of a two week trip to Italy. This allowed us to relax a little and tour local hill towns at our own pace. You'll need a car but it is a short drive to many of the hill towns in southern Tuscany. Can't say enough good about Marta who goes out of her way to make sure your stay is comfortable and all your needs are met. The spa was a tremendous bonus as we got to use it on two of the days - what a way to relax after touring all day! We had dinner three of the four nights allowing us to get a taste of true Tuscan cooking - simple but delicious at a reasonable price, not to mention the free flowing wine produced by Palazzo Bandino.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Bandino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Bandino

Address: Via Stiglianese 3, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Bandino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse Palazzo Bandino is situated in the countryside not very far from Chianciano. It has got 9 apartments and 4 bedrooms with private bathroom. We serve there breakfast and typical meals, only on request. There’s the possibility to organize cooking classes and wine lessons for individuals or small groups and visit of the cellars with wine tasting and light meals of typical products. Swimming-pool, tennis table.10 hectares of DOCG vineyards, a cellar where our best wine ages in special oak barrels. A garden which is cultivated with biological standards is at disposal of our guests. 1000 olive trees they produce the most genuine extra virgin olive oil. We just open a wellness center indoor SENSI DIVINI where we offer special body tretments with our extra virgin olive oil and red wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palazzo Bandino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Bandino Hotel Chianciano Terme
Palazzo Bandino Montepulciano
Palazzo Bandino Hotel Montepulciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Bandino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.