We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the south of Tuscany.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo La Pietriccia

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo La Pietriccia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
Via Madonna della Rosa, 121, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
La Paz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Paradise in the south of Tuscany.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you are looking for a truly local experience then go no further - you have found it here! Wake up in the morning to stunning views across the quintessential view of rolling Tuscan hills, stroll downstairs to be greeted by the friendliest staff and enjoy a breakfast of local produce. You are in the perfect location for hikes and bike rides, and close enough to some of the most famous towns in Italy.
The food is quite simply some of the best I have ever eaten - the combination of local produce and a world class chef (Stefano!) who is one of the most passionate I have ever met, leads to perfection on a plate!
The rooms are spacious and always clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here last summer ('13) and for us it has the perfect ambiance; mostly due to the authenticity of the place. The 2 brothers (and staff) don't pretend to be anything else then what it is. But that is high quality, pure food. Absolutely delicious, and served with pleasure and hospitality. This is what eating should be like, for me that is of course.
Furthermore the room was perfect, with a huge balcony in our case.
The location is perfect for discovering the (beautiful) 'Val d'orcia'. Chianciano term itself we did not see very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I honestly had no clue what to expect of this place, going in. Now that my trip is over, I can honestly that it was quite a dream vacation.

Allergies and late dining hours aside, this agriturismo is based pretty much dead center between medieval Chianciano Terme (about a 10 minute walk up a rather steep hill - be very careful of vehicular traffic around blind turns and going back down) and its more modern side.

Stefano, Johnny and the rest of the staff were sublime. The meals offered at the onsite farm restaurant were beyond superb and we were treated to both a cooking demonstration and an olive oil tasting. Oh, and there's more wine to be had here and in the nearby hill town to sate any wine lover's appetite.

While I probably would not stay in an agriturismo again due to my allergies, I cannot recommend this place enough. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Steffano has an intense passion for sustainable and healthy food.
Great views of Chianciano Terme from the dining table.
A week in Paradise.
Wine, olive oil, pork, seasonal fruit and vegetables..all produced on the property.
Within day drive / bus proximity of Montepulcino and other historic towns in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staying with Stefano and his staff was the perfect way to experience the beauty and calm of Tuscany. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and really made us feel like 'part of the family'. The rooms were clean and well cared for and the views were stunning. Something to keep in mind, though, is that this is an agriturismo and not a luxury hotel: the beds were a little hard and the decor is sparse. That being said, we ate some of the best meals of our life and drank delicious wine all week. I'd recommend asking Stefano for a tour of his wine cellar and/or talking to him about his passion for fresh food cooked properly. We learned a lot about preparing great meals and it's always fun to watch him talk. We hope that we'll be able to come back to La Pietriccia soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony view of Chianciano Terme - it's a beautiful sight to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family of 5 (3 teenage children) stayed at this agriturismo during a cycling tour of Tuscany and it was terrific. The accommodations were roomy, clean and modern. The meals were absolutely amazing. Loved the family and the passion Stefano brings to cooking (life :) Very close to Chianciano Terme to walk for gelato or wine at local winery. Pool was a nice place to cool off in the afternoon. We highly recommend a stay here and plan to return here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here with a group in May for 1 week and it was an amazing experience! Stefano is quite a grand character; very welcoming, entertaining, funny and a fabulous chef! The rest of the staff were also helpful and super friendly. The view of Chianciano Terme from the farm is lovely and is about a 15 min walk up the hill to the old town, the new town is about 20 min. We did a cycling tour and the surrounding area is beautiful though of course very hilly. It is very close to Chiusi, Montepulciano, Montalcino and Pienza. We did quite a few wine tastings of the wonderful wine produced in Tuscany and of course the food was fabulous. We were able to do a cooking class given by Stefano, it was a great experience and the results were delicious! Our stay in May was unusually cold so they turned on the heat and even gave us extra heaters, that was very nice and thoughtful. Unfortunately we were unable to use the pool because of the weather but it looked rather inviting. I would definitely go again and I highly recommend the place for a fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo La Pietriccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Pietriccia

Address: Via Madonna della Rosa, 121, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Agriturismo La Pietriccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo La Pietriccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.