We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a charming environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Torretta Chianciano

La Torretta Chianciano
Via Dante, 2, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
+39 0578 31073
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Torretta Chianciano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $22 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Winery, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great food in a charming environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are from Italy, but we have been living in the US for several years now. We had dinner in the small restaurant in the old Chianciano and had a great time. Owners are extremely friendly and knowledgeable, the place is rustic but charming, the food and wine is great and very reasonably priced. Without describing the menu, that changes accordingly to the season, I simply want to advice anybody in the area to give it a try: you will be rewarded !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    209
    46
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Nice food, good service good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

They serve special breed of wild pork grown in the area. They make their own pasta. Their wine cart is exellent.

Desert was great aswell.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere, food, wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Delightful place opened since April , we were given a warm welcome . We had a selection of shared antipasti - not cold meats and cheese but crostini, a chick pea starter ( lovely) and pappa al pomodorro. All tasty. The wine was lovely - nobile from Montepulciano . The hamburger ( not in a bun ) was delicious ( so my children said) . Those in our party who had pasta said it was very good. The meat was delicate and cooked well. Dessert again we had a selection all were good .
The food we found to be well cooked, simply presented but all with a great flavour. We later discovered that there is 1 chef in the kitchen - we guessed more. We were there on a busy evening so things were not speedy but we enjoyed the atmposhere and the wine! We would without a doubt return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ruined evening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Friday night me and my friend made a decision to have a dinner in the restaurant la torretta in chianchiano-terme.
we were seated at the table outside at 20.50 and given menus.
at 21.05 waiter took the order with 2 primi and 2 secondi bottle of water and bottle of red wine. 21.10 wine and water was delivered as well with 2 glasses of proseco and excuses for waiting time for taking order. we were really excited. but afterwards we were sitting there for 1 hour waitng for 2 primi or atleast some bread. nothing came. 3 waiters , 8 tables restaurant went in stop still. left at 22.15 without receiving any kind of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful - good taste, exquisite quality, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

While visiting Tuscany in September, we had the pleasure to eat and drink at this wine bar - very nice place, where the service was faultless. Would return here any time, for the fabulous wines and the delicious pici. We strongly recommend it to everyone, especially mature couples.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Torretta Chianciano also viewed

Chianciano Terme, Province of Siena
Chianciano Terme, Province of Siena
 
Chianciano Terme, Province of Siena
Chianciano Terme, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Torretta Chianciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torretta Chianciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.